• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 84 other subscribers

Ouch!

Is what I am currently saying every time I move, and no it is not because of my knee for once! My back, shoulders and triceps are sooo sore from swimming yesterday. I loves it!  As predicted, the rest of my Sunday consisted of me sitting on my butt on the couch with my laptop watching TV.  It was delightful.

For dinner, my mom whipped up and old favorite which is perfect for a rainy Sunday night, Shepherds Pie with a Caesar Salad.

This is how we make Shepherds Pie in the McCormick house.

  • 1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 onions (last night it was two onion shalots)
  • 1 1/2 lbs boiling potatoes
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 1/2 cups of beef stock
  • 1 tsp all-spice
  • 3 tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 bag of frozen corn
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • Salt and Pepper

Chop the onion and mince the garlic, cook the onion until it is soft (about 5 min) add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Add the meat and cook until no longer pink.  Stir the flour into the meat, add the beef stock slowly then add 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, the allspice, vinegar, and Worcestershire sauce and cook for 1-2 min.  Then add 1/2 bag of frozen corn.  Pour everything into a 1 1/2 qt casserole dish.

Boil 3 large potatoes.  When they are soft either peel and mash them or use a potato ricer like we do.  Add milk and butter, until the potatoes are at the desired creaminess.  Top the meat and corn mixture with the mashed potatoes.  Use 1 tbsp of butter to coat the mashed potatoes to form a crunchy top layer while cooking.  Cook at 400 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Sooo good.  The meat was so tender and juicy, which made a perfect gravy for the mashed potatoes.  I’m typically one of those people who does not like to mush all of their food together, except with this.  The combination of beef and corn together is delightful.  Suffice it to say I am very much looking forward to having leftovers for dinner.

With our dinner, we enjoyed this fantastic bottle of Malbec.  Malbec’s are my hands down favorite type of red wine for sure.  I love the fruity flavors and they are not too dry.  Then for dessert, I had this Skinny Cow Chocolate Truffle.

While I ate this, I put myself through the torture of watching that ridiculous show on E, Pretty Wild.  It’s horrible, I don’t know why I do it, I just want to smack all of them across the face.  The one 18 year-old was trying to get Vernon Davis of the 49ers to go out with her.  When the “mom”, and I use that term loosely, learned that he was 26, she merely shrugged her shoulders and said hm that’s borderline.  Yes, let’s send your 18 year-old daughter who already has a horrible reputation and is currently facing criminal chargers out with a 26 year-old.  Yes, I know that 8 years really isn’t that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things, and I would probably date someone 8 years older than me, so I’m not judging, but if your child already has a knack for trouble and making bad decisions, maybe it’s not the best idea?  Every Sunday I tell myself not to watch, and then I get sucked in.  Damn you E, damn you.

Alright that’s the end of that rant.  Anyone watch Kendra?  It was interesting to see the live photo shoot she did with US Weekly after I’d already seen the pictures in the magazine.  You could really see how much Photoshopping they did.  I think that’s sad really, and kind of unnecessary, Kendra looked great for having just had a baby, they should have left the photos alone.  Baby Hank is precious though.

How was everyone’s weekend?  Anyone have anything exciting happen?  I hope you all have a great Monday!

28 Responses

  1. Re: photoshopped Kendra – that’s just stupid. I mean, ok, the point was how she looks so awesome after having a baby, but in fact she…doesn’t? Which is fine. I don’t care how long this chick takes to lose pregnancy pounds. But how on earth is any celebrity gossip magazine so at a loss to find material that they have to fabricate, essentially, a lie? Or maybe Kendra’s publicist was like, “Oh, she looks perfect!” and then she showed up at the photoshoot and the photogs were like “Who is this fatso with the infant?”

    I’ve officially given this fifty times the thought it deserves.

  2. Oh my goodness the shephard’s pie looks out of control delicious! I love comfort food like that! It’s been too long!

    And I agree with the Kendra photoshopping. Why can’t people just accept that their bodies just went through so much to produce a beautiful, amazing baby. She’ll get back to whatever she wants to look like in time, but the rush just turns me off.
    Pretty Wild sounds crazy too!

    • Yeah she was so funny about it though, she was like umm I don’t know what I’m going to do it’s not like I can suck it in, it’s my uterus.

