• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Weekend at Home

So, I’m still in PA today.  The weather here yesterday was nasty, and after hearing about the struggles my sister went through driving home from MD earlier in the day, I decided to make today a mental health day.  I’ll finally head back down to VA sometime this afternoon.  I’m not going to complain about the unplanned day off, because I managed to sleep until almost 10 am, and it was awesome.  The weekend tired me out.

My drive home on Friday afternoon was actually amazing, and it took me less than three hours, which is almost unheard of.  After arriving home, my sis and I headed over to Bed Bath and Beyond so I could pick up a shower gift, and then I met up with Liv at Starbuck’s.

Liv and I have been talking on Twitter for months now, and discovered we were from the same town, and even had mutual “real” friends in common.  It’s always fun meeting internet friends and real life, and finally putting a face/voice to a picture or blog.  It was nice to finally meet her in person, and we sat chatting for about an hour and a half before I had to say goodbye and go meet my mom for dinner.

My mom, sister, and I enjoyed an amazing dinner at La Stalla while sitting outside on the patio.  It was a gorgeous night, and I was almost chilly despite having long pants on.  It was awesome, I can’t remember the last time I sat outside without sweating profusely, a cool breeze was nice.  After dinner, the three of us met up with two of my sister’s other friends at the movies, where we saw The Help.  I liked it, but I still haven’t read the book, not sure if I will or not.

Saturday was full of pre-wedding celebrations for my friend Michelle.  First up was her bridal shower at a local restaurant.  We enjoyed lunch and wine while she flew through present opening.  Thank you for that Michelle.

Alexis and I at the shower

Michelle opening gifts

All my old work friends

After a quick outfit change, it was time to head over to Michelle’s sister’s house for her Penn State themed bachelorette party.  As Ashley and I were changing, all we kept saying was how this was the most comfortable bach party outfit ever, and that it was awesome.  It really was, I’m so glad we didn’t have to get dressed up and go out haha.

Ash and I

with the bride to be

What happens at a bach party, stays at a bach party, but there were the typical games, dancing, drinking, and tons of food.  It was really fun, and nice that we could all just pass out at the house at the end of the night without worrying about getting home.  I stuck to beer for most of the night, and managed to escape without a massive hangover yesterday.  Score.  Other things I learned about myself on Saturday night?  I can still do a full split, and pirouette with the best of them.  I suppose that’s what happens when almost the entire bridal party were once ballerinas.

It’s still raining here, which blows, but at least it will be daytime, and a Monday so hopefully traffic won’t be so bad.  Catch ya later.

8 Responses

  1. I didn’t know you were home! Then again it sounds like you were pretty busy this weekend, anyways, as was I. Also I’m still kinda nervous about the blog-meet-up thing haha. No offense to you, I feel that way about everyone. Can’t decide if it’d be weird or not!

  2. Ok – I want to go to a bachelorette party where I can dress comfortable like that. I tried to convince my friend that I should be allowed to wear yoga pants to her wedding – she didnt go for it.

  3. I love mental heath days.
    I could use one of them…badly. Looks like a fun party though, and so fantastic that you got to be comfortable and not worry about driving!

  4. I’ve never been able to do a split. My vagina hurts just thinking about it.
    Sounds like a fun weekend! Drive safe today.

  5. Ugh- I hate weather screwing with travel plans. Makes me shudder and think about the holidays- I always drive through ridiculous snow/ice at least one way.

  6. Mental health days are soooooo important! Glad you’re taking one! Be safe driving!

  7. Glad you had a fun weekend! I love love love your hair. I know I already told you that, but I really do love the color on you.

  8. I LOVE the Penn State theme!!! I also can’t believe you were basically in my backyard.. La Stalla.. yummm! I hope that you had a great trip!

Leave a Reply

