• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

The Evolution of a Shoe Obsession

I have 27 pairs of shoes here with me in Virginia, and that doesn’t count flip-flops or sneakers.  When I was cleaning my room the other day, and therefore organizing my closet, I couldn’t help but notice there is a sort of trend when it comes to my high heel collection.  They are fabulous, and also somewhat costly.  As with most things, it all started with my first pair.

Stuart Weitzman wrapup, in black satin.  These were purchased way back in 2004 prior to a summer filled of weddings.  Back then I was just finishing my Freshman year of college and my dad had given me $200 to purchase a dress and new pair of shoes.  I found these shoes first, and was more than willing to shell out $150 for them and then find a $50 dress.  Full ensemble here.  I was so in love with these shoes, that I fell down my basement stairs and almost broke my ankle wearing them around the house.  So pretty, but a killer on the feet after a few hours.

The next summer while shopping in Philadelphia I procured my second pair of designer heels, and omg are they gorgeous.

PRADA Raso Ricamo Diamond.  The curved studded heel, the jewels across the toe, the less than 4 inch high heel, I still die for these.  These were a gift from one of my mother’s boyfriend’s in an effort to buy my affection.  It worked.  A few weeks later he also bought me a car, but that’s neither here nor there*.

Sometime during my junior year of college I decided it was perfectly acceptable to splurge on a “holiday” shoe and wound up with these Stuart Weitzman platforms.

With a name like “Charcoal Twinkle Tweed,” how can you say no?  You can’t tell in the picture, but yes there actually is a slight sparkle to these lovelies.  These are probably the most comfortable 4 inch heel that I own, and I’ve wandered through the streets of Philadelphia in these with no problem, well once band aids have been strategically placed in blister prone areas that is.

The next addition to my collection was courtesy of my mom, thanks to my obsessive stalking of a Neiman Marcus sale.  They were marked down 50% a month prior to Christmas in 2007, and my mom knew how much I loved them.  Imagine my excitement when they showed up under the tree Christmas morning.  Also, I am of the belief that every girl should own at least one pair of Manolo Blahnik’s.

True story, Carrie actually wore these exact shoes in the Sex and the City movie during Charlotte’s bridal shower at her apartment.  Yeah that’s right, I’m that stylish.  These are my go-to dressy heel for almost everything, including my 23rd birthday party when I got caught in a sidewalk crack and nearly ruined the heel.  Thank god for shoe repair saviors.

A shoe that doesn’t get nearly enough wear from me, is my fuschia patent Cole Haan slingbacks.  I bought these on a whim back in 2009 to go with a grey dress, whole outfit can be seen here, but because they are bright pink I don’t wear them nearly as much as I wish.  They are part of the Cole Haan/Nike Air line, so they are amazingly comfortable, I need to break these out more.

The latest addition to my collection of designer footwear is the pair of Burberry wedges I gifted myself as a 26th birthday present.

These aren’t technically a “heel” so I don’t know if they count, but I love them.  Especially since they are a wedge which makes them infinitely more comfortable.  I have a few other pairs of heels in my arsenal, but those are much more practical price wise and label wise.  I still love all of my shoes though.  Don’t even get me started on my Tory Burch Reva’s or countless paris of knee-high boots 🙂

So there you have it, the evolution of my obsession with designer shoes.  Now, if someone wants to buy me these for Christmas, I wouldn’t be opposed. Just kidding, even I know that’s an insane amount of money to spend on a pair of shoes.

Workout yesterday was 50 minutes on the elliptical while watching Titanic, haha, followed by abs and some inverted yoga crap that makes me feel like a bad ass.  Tonight, is dinner with Steph and I am sooooo excited! Hopefully we can talk more about organic cucumbers and things of such nature.  The fam arrives tomorrow which means there is an absurd amount of grocery shopping and food prep that needs to be done.  Happy Thursday!

*I am aware how spoiled and bratty this post makes me look.  It is what it is, I’m really not though, and this was all for silly fun because like I said, I’ve been boring myself lately. I just like pretty shoes.  Also, it should be noted that said car was eventually purchased from that boyfriend.

13 Responses

  1. So jealous of your shoes! I seriously fell in love with all of these shoes that you posted! Beautiful! 🙂 I don’t even think I could choose my favorite. My goal is to own at least one pair of designer shoes. I’m hoping that designer pair is Christian Louboutin! 😉

  2. I might have just drooled.*

    *I did.

  3. I love the Stuart Weitzman platforms those are super cute! shoot, they are all super cute!

    I saw this horrible family sticker set today on a carand thought of your post yesterday. I tried to take a picture but by time I found my phone the lady was gone. http://algraphixdecals.com/catalog/images/mickeypeopledisplay.jpg

    incase that doesn’t work. it’s a family sticker set with stupid mickey mouse ears. kill me now.

  4. There is nothing wrong with a shoe obsession. It makes you a normal girl. Or at least that’s what I tell myself… ha ha

    Have fun at dinner tonight! Steph is such a blast!

  5. My first designers were Stuart Weitzman’s too. They were silver and amazing. Then I got garnet red ones that tied up the ankles. I’ve had periods where I couldn’t afford designer shoes (and still have no manolo’s – wah) but I always go back. There’s just something magical about them.
    And I looove boots.

  6. I’m in love with the Manolos! These would be the first pair of designer shoes I got. Thanks to Rue La La I am now obsessed with Betsey Johnson’s shoes. 🙂 http://phillynerdgirl.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/dsc02146.jpg

  7. Not bratty! I wish I could afford designer shoes. I fear you’d scoff at my steve maddens – via – marshalls heels, haha. And Express purses.

    But being unemployed for four years, I look at the prices tags and think…hmmm…. shoes, or student loan and car payment for a month? Its a sad, but easy, decision.

    If you have any secrets to finding great sales on these please share!

  8. And now all I want to do is go shoe shopping. 🙂

  9. jesus, I didn’t have a pair of shoes that cost more than $100 until I was well into my 30s. Can you share your trust fund???? 🙂

  10. WOW! I need your closet!!

  11. I want!!

    I love boots like those Christian Louboutin’s. I had a pair that I wore *to death* and had to give away. I need a replacement but I agree, can’t spend that much…

  12. No joke, we have pretty much the exact same taste in shoes- I have some serious envy right now. I REALLY want some Louboutins, but clearly that’s not in the budget at the moment. When I make my first million, I’m buying out the store.

  13. I’ve never owned a pair of designer shoes 😦

Leave a Reply