  3. Oh man….I got sucked into Pretty Wild a few days ago. One of the sisters was on a bowling date with Ryan Cabrera…I was so ashamed of myself for watching it 🙂

    Shepherd’s pie is the perfect rainy day meal!

  4. We never had shepard’s pie in the Bax household… kinda wish we did after seeing that!

    And Pretty Wild looks awful and I refuse to watch it… for now. 😉 But I do love me some Kendra and think it’s great she’s being so open about her body and getting it back into shape (even if the photoshopping is bull).

    Good luck at your PT appt this afternoon (I’m not making that up, am I?)! The soreness probably won’t help matters, though- ha ha.

    • What?! Never?! Well if you are ever in the Philadelphia area I will invite you over and make some for you. Yes I do have my first PT appointment today you’re not making it up haha.

  5. That ceaser salad looks SO good.

    And no, I havent seen that Kendra yet but I did DVR it and cant wait to see it.

    I love Kendra more and more because we are getting ot see what a REAL person she is and that her struggles are really the same as each and every woman ya know?

    • Yeah I’m also loving Kendra more, it’s nice to see that she’s having a hard time with everything and her laugh doesn’t bug me nearly as much haha.

  6. I didn’t see that about Kendra but I wish that I had! Photo-shopping absolutely annoys me! I mean, if you have to photoshop a celebrity, who looks amazing, can you only imagine how much they would photoshop us average women? I’d rather not know.

    Swimming is SUCH a workout. I cannot wait to be able to swim again. It’s kinda scary to me because I have a major fear of drowning but I love it at the same time. It uses muscles that you didn’t even knew you had!

    The Shepard’s pie sounds awesome!! I usually don’t mix foods together either but something like that… oh yeah!

    • Oh they’d probably just put my head on a completely different body and not even bother with Photoshop. Yeah I really had no idea I’d get such a good workout from swimming.

  7. I watched a 20/20 special on the that girl who was involved the ring of celeb house breakins. Why does she have a show again??

    I love red wine. Hands down, fav!! And shepards pie looks great, can you make it without the corn??

    • There was a 20/20 special?! How did I miss that?

      Yeah, you can use any veggies really I think. I’ve seen it made with peas and carrots also.

  8. I LOVE shepherds pie. Now Im thinking I might make some.

    I didnt know Kendra was on!! I still cant figure out whats on with this stupid satellite. I like all the channels, but I hate how I never know when anything is on!!
    I did watch some Girls Next Door last night though. Thats some quality programming right there.

  9. Shepards Pie and wine pretty much sounds like the perfect Sunday din :). Swimming is the best work-out ever, no? 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  10. I’ve never seen the Girls Next Door. For some reason, I’ve never seen most shows that everyone seems to watch. (Lost, The Bachelor etc) I am not sure what I watch.

    Anyway, happy Monday.

  11. hahaha I’ve never seen that show but I agree that’s kind of a stretch. I dated a guy who was 8 years older than me when I was 21 but I was actually the more mature one so it evened out. My parents were not thrilled. LOL

    And – yeah, I can’t stand Kendra. Sorry. Her laugh makes me want to stab pencils into my ears.

    • She’s not as loud and obnoxious on this show, probs because she’s going through like postpartum depression right now, but uuuuh yeah. haha.

  12. That Shepherd’s Pie looks amazing! I haven’t had it since I was in London 10 years ago. That’s probably the only food the British did right. 🙂

  13. […] I was making my mom’s traditional Shepherds Pie, with an untraditional twist of my own.  Here’s the link for the actual recipe,  ingredients and amounts. Instead of a layer of mashed potatoes […]

  14. […] 5 lbs of potatoes?  That’s hard work!  I also made my favorite comfort food meal ever, Shepherds Pie, and fed it to the roommates.  They were grateful to have dinner prepared for them, and I was just […]

  15. Kelly this is a great recipe! I made it with sweet potatoes but put in too much meat. But you could still taste the spices. The wife loved it too.

  16. […] Halloween? Just go with it. I also cooked last night, for like the first time since June? I made Shepherds Pie (sweet potatoes instead of regular) for myself, Dani, and her boyfriend, and it turned out just […]

Leave a comment