• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Halloween Flashback

So apparently if you call your mom at 6:50 am, 30 minutes after you left the house, she will assume something horrible has happened to you.  Even if you’re just asking if she can take two sticks of butter out of the freezer for you.  Good to know.  Sorry mom!  I’m guessing this fear of hers goes back to my Senior year of high school when I crashed my car head on into a tree, literally five minutes after leaving the house for school.

Last night I finally got my tempo run in, and it went really well.  The best part was no knee pain!  Which leads me to conclude that running 10 miles is tough, and it’s bound to just irritated my IT band.  Hey, who knew!?

  • 1 mile warm-up 10 min/mile
  • 4 miles @ 8:57 pace
  • 1 mile cool-down 10 min/mile
  • 6 miles 55:45

There is an 11 mile run on my training plan for tomorrow, which if I complete all 11 will be a new PDR for me!  The furthest I’ve ever run before this is 10 miles, and I’ve only done that twice.  I’m pretty excited about the potential PDR tomorrow.

In honor of Halloween weekend, let’s take a look through some of my costumes from past years.  None of them are very good or creative, but I think it’s still fun to see them.  You already saw last years sailor costume the other day, here are some older ones.

“Halloween is fast approaching, the day when parents encourage little boys to dress like little girls, and little girls to dress like whores.” Sue Sylvester aka Jane Lynch

 

2008 as a flapper

Last minute costume from 2006. Walk of shame. BFF Jilly is cropped out but wearing a sign that says "It's not the walk of shame" but I didn't think she'd approve of the pic 🙂

2005 as The Devil

2004 as an Angel

Those are all my college costumes, Freshman year I didn’t dress up or go out because I hadn’t yet discovered the joys of drinking.  The walk of shame costume was by far my favorite, and most comfortable.  All I had to do was raid my boyfriend’s (at the time) closet steal an Oxford shirt, I already had the shorts in my possession, throw on some heels, smudge my makeup, mess up my hair and go.  I was lucky, going to school in VA it was typically still pretty warm on Halloween and you didn’t have to worry about freezing in your costume.

 

Happy Friday, have a great Halloween weekend!  Oh also, I was in Starbucks this morning and the barista informed me that their eggnog and gingerbread syrups arrived and would be available next week.  Who’s excited!? I am!

17 Responses

  1. True story: in 2001 I went to a Halloween party with the friend who ended up introducing me to my future husband. Years later, husband told me the friend’s boyfriend was like, “you gotta meet this girl – she was dressed as a Catholic schoolgirl!” So, I credit my marriage to that slutty costume.

  2. Halloween flashbacks are awesome! I still need ideas for this year eek!

  3. My mom is the same way. She always answers the phone all nervous cause she thinks somethings wrong, I have to say right away that Im ok. She has reason though..I always have car issues and last november I hit a deer head on 😦

  4. As if I needed ANOTHER reason to go to starbucks…thanks 😉

    I love that Halloween is the only day of the year when it’s socially acceptable to dress like a complete whore. I love Halloween.

  5. I love the Halloween flashbacks! So cute! I like the walk of shame costume. Creative idea! Have fun at the Halloween party this weekend! 🙂

  6. I don’t think I’d dare post my costumes… lol. Freshman year I was little bo peep. I ended up looking scandelous enough for groups of guys to want to take pictures with me. Everyday I thank god that was right before the heavy usage of digital cameras. Who knows where those pics would be otherwise…

  7. Stride of pride…nice. 🙂 I love easy costumes like that, ha!

  8. walk of shame was my favorite costume to wear too! Although I’m excited for this years 🙂 Make sure you save me some cookies!

  9. Love the pictures!

    My mom freaks out like that too. If I call the house and ask for my dad she says “why?!?! Are you ok?!” Its probably because I totalled their van the day I got my drivers license.

  10. I love your “Walk of Shame” costume! Too funny! I still don’t know what I’m being…haha guess I should probably get on that.

  11. It’s kind of sad how happy your last sentence just made me.

  12. I love the walk of shame costume, haha, that’s hilarious!

    My mom is the same way when I call at an unexpected time. They worry 🙂

    Good luck with the 11 miler!!!

  13. Fun costume flashback!! You have some creative ones. Have an awesome Halloween weekend – can’t wait to see what you came up with this year!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  14. Ha, I love the walk of shame costume.

  15. Getting phone calls very early or late ALWAYS makes me think something bad has happened!

    Love the walk of shame costume! Keeping that in mind for the future…

  16. my suitemate did a walk of shame costume freshman year!
    she had smeared lipstick, horrible hair and im pretty sure she stuck an empty condom wrapper on her! haha

Leave a Reply

