• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

It’s a Love/Hate Thing

Happy Valentine’s Day lovers!  I have a hot date tonight with the gym and grocery store, I can’t wait!  Let’s see, when I last left you on Saturday afternoon I was trying to decide whether to do my long run or push it until Sunday.  Well, it never happened on Saturday.  Instead the roommates and I sat around drinking mimosas all day.  Much more enjoyable than running 6 miles moderately hung over if you ask me.

Saturday night the ladies headed out for the bachelorette party, and I was a complete geek and had a Skype date with Dar.  In my pajamas, with wet hair, I looked pretty.  In fact, the only time I wasn’t in pajamas on Saturday and Sunday was when I actually did manage to get my ass out the door and run.  I had a pretty great run too.  Although, yesterday’s long run was a perfect example of why I despise 5k races, and tend to like any run over 3 miles a lot more.  This was my train of thought during my 6 mile run

Mile 1: Ugh, I feel like crap.  I think my love handles just jiggled over the waste band of my spandex.  Gross. Maybe I’ll just call it quits at 4.  I hate running.

Mile 2: I wish I had some gum, my mouth is so dry.  These stupid pants keep falling down, I should stop and tie them tighter. If I stop I may not be able to make myself start again. I wonder how far I’ve gone.  My toes are numb.

Mile 3: Ooooh a water fountain, yes.  God damn it, why is it turned off!?  Hooray almost time to turn around and head home.  Oh look there’s someone with a Philly marathon 2010 shirt, I’m gonna go say hi!

Mile 4: Hey I think I’m going pretty fast.  Don’t look at your Garmin, you’re probably not.  At least my toes aren’t numb anymore and legs loosened up. My teeth are cold.

Mile 5: Only two more to go! That’s less than 20 minutes, you can totally do this and hey I still think I’m going pretty fast.  I am really, really thirsty.

Mile 6: Man I feel great, I am definitely hauling ass right now.  Yaaay omglolzrunningisawesome!! I love running outside.  F the treadmill.  Oh there’s the mile post I started at, let’s kick it up for the finish!

First three miles in 28:09, second three in 24:44.  Talk about a negative split huh, and can we just take note of mile 6 for a second.  I couldn’t even tell you the last time I ran a sub 8 minute mile.  I would have to assume it was in high school, but since I flat out refused to run anything longer than the 400 m race, I can’t be positive.  I have no idea where it came from, I’m thinking I really wanted to get home and chug some water.  Anyway, I felt amazing during the run, despite the fact that I sat around until almost 1 pm before I finally got my ass out the door.  It was a lovely 50 degrees, mostly overcast with a light breeze, a perfect running day.

I laid on my yoga mat in the middle of my living room for about 20 minutes “stretching”, showered, and put my pajamas back on.  Then last night I sat and watched the Grammy’s with about 300 of my closest friends.  Things I enjoyed, Biebs and Usher, Lady A, Mumford and Sons, and Eminem.  Things that annoyed me, having to Google the best new artist winner, Lady Gaga.  I won’t bore you with the rest of my thoughts, I was pretty vocal on Twitter.  Did you watch the Grammy’s?  What did you like/hate?

16 Responses

  1. Shut the front door! Look at that last mile!

    I have a date with the treadmill, too. We’ve become quite the pair. I can’t imagine Valentine’s Day without it.

  2. HATED that CeeLo got snubbed. Loved his performance and that song should have beat lady whatever–sorry but that song annoys me.

    I actually love lady gaga’s MUSIC, not her weirdness, but that new song is a must-download.

    And apparently it was mimosa weekend? Ha that’s 3 of us.

  3. Holy crap that last mile is freaking amazing! awesome job! 🙂

    I was just happy to see Eminem at the Grammys. I will never stop loving him.

  4. Ha– look at that last mile!!! Negative split indeed!

  5. Haha, you know what I thought. I was a Twitter maniac last night.

    Awesome job on the run! I always feel the same way at the end, I’m not a fan of 5Ks either.

  6. Gah–I had some horrible I want to kill somebody thoughts at part of my run! haha 🙂

  7. No grammys for me! I do need to watch the highlight reel though! 🙂 haha Mile #2 made me LOL

  8. i love negative splits!! i usually can’t concentrate long enough to make it happen though 🙂

Leave a Reply

