• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Where’s the Sun?

This time last weekend I was lounging in my backyard getting my tan on, and now I am huddled up on the couch in sweatpants and a sweatshirt.  No fun :(.  The good news is, I checked the 10 day forecast and it is supposed to hit the 70s again later this week and maybe even 80 on Saturday!  Woop woop!  I wanted to say thanks to everyone for their kind words about my long-distance situation, ya’ll really made me feel better.  I know that despite how hard it is now, hopefully the reward in the end will make it worth it.  The kicker this week now is that the bf somehow managed to leave his cell phone in my car and now the only form of communication we have is the computer until I can ship it back to him.  Sigh.

If you follow me on Twitter, you know I was trying to organize a Twitter happy hour, thanks Katie for joining me haha!  Then Amy, Leah, and I also debated whether it would be possible to start a webcast so we could drink together.  It’s so nice to have such good friends :).  While I was busy boozing away (I really only ended up having about 2 drinks) I watched The Time Traveler’s Wife.  I saw it back when it was out in theaters and really liked it, but found it somewhat confusing so I decided to check it out again.  Still kind of confusing, and I bet the book is a thousand times better, but I really love Rachel McAdams.  I don’t know if it was the vodka or my already emotional mood, but I ended up sobbing at the end, I’m such a geek.  A pretty unexciting Saturday night, but I can be a grandma and sometimes like it that way.

This morning I headed over to the gym to make use of my brand new one-piece and swim cap, doesn’t that sound sexy?  I googled “swimming workout for beginners” and this is what I found

  • 300 m warm-up freestyle
  • 10x50m free with 10 second rest
  • 10x50m kick (used a noodle and just kicked up and back) with 10 second rest
  • 200 m free

I also did one lap of back and of breast to cool down. It was only after I got home and sat on my couch that I got to thinking, hmm I bet the pool at my gym is in fact only 25 m for one lap.  Haha can you tell I’m a novice swimmer?  Sooo uh yeah half everything in that workout, and that’s what I actually did.  It took me about 30 minutes so when I actually do it correctly it should be about an hour.  I liked swimming, hopefully this will keep me entertained while I’m not able to run, and hopefully I will keep up with it even after I can start running.

I have my first physical therapy appointment tomorrow after work, and I’m really curious as to what it is going to be like. Work your magic people!  Ok well I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be here on the couch for the remainder of it.  Still feeling pretty sad about things.  Talk to you all tomorrow morning!

16 Responses

  1. I’m wondering if I need to check out a place to do laps while I’m on the mend (or whatever I’m doing until I feel comfortable to run again). Or if it would make my leg worse? hmmm… Because I am getting jealous of all you ladies with pool access! I love swimming!

    And yeah- the webcast idea was totally golden. Can you imagine how funny it’d be? We’ve never met, but decided to get hammered online together… we’re computer geeks with a drinking problem… and maybe socialization issues? 😉

    Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

    • Haha I would have loved it! It’s so funny how often I’m on my couch drinking with my laptop open next to me. Totally a geek with a drinking problem and socialization issue. It’s not my fault my ex kept all the friends in our breakup haha.

      • Oh that sucks for sure. I had the same issue when I broke up with my ex of three years- we had all met freshman year in the dorms together. I had to really fight to keep most of my “fav boys”- they always said they felt like they were doing something wrong if they were hanging out with me and he wasn’t there! Ridiculous. Stupid guy code.

  2. Sounds like you had a fun weekend! I’m too much of a scaredy cat to try swimming, even though I’d like to.

    You should definitely read the book– it’s SO good!

    • Oh, I was so nervous when I hopped in the pool, and then it took me a good 5 minutes to get my swim cap on. Clearly a novice.

  3. Good luck with the swimming.

    I read the book a while ago, but I remember liking it. I haven’t seen the movie. Its on my Netflix queue somewhere along with like 300 other movies!

  4. I reallllly want to get started swimming but am also pretty clueless about it. Last time I actually used proper strokes and what not was probably middle school! Please post any tips and progress you make because I’m too chicken to start but want to bc I know its a great total body workout. Where do you swim? My gym has no pool so I guess I should switch huh?

    Also did not like Timetraveler’s wife for some reason. It was pretty confusing but also was lacking a plot in my opinion. At the end I was like, “that’s it?” idk.

    • Oh don’t worry I’ll be sure to document my progress. I go to the LA Fitness by Oxford Valley Mall, join we can swim together!

  5. ohh I had too much fun at our Twitter Happy Hour! It was really just a nice little pre-cursor for the series of events that would occur in the following hours!

    & I was considering swimming but the pool is always full @ my gym when I’m ready to swim! & & & next time you guys have that webcast I want in!

  6. I so need to get in the pool!

  7. Good luck today at your PT appointment! I wish I had a pool close by, I would love to swim!

    How was Salt Creek Grill? I had a few friends who were there on Friday too!

    • Thank you! Salt Creek Grill was sooooooooo good. Did they take a limo there by any chance? There was a giant limo with tons of girls in it that pulled up. We were wondering what was going on.

  8. Yay for swimming!!! I’m with you. And why I am not following you on twitter? Must fix that!

    The Time Traveler’s Wife – I saw it in theaters. I cried like a baby. And I was sober. Haha

Leave a Reply

