• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

April Fools!

I was going to try and think of a funny joke to play, but I could really only think of one and I didn’t want the bf to have a heart attack when this post was emailed to him.  So instead I’ll just ask, anyone playing any good April fools jokes this year? Last year my friend and co-worker, Ashley, put pieces of tape on the bottom of everyone’s mouse so that they wouldn’t work.  She cracked herself up for awhile about that, our boss didn’t find it very funny.

I had a dentist appointment after work last night, I really, really hate the dentist.  I still have a retainer cemented to the back of my bottom teeth from the end of my braces days, and they never leave it alone.  I swear the lady always spends a good 15 minutes picking at it with that stupid metal thing.  Metal, on metal, on teeth is not a good noise, or feeling.  Also, I need two more fillings.  In the past year, I have already gotten six.  Yes, six fillings in one year.  I went 22 years of life without a single cavity, and then my teeth decided to crap out on me.  The funny thing?  When the dentist came in to look at them, his first words were, “Wow you have really nice teeth”.  Ok, then why do every single one of them have a filling?  The good news is the newest two fillings aren’t for cavities, apparently I managed to chip both of the left side molars.  No idea how that happened, but whatev.  I’ll just wave goodbye to $150.

Alright enough biotching and moaning from me, I made myself go to the gym after the dentist and am glad I did.  I like swimming, but it felt good to get on the elliptical last night and break a sweat.  I did 35 min on the elliptical, sprinting to the refrains in songs.  Then I did some stretching and plank work for the old abdominals.  PT tonight, so probably no workout, which is kind of the one thing about this that is bumming me out.  Two days a week for the next month I’ll be in PT which means I’m losing two workout days.  I’ve already been struggling to not gain weight since I stopped running, and I have gained a few lbs, and now this is going to reduce my workout time even more.  Ugh.  I know once I can start running again everything will even itself out, but in the meantime I’m afraid my clothes from last summer won’t fit 😦 .  Wow, even when I say I’m going to stop complaining I don’t, ok I swear moving on.

My sister is home for her Easter break, so last night we had a nice little family dinner.  I talked about this recipe before on the blog, but I didn’t put it together so I didn’t have any real pictures or ingredients to give you, so I present again Weeknight Lasagna.

One package of Lobster Ravioli

One package of Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli

I put a thin layer of Vodka sauce on the bottom of a casserole dish and laid out the Spinach ravioli.

Followed by a layer of defrosted frozen spinach and mozzarella cheese.

Then topped with the package of Lobster ravioli.

And another layer of sauce, mozzarella cheese, and Parmesan cheese.

Cover with foil and bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.  Uncover and bake for another 10 minutes.  Enjoy with a bottle of Chianti, like this one.

Isn’t that a pretty bottle?  I really like it.  After cooking let the “lasagna” sit and cool for five minutes before serving.  My sister and I crowded around the stove and just kind of stared at it for the whole five minutes.

After what felt like forever, we dished it up and served it along side some chicken that had baked in marinara sauce.

Looks messy, but it was still fantastic.  Again, as with everything I make soooo much is leftover.  I need to learn how to cook in smaller portions.  Alright well that is all from me this morning.  I’m super jealous of everyone that has off tomorrow, I will be dragging my butt to work in the gorgeous 80 degree weather that is in the forecast.  Since today is “Friday” for some people, any good weekend plans? I’m off to NYC tomorrow to have dinner with the bf’s family on Saturday night, and then we’re both headed back down here for Easter dinner with my family on Sunday.  Busy, busy weekend.  Have a great day!

25 Responses

  1. um. that pasta looks amazing.

    I have to work tomorrow too so I feel your pain on that one!

  2. Oh.my.GOD that lasagna looks good. I never thought to use the ravioli to do that but I may just have to make a date with TJs on Friday.

    Also, my teeth are the same damn way!! I never needed fillings until the last couple of years and now pretty much all my back teeth are filled (apparently I have “deep molars”). But they always say I have great teeth. Blah. I hate the dentist more than anything.

