• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

11 Hours Later

Hello from the Outer Banks!  I’m currently relaxing on the couch with a glass of champagne after a full day of beach lounging.  Don’t hate me.  We arrived yesterday at around 5 pm, a mere 11 hours after we left the house.  Yup, a drive that should take 8 hours at the most, took 11 hours.  At 1:00 we were 48 miles away, traffic was brutal.  I have never hated having a manual transmission so much in my life.  My whole left foot went numb.  Oh and my sister got rear ended and I got a speeding ticket.  37 in a 25, suck it stupid Duck cop.  Needless to say vacation got off to a rocky start, luckily once we FINALLY arrived we were able to get right to this.

Relaxing in our pool with some beers, and the bf creeping up behind me.

We spent most of the night like this until the sun went down, then we relocated to the hot tub.  No one felt like cooking last night so we ordered some pizzas and just vegged out.  It was the perfect first night to vacation, and after getting up at 4 am I was more than ready for bed at 9:30.

This morning, the sun woke us up at 6 am sharp, and I was pretty sure I was sleeping on the face of the sun.  The bf and I managed to roll over and sleep until 8:30, at which point I got up got him some coffee and declared it time to run.  I actually woke my sister up by declaring “rise and shine it’s exercise time.”  If looks could kill I would be a dead woman.  Despite their initial resistance we knocked out a great 3 mile run this morning before it got too too hot.  Knowing I was going to spend all day in my bikini was exactly the motivation I needed to get up and run.  We packed up some lunches, filled the cooler with beers and waters, and then made our way down to the beach.  The beach was amazing, not crowded, and the water was perfect.  I spent the majority of the day either laying on the blanket reading my book or sitting in my chair reading my book.

The bf and sister throwing the football around, and my cousin emerging from the ocean.  I saw sooo many dolphins today, which always makes me happy and kick my feet like an excited three year-old.  When the bf asked what I wanted to do tonight, I looked at him and just said “this”.  Nothing makes me happier.  I just prepped some regular and turkey burgers to grill to celebrate the nation’s birthday, so I gotta run and get to cooking them.  I hope everyone is having a great 4th of July weekend!  Enjoy the rest of your night!

12 Responses

  1. Sorry about the rough start… but your pics make it look like it was alllllll worth it. Oh how I miss the beach…

    Happy 4th of July! Try not to get too tan and make us all that much more jealous of your vacation! :p

  2. So sorry about your speeding ticket!! Have a great vacation! You’ll have to come join us for some races when you get back!

  3. YAY looks like fun! But I agree…dumb cop! UGH! I am so sorry!!

  4. Sounds like a great trip even with the cop incident.

  5. I’m so jealous! I have a week and half before my vacation starts. Enjoy it 🙂

  6. The police are OUT this weekend – I’ve been driving like an old lady. Sounds like you are having a fantastic time, though – an $80 ticket is a small price to pay (right?).

  7. Argh – what an annoying start to your vacation!!
    Glad you’re having fun though.

  8. I can’t believe you drove stick down there! Well it sounds like you are exactly where you want to be for the rest of the week! Enjoy everyday!

  9. Ooh, sorry about the sucky drive but the rest of it sounds amazing! I love being at the beach!

  10. champagne and beach lounging? seriously? SERIOUSLY!?! i’m beyond words with jealousy. only 9 more weeks until my vacay…only 9 more weeks…

  11. […] I went to the Outer Banks, NC for a week […]

  12. […] Spent a week in the Outer Banks […]

Leave a Reply

