• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

College Weekend, and Halloween Themed Recipe

Well, this weekend flew by, and here we are at Monday again.  I was on the go all weekend, and didn’t sit down on my couch until yesterday at 5:00 pm.  Let’s go back and start with Friday’s activities.  After a stop at the beer distributor on my way home from work, where I picked up one of the last two cases of Dogfish Head Punkin Ale in stock, I came home, put on my apron and immediately got cooking.

 

looking like a dork

With a beer for drinking enjoyment while I cooked.

Punkin Ale!

For dinner I was making my mom’s traditional Shepherds Pie, with an untraditional twist of my own.  Here’s the link for the actual recipe,  ingredients and amounts. Instead of a layer of mashed potatoes on the top, I was going to use mashed sweet potatoes.  I peeled and cut the potatoes, and boiled them in some water for about 25 minutes.  While they were boiling, I combined some brown sugar, milk, and butter in a small sauce pan to add to the potatoes once they were mashed.  Once the potatoes were done and out of the way (kept warm in their pot with a layer of milk drizzled on top) I got to preparing the rest of the meal.

 

onions and garlic sauteing

add the ground beef

1 Tbsp of flour

Worcestershire Sauce

red wine vinegar

add a bag of frozen corn

combination of spices

stir and combine for a few minutes, transfer to casserole dish, top with mashed potatoes

25 minutes later in a 425 degree oven, you have this

let sit for five minutes and serve

Using the mashed sweet potatoes added such a different flavor to the dish.  The sweetness, along with the savory ground beef and onions went so well together.  Not only was I a fan of the flavors, but I was kind of obsessed with the fact that my dinner was Halloween themed in color.  Orange sweet potatoes, yellow corn, and the brown from the ground beef.  This may have to be the official meal of Halloween :).

After dinner, friend Chris came over again and we sat watching the Yankees game, they lost, and I shed a tear or two but sucked it up and started my countdown until opening day 2011. I went to bed immediately following the final pitch, so I could get up and do my 10 mile training run before heading out to Villanova.

Th run started out really well.  Saturday morning it was a chilly 37 degrees, so I broke out my capris, and long sleeve to keep me warm for the first few miles.  Miles 1-6.5 were over before I knew it, and I was moving a long at a great pace.  When I saw my split after mile 5, I actually had to tell myself to slow down because I knew I would burn out.  Unfortunately, right around mile 6.5 my IT band really started to tighten up and cause that old familiar pain in my knee.  I still had 3.5 miles left to go, so I knew in order to get back to my house still walking, and capable of finishing the rest of my training I’d need to back it down.  From that point on, I implemented a stretch/walk/run plan when I felt my knee start to hurt, and you can see below how it affected my pace.

I still managed to finish at a 9:50 overall pace, which I am pretty happy with considering the last time I ran 10 miles was Broad Street 2009 and I finished that in 1:47 and change.  So my second ever 10 miler was about 9 minutes faster than my first, can’t feel bad about that!  My legs however can feel bad, and man do they.  They are still very sore today, and I think I need to take my foam roller to my calves and IT band.

After an ice bath, hot shower, and quickly getting ready, I hopped in my car and headed out to Villanova to meet up with my sister, Alex, and friend Erik for the Villanova vs. JMU game.  I got there are 1:15 and immediately set up in the tailgating parking lot for a day of fun.

 

drinking games

sisters

JMU fans

puppy loveee

❤ family

I’m borderline obsessed with owning a bulldog someday and dressing it up in a JMU football jersey, so when I saw that cute little girl above chillin at a tailgate nearby I almost stole her.  Alex told me that if I stole the puppy though, that someone else would probably really miss her, so I settled for some puppy kisses and pictures with her.  Sadly my camera died at the end of the tailgate, so I have no other pictures from the weekend, but we went to the football game, JMU lost (booooooo), and then we hung out at my sister’s apartment resting for a bit before heading out for the night.

Our night involved drinks and dinner while watching the Phillies game, mug night at Erin’s Pub for the end of the Phillies game (another loss boooo, most boring World Series in history this year), and then a few games of beer pong at one of my sister’s friends houses.  It was fun to pretend like we were back in college, and Alex and I didn’t feel too old or out of place since it was Villanova’s alumni weekend.

Yesterday, Alex and I backed up our things and said goodbye to my sis and Villanova to head home for some football watching.  We stopped at a bar on the way so we both could watch our respective teams play (him the 49ers and me the Eagles) and sadly both our teams lost, but we were able to enjoy a delicious lunch of nachos, chicken tenders, and french fries.  Alex was on a train at 6:30 and back up to New York, and I spent the rest of my night on the couch watching a Keeping Up With the Kardashian’s marathon.

It was a fun and eventful weekend that has definitely left me struggling today, but it was worth it.  I can’t believe this weekend is Halloween already, so it will definitely be another busy one!  Happy Monday!

21 Responses

  1. Haha…I LOVE bulldogs too 🙂

    Fun weekend!

  2. Sorry the IT band started acting up. But way to be careful and not push it too hard anyways (something I’ve been sadly known to do).

    Awesome weekend! I am sad I didn’t get to tailgate for our homecoming last weekend, but I’m just going to pretend to live vicariously through you. 😉

    • Meh, I probably should have just walked home when it started bothering me, but I was three miles away and on a time crunch and it would have taken forever, haha so I just ran. Hopefully it holds up when I run tonight.

  3. Dinner looks delicious! I love sweet potatoes. So jealous that you are drinking Dogfish Punkin! Did you know that Friend’s now stopped carrying it? They said that they stopped ordering cases of it! I wonder if Issac’s has it?

    Villanova looks like fun! I was around the corner from you working all weekend 🙂

    • Well everywhere is selling out of their stock! The brewery only makes so much, and once it’s gone it’s gone! Cold Springs only had two cases left and I bought one of them.

  4. Looks like fun!
    Take good care of that IT band! It totally sucks that its starting to bother you.

  5. That’s the only pumpkin beer I like! Dogfish Head is seriously rad. And their founder/head brewer is a hottay.

  6. Philly sports teams killed me this weekend. At least my Terps pulled out a win against Boston College.

    The World Series will definitely suck this year and I wish the Eagles defense could make a stop. Gahhh, I hate seeing the Redskins do so well, while we flounder.

  7. yum, there’s a Dogfish Head near to where I just moved. their food and their beer is seriously delightful!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. That shepherd’s pie looks so good! I love the sweet potato idea.

    Glad you had a fun weekend!

  9. you MUST get a bully. i don’t think ive had that pumpkin beer. is it better than shipyard?? way to go on that run!

  10. […] my favorite cooler weather meals, and despite the 85 degree temps yesterday, I still wanted it.  Shepherd’s Pie with mashed sweet potatoes on top instead of regular mashed.  So freaking […]

  11. […] want to eat for dinner every night that week.  Lately this is alternating between stuffed peppers, shepherds pie, and meatloaf.  I decided on meatloaf for this […]

  12. […] my workout I headed home to make dinner, Shepherds Pie, and watch the game.  At least the dinner turned out well.  Mashed sweet potatoes with brown […]

Leave a Reply