    • It’s so fast and so easy! You don’t even boil the ravioli before you use them, just make sure if they’re frozen to let them thaw first.

  3. WOW I want that lasagna. Would you mind sending the leftovers to me in Annapolis??

    I think yesterday was a day of dental…I had 3 fillings and I have to go back for 3 more! The same thing with having great teeth and now its crap! AND the dentist said the sammeee thing to me “You’ve got beautiful teeth!” well thanks lady…then how come I have to sit with you poking and prodding them! My jaw hurts this morning.. 😦

    Have SO much fun in NYC! I love it there in the spring time!

  4. So you highly recommend the lobster ravioli? I think that’s perfect to possibly bring home for the last meatless Friday of lent…

    And I’m terrified of going to to the dentist for that same fact… but I’ve heard a lot of my friends have had the same issue. No cavities forever and then BAM- you need six fillings. Ugh…

  5. WOW…that dnner looks truly amazing!! Lobster ravioli is so good!!! 🙂

    Sorry about the dentist….ugh! 😦

  6. Ugh as if the metal-pick part of the cleaning isnt bad enough already…so sad for you. I hate that stupid little pick. I swear it takes forever, too. Once I think she’s done she goes back around. “Oh, your gums are bleeding!” Yeah well then stop picking at them with a sharp object!!!!

    I usually have one cavity a year; the worst part to me is the novacaine so since HS I’ve asked my dentist to just not give it to me. As long as its a smallish cavity he’ll comply; its really not as bad as you’d think. About 30 seconds of pain verses hours of being numb in the mouth? I can tough it out.

    Not a big lobster fan but I do love ravioli; I may just have to try that recipe with plain old cheese.

    • I know right! It’s like seriously my gums are bleeding because you just scraped the shit out of them with your metal hook. I think I would be terrified of getting a filling done with no novocaine. Although last time my face was numb for the entire night.

      We used plain cheese ravioli the first time and it was delicious so that would work too!

  7. Oh my, I’ve never thought to make lasagna with ravioli. What a fab idea! I love TJ’s lobster ravioli so I’d be all over that :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. That lasagna looks SO good!!! I’ve made that once before and it was a hit. But then again, how can you go wrong with cheese and pasta… and lobster?! Um, you can’t.
    Sorry about the dentist, I’m with you there! I HATE it! I’d rather go to the regular doctor than the dentist, which says a lot because I hate all doctors. And needles. My teeth have kinda crapped out on me too. I had to have a filling last time I went to the dentist for the first time. I haven’t been in a while… kinda putting it off.
    Sounds like you have a fun weekend!!!

    • Personally I always think cheese+pasta+lobster= winning combo! I would also rather go to a regular doctor any day over the dentist.

  9. I want some of that pasta!! Holy YUM!

    I have NO exciting plans for my long weekend. But I did decide to take Monday off too so its like a mini vacation.

  10. I’ll join your wahhmbulance for the teeth thing: I don’t get covered for dental. BOOO TO THAT. It’s been a year and half since I’ve been, and I literally brush three times a day and floss for fear of having to go for something and give them all my money. I’m lucky though – no cavities yet (knock on wood). Yeah! What does your waterpik have to say to that, huh?

    • Ugh yeah that’s what happened to me, I didn’t go for like 2 years and BAM, give us all your money. I hope you continue to have no cavities and can avoid the dentist.

  11. The same thing happened to me. I had no cavities until I was like 22, then I had 10. And now every time I go to the dentist they put a “watch” on one of my teeth. Argh.

  12. […] got home it was 7:00, and I wasn’t even really that hungry so I just heated up some leftover Weeknight Lasagna and had that while watching Dancing With The Stars.  Kate needs to go, she’s awful, and just […]

  13. […] my workout, I whipped up some Ravioli Lasagna for dinner.  This time I used some Buitoni three-cheese ravioli and spicy beef and sausage flavor, […]

Leave a Reply

