• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

One of the Great Ones

Today I had one of the runs that remind me why I’ve been running for 15 years.  The kind of run that made 4 months of physical therapy, crying, and doubting that I’d ever do it again without pain worth it.  Not to mention the insane medical bills that I am still paying worth it.

This morning I set out to tackle my 11 mile training run after eating a pumpkin chocolate chip cookie and a CLIF bar, only because I figured cookies alone wouldn’t be the best fuel.  I had on long sleeves which I decided to cover my Garmin with and not stalk my pace and distance like I normally do.  I just wanted to run, to let my legs go the pace they felt like moving.  I got going and after a mile everything loosened up, and with the crisp October breeze I felt amazing.

I ran my usual loop around my neighborhood, moved out onto the main bike path along the road, and looped in and out of two more neighborhoods.  The first time I looked at my Garmin was at mile 5, when I stopped at the grocery store for some water and to take the Power Bar Gel Blasts I brought for mid-run fuel.  I realized I had averaged a really good pace for the first 5 miles, and with 6 more to go I was feeling confident I could keep it up.  I left the grocery store and started running, again covering up my watch with my sleeve.  I figured I had to run 2 more miles out from the grocery store before I could turn around and head back to my house.  I think breaking it up that way really helped me mentally tackle the run, because instead of thinking “wow I’m not even half way finished,” I thought “two miles out before turning around is nothing!”

Right around mile 8, I started to feel the IT band pain, but I was expecting it to rear its ugly head at some point and it didn’t distress me or surprise me this time.  I stopped for a few minutes, really stretched out my hips and legs, and continued my run knowing there were only three miles left.  During mile 9, on the home stretch straightaway back to my house, I really loosened up my stride and my arms and just ran.  I conquered the hills, shortening my stride and landing on the balls of my feet, while pumping my arms, and cruised on the downhills.  Before I knew it, my watch was beeping that it hit mile 11, and I was finished my run in 1:42:56.  Five minutes faster than my 10 mile time from Broad Street 2 years ago.  The best part?  I wasn’t dead, I felt good, and my legs felt strong.

Now maybe those aren’t the fastest splits for a lot of people, but for me they’re pretty damn good.  Words cannot express how excited I was when I saw mile 10 was at 8:56 and 11 at 8:38.  This run really helped to boost my confidence about my half on the 21st, and I’m getting more and more excited, as opposed to just nervous.

I have to head out to pick up boyfriend at the train station in a little bit, and then it’s time to partaaaaay.  We’re heading to my friend Michelle’s and it should be a lot of fun. Happy Halloween everyone, stay safe!

7 Responses

  1. Don’t you love it when you have a run that reminds you why you love running?

    I think your splits are fast!

  2. I love good runs like that. Its too easy to forget why we love running, a reminder is nice. 🙂

  3. Have a happy halloween! I hope it’s a MONSTER amount of fun! 🙂

  4. NICE JOB LADY!! I had a great one too yesterday but you put me to shame.

  5. That’s awesome! I’m happy for you.

    I didn’t realize our races were on the same day. Sweet! 🙂

  6. […] posted it on a weekend, so it didn’t really get many comments, which is why I’m putting One of the Great Ones, as my post for not enough. […]

Leave a Reply

