• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Just keep swimming

Loved Finding Nemo, I think my girlfriends and I all went to see it Senior year of high school when it came out in theaters.  Just keep swimming is what I kept telling myself last night in the pool, even though my arms were tired and my head was full of water.  I have a serious problem with getting water in my ears, I think it might be time to invest in some ear plugs.  The last thing I need is something else, like swimmers ear, to piss me off.  Unless anyone can offer any tips to get water out of your ears, except jumping up and down like an idiot because that hasn’t been working.  I was a little nervous that the pool would be as crowded after work as the rest of the gym is, but when I got there only one other person was swimming, and they left before I was done.  I had the whole pool to myself for pretty much my entire workout.  Which I’m not going to lie creeped me out a little.  I just kept picturing scenes from horror movies over and over in my head.  Luckily there were no mass murderers on the loose in LA Fitness last night.  I did the same workout from Sunday, just the whole thing this time.

  • 50m free, 50m kick, 50m back warm up
  • 10×50 m free
  • 10×50  m kick
  • 200 m free

I’m going to try and look for another workout today, this one was good but I think I can do more next time.  After the gym I headed home to make dinner.  Last week I stocked up on tofu at Trader Joe’s and figured I should probably use it.  I knew we had all the necessary veggies on hand for tofu lo-mein, and decided to throw that together.  Check out the massive pile of veggies.

There’s eggplant, carrots, broccoli, yellow pepper, orange pepper, red pepper, and onion.  I also added some frozen corn because I had it, and well why not.  Normally I don’t use this much, and I think because of that my liquid portions were off, the noodles didn’t really have a chance to absorb a lot, which left some of them kind of hard.  It still tasted good though, and I ate it, I just need to remember to increase the other amounts when I am increasing the veggies.

I think I finally got the right amount of red pepper flakes down, because I didn’t feel like I was eating the sun, success!  After dinner I settled in on the couch for a dose of my addiction, Lost.  I don’t really have too much to say about this episode except that the last 2 minutes left me very excited for next week, and that’s all I’m going to say because the bf didn’t get a chance to watch it and he’ll yell at me if I give anything away before he does.

Yesterday, Amy over at Second City Randomness gave me the Sunshine Award!  Thanks Amy!

I’m going to pass this a long to a few people who always make me laugh in the mornings.

Lindsay at Goodies Galore because I have an obsession with her dog Eleanor and would love to cuddle with her.

Sarah at Washington Ran Here because her comments always make me laugh, and she feels my pain with our horrible weather this year.

Andrea at Can You Stay For Dinner because I want her to invite me over for dinner.

Steph at The Bright Side because her blog is relatively new like mine, she’s from the Philly area like me, and I like her.

I could go on and on, I really have an absurd amount of ya’ll in my Reader, but I’ll stop at four.  Hey good news kids, it’s Wednesday the week is half over!  Have a great one!

34 Responses

  1. wine. it doesn’t get the water out of your ear but it allows you to forget that there’s water in there. 😛

    And, if there’s a shithead award, you can go ahead and give it to me. Thank you!

  2. OH SHIT. That’s my first award. Woo! Muchas gracias!

    As for swimming, I looooove being the only one in the pool. Yes, it’s a little weird, and at first I thought the lifeguard was all judging me and stuff. But then I saw how many lunatics are usually in the pool, and realized that I didn’t even crack the top 10 of weird-looking people. So, yeah, dodge the mass murderers and you’re golden.

  3. The stirfry looks good! Have you ever tried making Pad Thai? I haven’t but seriously need to because it is SO good. What kind of noodles are in your lo-mien above?

  4. That lo mein looks bomb!

    I loved Finding Nemo, we watched it in school during finals week of my senior year… good times.

    I wish I could swim. I think I’d drown halfway through that workout, haha.

  5. I hate the water in my ears too, but its never been a major problem for me. I was sitting here trying to figure out why when I realized I don’t put my head in the water! So I guess I’m not much help. I’m also a horrible swimmer. I’m better at floating on top of the water on an air mattress with a book and a glass of wine. If you need tips on that one let me know!!

  6. I loved Finding Nemo too! Such a cute movie.

    I can’t recommend anything about the water-clogged ears because I’m such a baby about putting my head underwater. Or going in cold water in general. So I don’t encounter that problem often. Annoying as it may be though, the water will eventually come out on its own.

  7. Swimmer’s ear is the worst… I seemed to get it EVERY year when I was younger…

    And kudos for sticking it out alone in the pool. I freak easily and would have removed myself from the situation waaaay earlier- I would have kept hearing the background music/sound effects from psycho right before something scary happens in my head the entire time.

  8. hahahaha great memories of the cruise with you trying to get water out of your ear…how I miss you!

  9. Awesome swim!!! 🙂 Woot Woot! I love that you are still being postive despite not running as much as you want to be able to. 🙂

  10. So coveting your tofu lo-mein! And I have a month of Lost to catch up on! Thank goodness for DVR. I must have no kids and silence so I can get in my “Lost Zone”. 🙂

  11. your lo-mein! YUM!! Can you come make it for me too? seriously, it looks like its out of a restaurant!

  12. Lost is possibly my favorite show on TV. I am making myself not watch it now, though… because I like to wait until ALL the episodes for a season are over and I can either watch it on DVR… in two days…. or buy it on DVD. I’m so excited about this season!

    Just found your blog today… love it. 8)

  13. Yay for swimming!!! I think i’d be freaking out if I was totally alone. I don’t like it crowded but I don’t want to be by myself either, i’d take a happy medium 🙂
    The Lo Mein looks good!!!! I’ve never made that before and now I’m questioning as to why…

  14. I kept reading your twitter about how to get the water out of your ear and the only thing I could remember was just shaking my head really hard! I didn’t want to suggest that because I don’t even know if its safe!!

    Your food looks fab!

    • Haha yeah I usually end up giving myself a headache by doing that. Or falling over on a beach, which was the case on spring break my junior year of college.

  15. I hate being the only one in the pool! I need other people around to force me to work hard otherwise I just kind of cruise along!

  16. I think when I was little I would sleep on the side that the ear was clogged on and let gravity take care of it while I slept. Never had swimmer’s ear, guess I was onto something?

  17. Kelly you just made my night! Thank you so much for the award, it was so thoughtful and kind of you! I love reading your blog, you never fail to make me laugh. Your encouragement and continued comments on my blog mean the world to me.

    I’m so into your tofu lo mein. Daniel would seriously die for that. He’s the biggest fan of Asian cuisine. I’m going to have to recreate your meal! It really looks delicious- tofu has such a pleasing texture to me. And I think you know about how much I like a massive pile of vegetables!

  18. I would like some lo-mein please. I just eat refried beans out of a can for dinner. I need help.

  19. I just pull on my earlobe as i jump up and down…but seriously, i just had a convo with my mom a couple days ago about how I would like swimming so much more if I didn’t end up with a head full of water.

    If you figure anything out, lemme know!

Leave a Reply

