• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

True or False

Yesterday was spent just like a snow day should be, lounging around watching TV and making food. I did get outside to shovel, so there was some sort of exercise. I always forget how much different it is to make a meal for a boy as opposed to just for me. For example, my lunch yesterday was leftover tofu lo mein, and his was a turkey sandwich and leftover chicken and broccoli casserole.

mine

His

Boys and their never ending appetites. My sister made it home around 5 yesterday and immediately settled on the couch with her laptop, so this is what it looked like in my house yesterday afternoon.

The bf on his computer at the counter, mine is shut next to him, and my sister with hers open on the couch. Bunch of geeks we all are. The three of us are currently in the exact same configuration right now. Since yesterday was a Friday, and Lent is currently going on, dinner was supposed to be meatless. Since I forgot until after I ate bacon in my breakfast omlette, I decided to try and make it through the rest of the day. Dinner was Vodka Cream Pasta.

Penne with Vodka Cream Sauce

  • 1 tbsp EVOO in the pan
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • 1 cup vokda (yessss!)
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes, 32 oz
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 16 ounces pasta
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 20 leaves fresh basil

Heat a large skillet over moderate heat. Add oil, butter, garlic, and shallots. Gently saute shallots for 3 to 5 minutes to develop their sweetness. Add vodka to the pan. Reduce vodka by half, this will take 2 or 3 minutes. Add chicken stock, tomatoes. Bring sauce to a bubble and reduce heat to simmer. Season with salt and pepper.

While sauce simmers, cook pasta in salted boiling water until cooked to al dente.

Stir cream into sauce. When sauce returns to a bubble, remove it from heat. Drain pasta. Toss hot pasta with sauce and basil leaves.

We served a Caesar Salad on the side.

And well, because it was Friday, and I was beginning to go stir crazy from being in the house all day, I had one of each of these with my dinner.

Pomegranate Martini

Red Wine

Haha my sister did not want to be in the background of my picture. Miss Amy over in Chi-town had the brilliant idea last weekend to go bowling, which of course put the idea in my head. Since the bf considers bowling a suburbian activity we don’t go in NYC, and with him and the sister home I figured it was a perfect opportunity. We had about an hour wait for a lane when we got there (Friday night is league night and only half the lanes are open) luckily this bowling alley also comes equipped with pool tables and a bar.

My first beer which I drank while playing a few games of pool. Landshark Lager is one of my favorite beers, usually I can only find it at Cheeseburger in Paradise, so I was very excited to see it here. Yum. Reminds me of summertime, and with the freshly added foot of snow I needed a reminder. We finally got to bowling around 9:30, and it was a blast.

My sister Colleen

Look at my fantastic form

Doesn't Alex look like he is about to go flying down the alley?

Sweet shoes that remind me of my High School uniform (I wore blue and white saddle shoes)

Seeeesterss

So, in high school, Friday night bowling was the thing to do which actually made me a pretty damn good bowler. I’m also very competitive, especially when I have the opportunity to beat the bf at something.

Game 1, winner!

Col needed a game to get warmed up. She got better. I tried to get Alex to take a picture with me and our bowling balls, but he was not in the mood, instead we ended up with this;

Doesn’t it look like I’m about to hit him over the head with my bowling ball? Haha, I swear I didn’t.

Game 2 I came in second.  Sad face.  I redeemed myself on the 3rd and last.

Game 3 winner, and bowling champion of the world!  Ok, not the world but I totally kicked Col and Alex’s ass.  We came home and attempted to play a drinking game to the movie The Invention of Lying, drink every time he says a lie, but some people (ahem Alex and Col) were lame and wanted to go to sleep.  Perhaps we will continue that today.

Ok, now for a little fun, ummm the winner gets a big shout out and sadly that’s all because no one sends me stuff to give away.

True or False

  1. I fell flat on my face on the bowling lane last night.
  2. I sang Hit Me With Your Best Shot on a Karaoke machine to the bowling alley
  3. I spilled an XL diet coke all over the place
  4. I accidentally ran into the baby bowling next to us

Have Fun!  Happy Saturday everyone!

10 Responses

  1. Hahaha, True/FALSE. I love to shout FALSE just like Dwight K. Schrute.

    Here are my guesses: 1) FALSE; 2) True; 3) FALSE; and 4) True.

    Your sister and you are like the flip of me and my sis — she’s brunette.

  2. True for all of them but number one…..

    Looks like a good time! I suck at bowling so bad.

  3. I love bowling so much! In law school, there was so little to do in Durham, NC that our law school had a bowling league. Everyone participated. Every Wednesday: Bowling.

    I vote #4 true.

  4. 1. false (but close!)
    2. true annd you were fantastic
    3. TRUE (alex hated you for it)
    4. false? maybe? that must’ve been halfway through our second pitcher of beer if it happened

    I WIN! cause I was there…sorry people who actually wanted to play and be wrong

    love you

  5. I love bowling. OK – I only love bowling when Im not losing. Somehow, when Im losing I hate bowling. Weird eh?

  6. FUN NIGHT! I love bowling…even though I am horrible!!

  7. I’m starting a bowling craze!!!! ahahaha. Good job on the win! 🙂 And yes, you look like you’re gonna knock a kid out with that bowling ball! ha

    I’m so jealous of the snow day from work! Hope the rest of the weekend went just as well!

  8. […] sauce is leftover vodka sauce that was in my freezer from when I made Penne with Vodka Cream Sauce, and it worked […]

Leave a Reply

