• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 84 other subscribers

Aaaah Thursday

Thursday is typically my light at the end of the tunnel for the work week.  If I can make it through today, then Friday is just Friday, and everyone knows Friday’s at work don’t really count.  Right?  I mean, I get to wear jeans and a sweatshirt instead of heels and dress pants.  You can bet your ass that I will be rocking some flip-flops tomorrow also, hmm that reminds me, better paint the toesies tonight.  Oh, I also get paid on Thursdays so that’s always a lovely occurrence.  In short, hoooooray for Thursday!

Ok, as expected there were a lovely array of treats in the office yesterday for St. Patrick’s Day.  Usually I can manage to avoid snacking on cakes and cookies, but since yesterday was honoring my heritage I figured, what the hell.

A piece of Irish Soda bread and an Irish Potato.  The Irish Soda bread was amazing, but I took one bite of the Irish Potato and remembered how much I hate coconut, so that went in the trash.  I also ate a small piece of cake with the most delicious icing I have ever tasted, but I stuffed that in my mouth while still standing in the kitchen, so no picture.

Last night was a rest day for me, so no workout to talk about, but I did cook an awesome dinner.  I took a page out of Julie’s over at Peanut Butter Fingers book and made Penne Pasta with Vegetables.  I found a recipe online and used it as a base while adding my own things.

First I cut my zucchini and peppers into thin strips, minced some garlic, and chopped up some baby spinach.  After those were ready, I put a big pot of water on to boil and started to heat up my frying pan.

The pasta of choice last night was this Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Organic Penne Pasta.  I will definitely stock up on bags of this on my next trip to TJ’s.  After my sauce pan was hot enough, I added 1 tbsp of olive oil to cook the vegetables and garlic in.

The peppers, zucchini, and garlic over medium heat.  At this point I also sprinkled some McCormick Italian Seasoning, salt, and pepper.  When the pasta had about 3 minutes left to cook, I added the spinach and basil to the recipe so it wouldn’t burn.

I have to remember for next time to chop up more spinach than I think I’ll need/want because it cooks down so much.  When the noodles were ready, I drained them and added them to the pan with all the veggies.

The sauce is leftover vodka sauce that was in my freezer from when I made Penne with Vodka Cream Sauce, and it worked perfectly.

Served with a side Caesar Salad and a glass of red wine :).  It was delicious, and the leftovers are my lunch today.

Zucchini Pepper Basil Pasta

  • 16 oz of dried pasta
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 whole zucchini (sliced thin)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 yellow pepper
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 tsp Italian Seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 tbsp fresh basil
  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth or any kind of sauce (I used vodka cream)

Seriously, if you have leftover pasta and veggies to get rid of this recipe totally works, I used the whole bag of pasta because I wanted leftovers, but you can halve all the amounts if you have less.  Enjoy!

Anyone have any fun weekend plans?  I’m am going to try and get my tan on for the first time this year on Saturday.  Hey 70 is hot!  Have a great day everyone!

P.S. Check out the give away going on over at I’m an Okie!

34 Responses

  1. yu-hum! So pretty — I love colorful arrays of vegetables! I try to work a variety of colors into every meal.

  2. You know… it’s weird, but I’ve never had soda bread. I feel like I’m missing out a little… 😦

    You’re getting 70 this weekend? So jealous! I think today is the warmest we’re getting- right before a dive into another round of snowy weather… lame. We won’t get into how disgusted I am about it.

    Glad your Thursday sounds awesome! 🙂

    • Yesterday was my first time trying it, so don’t feel too left out. Yeah the weekend is going to be nice then back to 40s-50s Monday and Tuesday, lameeee.

  3. What’s an Irish Potato?

    It’s supposed to be 70 here tomorrow. But then 53 on Sunday. Boo.

  4. That looks like a very good dinner. I am also going to echo Lee about…what is an Irish Potato?

  5. Love the dinner. So colorful and comforting!
    I also love the idea of tanning in March. Such a New England state of mind! Haha, I’m the same way!

  6. thanks for the shout out, pretty lady! you made me smile reeeeal big! 😀

    your meal looks fantastic too, by the way!

  7. We had a loaf of Irish soda bread in the office yesterday too. Unfortunately, I had a terrible stomachache all day. Fortunately, my stomachache did not prevent me from eating ~8 pounds of soda bread. Unfortunately, it was not appropriate for me to take off my pants after doing so.

  8. Yum! I love that pasta from Trader Joe’s it’s so tasty. And pasta with vodka sauce and zucchini is my favorite.

  9. Totally saved that recipe. Pasta is delish and veggies are healthy–its a win win!

    Im totally with you on THursdays—love them and its beautiful here today too which is really getting me in a great mood!

    I don’t have any big weekend plans–maybe a movie, maybe a comedy club, maybe nothing! We shall see!

  10. I cannot believe that it is Thursday!!! Holla! So close to the weekend!?!?!!!

    I hope you are able to get your tan on this weekend! If I don’t get a little sun soon, I’m going to be translucent. 🙂 My weekend plans are to survive the marathon…and then eat a WHOLE LOT. 🙂 I’m pretty stoked about the eating.

    • Ugh, that’s how I feel, either that or I’ll be able to audition for the next Twilight movie. Good good luck at your marathon!

  11. That pasta looks amazing! I love vodka sauce.

    I’ve never had Irish Soda bread before and I searched high and low for it, but couldn’t find any.

  12. Fridays DONT count at work. I mean, I show up, but my coworkers think Im crazy on Fridays. Maybe I am. Being the only girl in the office all week long will do that to you.

  13. that pasta looks fabulous! so colorful 🙂

    i didnt eat any irish soda bread this st paddys day but your slice makes me a bit sad for that!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  14. The pasta looks awesome! Who doesn’t love leftover?!? Hope you have great Friday!

  15. Haha, 70 is hot? You don’t wanna live in Singapore then…it’s always 90+ degrees there! Ee!
    Ah, the pasta looks amazing, with all the different colors too.
    And what IS an Irish potato? I’m guessing it’s a dessert with coconut…

    • Haha well 70 is hot for Philadelphia in March! Wow 90+ I think I would melt! An Irish potato is a little ball of coconut and cream cheese covered in cinnamon, it just supposedly looks like a little potato. Not really my thing, but others loveee them!

  16. […] bed where he is than at my desk at work .  As an avid reader of my blog, he wanted to have the Zucchini Pepper Basil Pasta for dinner.  Lucky for him I just happened to have the ingredients on hand.  On his suggestion, […]

  17. hi! i’m new to the blogging world. just came across your site 🙂 this pasta = drool! definitely will be trying it out sometime soon

  18. […] After yoga I came home and made dinner for me and my mom.  We had some peppers in the fridge that needed to get used, so I made my Zucchini Pepper Basil Pasta. […]

  19. […] been a shitty run anyway given my mood and level of exhaustion.  Instead I made one of my favorite dinners, minus the zucchini plus TJ’s Apple Chardonnay Chicken Sausage and went to bed at 9:30.  I […]

Leave a comment