• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Our 4th Festivities

Hello and happy Tuesday to everyone!  How was your 4th of July weekend?  Mine was fantastic.  We had a typical 4th of July bbq with burgers, turkey burgers, corn on the cob, pasta salad, and potato salad.  I prepared the burgers with my usual spices.  Worcestershire, McCormick Montreal Steak Grill Mates, onion powder, garlic powder, seasoned salt, and pepper.

Then we opened up the hot tub and waited for the sun to set to watch the fireworks.  This was by far my favorite way to watch fireworks, drink in hand, and from the comfort of our deck.

Yesterday, even on the beach, was super hot, and the current must have shifted because the ocean water was a good 10 degrees colder than it was on Sunday.  The boyfriend and I went down around 11-11:30 and last until about 3 when we made the decision to come back up to the pool.  It was too hot to sit on the beach without being able to comfortably go in the water.  I think our second option was just as awesome.

Sitting in the pool and reading = the perfect way to stay cool during a heat wave.  I was ready to call it quits in the sun after about another hour of that, plus it was time to get ready for dinner.  The adults were having an adult only dinner at a restaurant, so us kids decided to go out too.  Two years ago when we were down here we went to this restaurant and I have been dreaming about going back ever since.

We proceeded to have a surf and turf feast.  For appetizers we ordered a crab dip, steamed shrimp, and chicken wings.  Then for the main courses I had the She Crab Soup and some fries covered in Old Bay, my sister ate 1lb of Alaskan King Crab Legs, and both the bf and my cousin Drew ordered the ribs.  Everything was sooooo good, and we all cleaned our plates.

Mango Mojito

Sister and cousin

Shrimp eatin is hard work

The best part of this restaurant is the views of the sunset over the sound.

This morning, my sister and I went out for another 3 mile run and immediately jumped into the pool when we got back.  It was already about 82 degrees and humid at 8:30 this morning and we struggled through the whole thing, but at least we got it done.  The bf is off golfing today, and I told him to make sure he stayed hydrated.  Alright I’m off to the beach for a little bit and then will probably end the day by the pool.

Have a great Tuesday everyone! I hope to get some actual blog reading in some time today, what have you all been up to?! I miss you guys!

16 Responses

  1. It’s so odd that the Northeast is so hot. We were like 80 degrees all weekend and rainy. Sucked.

    I’m jealous of your beach time too. Lame that I live in Oklahoma sometimes.

  2. You’re SO EFFING TAN. Jealous.

  3. I love that blue dress you wore to dinner!!! Where’s it from?

  4. I love the blue dress too!!

  5. You and the sis look so cute in those dresses!

    I think what I’m most sad about with changing our trip to nonbeach activities this year is the seafood… Glad you’re enjoying it all!

  6. So jealous!! I want to be at the beach!! Your 4th of July BBQ sounds awesome!! 🙂

  7. Looks beautiful!

  8. Wonderful pictures! I have that same top in green!!

  9. You are one LUCKY girl, is all I have to say 🙂

  10. Oh I am so jealous of your vacation! It looks awesome!!!

  11. Your sister is sooooo pretttttyyy!!!! Why doesn’t she have a bf with her!?

  12. I LOVE your dress!

    Oh – and Im totally jealous of your vacation! Glad you’re having fun though. 🙂

  13. […] Celebrated the 4th of July there […]

Leave a Reply

