It’s Almost Over

So, it’s Tuesday, which means that after today I only have three more days left of work followed by a half marathon, and an extra long Thanksgiving break!  At this point, it is safe to say that while I am excited for my first half marathon, I cannot wait for it to be over.  The training, the anticipation, and the nerves of it all, I’m over it.  Come Monday November 22, I will be extremely happy not to “have” to run a certain distance and feel guilty if I don’t.

That being said, this half marathon is something I’ve been working towards since June.  While my official training plan didn’t start until the middle of September, after months and months of physical therapy in the spring my weekly distance was not where it should be.  I knew that before I dove into a 10 week training program that had me running 20 plus miles a week, I had to build my base back up, or risk another injury.

Slowly, but surely, I worked up from a measly 5 miles a week in June to the 24 miles I ran two weeks ago.  My six months of training and running will culminate with the half on Sunday, and I really hope I’m happy with my performance.  Although, I suppose after not being able to run for five months, I should just be proud that I could even take on 13.1 six months later.  So yes, I am excited, and nervous, and I can’t wait for it to be over.

Last night, I shook my legs out in a 3 mile recovery run while watching the woman in front of me absolutely kill 6 miles iPodless.  I see her at the gym every once in a while, and it blows my mind that she can run on a treadmill for that long without music.  I think I’d go insane.

Following my workout, I whipped up some Ravioli Lasagna for dinner.  This time I used some Buitoni three-cheese ravioli and spicy beef and sausage flavor, and a yellow squash instead of frozen spinach.  It turned out deliciously, and there are tons of leftovers currently sitting in my fridge.

Oh right, and 11 days until moving day…

29 Responses

  1. I agree– I’m ready to be done with training for my half as well! It will be nice to go back to running when I want to– not because I have to!

  2. I felt the same way right before my marathon. After training for that long, it really takes a lot out of you. Good luck this weekend, when it gets hard just think about how far you’ve come since your injury and how hard you’ve worked to get where you are now!

    And the fact that you’ll have a whole week off after the race. That’s pretty awesome too!

  3. You are so lucky that you only have 3 days left of work! A week off is going to be so nice!

  4. I hear you!! I’ve only been running ONCE since the race and I have to say a little break was very nice. Of course now I’m fat again. I may have to start doing some plus size modeling to make ends meet. =P

  5. I don’t understand how people run on the treadmill without music either. Outside, I can do it, but on the treadmill, no way!

  6. Can’t wait to celebrate on Sunday!!

  7. I have no idea how people go without the ipod at the gym. Outside, I get that. And have done it. But on the treadmill? You’re a better person than I am… lol

  8. Dude, November is like THE month for you. Well, November/December. I think a lot of us have the same mixed emotions of relief (to not have to train X amount) and sadness (bigawesome race is over) when you complete a goal event. But that just means you have to run your tush off to make it all worth it.

    • Haha yeah it’s been a pretty big month. I’m sure I’ll be signing up for another half in the spring time, once I forget how much I hated training for this one towards the end.

  9. I will never understand how people can run on the treadmill, or really any cardio equipment at the gym, without music. Or tv. I would get SO bored.

  10. I can’t run that long on a treadmill with music!

  11. I’m a music person too, love running with a good music mix! Good luck on your first half! Beware- you may get addicted! I just completed my second this past weekend and I’m training for a full but may also through in another half sometime in the next couple months! Halfs are such a great distance. Still challenging, but doable 🙂

  12. Training can be tough! I’m training for a half marathon now too and staying with it is awesome. Way to go! Have a great week 🙂

  13. I seriously can’t drive longer than 5 minutes without my iPod, I’m obsessed with the thing. I hate the radio cause I’m constantly changing the station in case a better song is somewhere. So yeah, working out without it sounds like punshiment to me!

  14. I know what you mean, I was so excited to be done with the training once my half was over. It’s fun to run and all but it’s a lot!! Hang in there :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  15. Excited for your upcoming half. Good luck!!

  16. You totally know I understand where you’re coming from with the physical therapy stuff.. You worked hard for this, you’re going to rock it!

Leave a Reply

