• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 84 other subscribers

Irks a Nerve

Oh hello there, and happy Wednesday to you.  How is everyone this morning?  I myself am doing much better than yesterday because I’ve had a full cup of coffee, no headache, and well it’s not Tuesday.

So, have ya’ll seen those stickers that people put on their back windshields.  You know, the ones with all the family members?  Here’s an example that was in front of me on my way to work this morning.

Does anyone else find these as fugly and annoying as I do?  I really can’t explain why I hate them so much, but I do.  Oh, you have four kids? How nice for you.  I hope that youngest is a boy or I feel bad for the husband, four daughters?  No thanks.  In 5-10 years if I attempt to put something like this on my car, please point me in the direction of this post.

Thankfully I managed to avoid a migraine yesterday and kicked the headache by mid-afternoon.  I took a quick break from my monotonous work day and headed across the street for a late afternoon workout.  About an hour of full body weights that included:

  • leg press machine
  • calf raises (the assisted pull up and tricep dip machine is really good for standing on and doing these)
  • Split squat with rear leg on weight bench
  • Plie squat with 15 lb dumbbell
  • bicep curls
  • bent over bicep row
  • skull crushers
  • tricep chest press
  • shoulder press
  • hyperextensions with a 10lb plate
  • Abs

Phew, it was a good one, and that is typically what I do once a week when I say I’m doing a full body weights workout.  I sometimes alternate tricep kickbacks for skull crushers though.  Ideally I would do this two times a week, but I’m lazy.

After work I could not wait to get home and cook dinner.  I happened to have all the ingredients on hand for one of my favorite cooler weather meals, and despite the 85 degree temps yesterday, I still wanted it.  Shepherd’s Pie with mashed sweet potatoes on top instead of regular mashed.  So freaking good.

I sent that picture to Dar, and he said “That looks disgusting babe.”  Maybe it does, but it tasted fucking awesome.  I had two giant plates for dinner, and have leftovers for the rest of the week, ironically when it will actually be cooler out.  I really love the sweet potato/ground beef combo, please try this.

Ok, and now I need you guys to help me with something.  I’ve been really boring myself on the blog lately, which means I’m probably boring you all to death.  So, what do you want to see more of here?  I’m not training for anything right now, so detailed descriptions of long runs aren’t an option, and my life is pretty lame.  Anything ya’ll want me to post about? Please give me ideas.  I’m begging.

Alright, peace out.

25 Responses

  1. I hate those things too, mostly because they’re all traditional families (usually on minivans with jesus fish on the bumpers). I’d like to see a gay couple with a dog, or just one lady with 60 cats.

  2. Minivan with dumb stickers of the fam….why are you feeling bad about purportedly having no life? Theirs clearly ended years ago. Unfortunately, that is the populace of my neighborhood – we are the fun-loving child-free people they all envy.

    Re: blogging…tou seem to be an excellent stylist…how about giving me advice!

  3. Ugh, those stickers are really annoying! I love shepherd’s pie! I think your dinner looks awesome! 🙂

  4. I hate those goddamn things, too. You know those are the people who have facebook pages for their unborn children/ post 10x a day about how “challenging but rewarding” parenting is.

    Those assholes make me want to want to put off kids as long as possible so that I don’t become one of them too early.

    I just made your shepards pie last week! But with regular mashies. Still soooooo good.

  5. I think that looks delicious. But that’s because I can imagine how good it tastes. Boys don’t seem to think that way. They’re more visual. I know, that was a shocking revelation. You’re welcome. 🙂

  6. I feel like those things are billboards for creeps and pervs. Like “Oh hey look, you can follow me home to my house where I have 4 kids of which you can guess their approximate ages by this stick figure cartoon!” Maybe I’ve just seen too many episodes of Unsolved Mysteries or To Catch a Predator, but still.

  7. Sex, I want blog sex convos. The more times you type vagina the better.

  8. I hate those stickers too. They annoy me. In fact all stickers on cars annoy me. You know what else I hate? Those 13.1, 26.2 or 70.4 stickers. Seriously…good for you…you ran a marathon. I did too. But I don’t feel the need to plaster my car with my distances so everyone knows how awesome I am. Get over yourself.

  9. I hate those stickers too. A co-worker has one with her 46 grandkids (an exaggeration but there are an effing lot of them). I just don’t understand them.

    I don’t find your content boring. I actually deleted a lot of blogs from my reader recently because they were so boring I’d rather be doing work than reading them. You made the cut. Happy?

  10. I saw one of those stickers once with the dad scratched off! I’m not kidding. I wonder who did it. The kids or the mom? hahahaha!

  11. LOL… have you seen this comic about those dumb stickers? http://xkcd.org/946/

  12. I hate those too! The other day I saw one with just the dad and a little boy on the left and next to the little boy was a sticker that said “….NEXT!!!” and then the mom sticker was in the right hand corner with a big red X through it. Someone’s bitter.

  13. I don’t get those stickers at all. What is the point of them? I wonder if it’s the parents or the kids that want them.

  14. I’m with you on those stickers. I once saw a minivan with 14 kids on it. Ok we get it you have a ton of kids, but that just looks ridiculous.

  15. […] minutes on the stair climber followed by a weights workout.  I posted my weight routine last week, here so I won’t do it again.  The two exercises listed next to each other on that list are […]

Leave a comment