• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Creamy Mashed Potatoes and Meat Loaf

Thanks to everyone for the congrats on my first race!  The more I think about it, the more I realize I should be proud of my finish time and not disappointed, so until my next half I will be proud of my 2:05 finish time.  My legs are still super sore today, and I’ve been avoiding going up and down stairs as much as possible.  I’m hoping they start to feel better sometime soon so that I can at least walk normally.

Now, as you all know, this is my week off before moving and starting my new job so I’ve got a lot of free time on my hands.  Yesterday, in post long-run, next-day hunger I hobbled around the grocery store picking up things for the week.  I threw a lot of random things in my shopping cart, and things to keep me occupied in the kitchen for the next three days.  After watching The Pioneer Woman kick Bobby Flay’s ass on Throwdown last week, I decided I NEEDED to make her mashed potatoes.  Butter, cream cheese, garlic?  I didn’t think it could get much better than that.  After unloading my grocery store haul, I got to preparing the potatoes.

Now, her recipe calls for 5 lbs of potatoes, and I suppose I could have done some math and halved the recipe, but I was lazy, and thinking about how good 5lbs of mashed potatoes would feel in my empty belly.  Yup, I made 5lbs of mashed potatoes.  For two people.  To go with our mashed potatoes, I decided to make another comfort food favorite of mine, meat loaf.

 

peeled and in the pot to cook

meatloaf ingredients before combining

in loaf form ready for the oven

mashing the potatoes and adding the other ingredients

Yup, topped with more butter

Meat Loaf and Mashed Potatoes

yummy

the best mashed potatoes EVER

 

Seriously, go make these mashed potatoes right now.  They are so creamy and flavorful and delicious, I’m kind of glad I decided to make 5 lbs because now I can eat them for every meal.  In addition to following The Pioneer Woman’s recipe verbatim, I also added some garlic cloves to the pot of water when I was boiling the potatoes.  Then, just mashed everything together.  Yum.

On the agenda for today?  Using some of the 5 cans of Pumpkin in my pantry and the three bars of cream cheese.  Oh, and I guess I should finish packing at some point, ya know, since I’m moving on Saturday.  I’d much rather eat my way through the week though.  Happy Tuesday!

 

13 Responses

  1. oooh my goodness so excited to be coming home in a few hours. Leftovers for lunch! And pumpkin and cream cheese sounds wonderful…so glad I get to come home to such a chef. Danielle and Adrienne should be getting very excited

  2. I loved the Throwdown episode with the Pioneer Woman and Bobby Flay! Those mashed potatoes and meatloaf look incredible! I don’t think I’ve ever had a good meatloaf recipe. I need to try yours! Love this meal. Perfect comfort food! Enjoy your days off 🙂

  3. Dude I love meat loaf. Such a great comfort food. I also love the artist Meat Loaf. Just so you know.

  4. Oh my God, that dinner would make my mother proud- it’s a signature meal of hers. Ahhhh… meat in loaf form. Gotta love it.

    And I agree with Marie- “Paradise by the Dashboard Lights” is a classic.

  5. Those mashed potatoes sound insane! I clearly NEED to make them. 🙂

  6. 5 pounds of mashed potatoes for two people? You are my personal hero. 🙂

  7. So much buzz over this Pioneer Woman/Bobby Flay episode! I need to check it out I think!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. I LOVE mashed potatoes. They do not get enough love on the blogosphere. Thank you for this.

  9. Those mashed potatoes look absolutely delicious!! I’ve never been a big fan of meatloaf though…that one actually doesn’t look too bad haha

  10. Ha I have a meat loaf/mashed potato post planned for the next few weeks too…. my mashies are a family recipe; replace all your other ingredients with butter and you have ours 🙂

  11. Oh man, that looks so delicious. I LOVE meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Thank goodness for Thanksgiving or this potato craving would be off the chain!

  12. Ha I wouldn’t have halved the recipe either. I never do. Even though I only cook for 2 people and the recipe serves 10, nope, cook it up! Leftovers are the best!

  13. […] every night that week.  Lately this is alternating between stuffed peppers, shepherds pie, and meatloaf.  I decided on meatloaf for this […]

Leave a Reply

