• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 84 other subscribers

Summer Reading

Words cannot express how desperately I needed this Thursday to arrive.  Thursdays = pay-day, and my bank account was severely struggling.  Back in the black now, so it’s all good.

Last night was a rest night so I spent some quality time on my couch watching Ghost Whisperer (I love this show and I’m not embarrassed to admit it) and trying to finish the latest Jodi Picoult book.

I’m a huge fan of all her books, and this one is no different.  Once I start reading, they are impossible to put down because you know the ending is always going to have some kind of crazy twist.  I am so close to the end, it’s killing me to sit here at work right now and not to be at home reading.  I should have saved this to read on the beach while on vacation in two weeks, but I couldn’t wait.  So now I need some suggestions of good beach reads to stock up on.  They can be silly girly books, things with diamonds or shoes on the cover, as the bf describes them, mysteries, anything really.  Come on guys whatdya got?

Dinner last night utilized my last piece of TJ’s flatbread.

Not last nights actual pizza, last night I only had turkey pepperoni on it, but you get the idea.  And then, because I still feel like crap, I got in my bed at 9:30.  It was delightful.  I’m debating whether or not to work out tonight, I’m feeling a little better cold wise, but my knee is scaring me a little.  It’s not swollen, and it doesn’t hurt to walk on, but it’s still tender to push on.  Ugh, I will be so mad at myself if after weeks and weeks of PT I get hurt while drunk.  Stupid.

We’re having an ice cream party at work this afternoon, so that is giving me something to look forward to today.  Then on Saturday I’m off to Baltimore for an Orioles/Nats JMU alumni event.  That should be a great time, hopefully we will be able to watch the USA game also.

Alright, I hope everyone has a great day, don’t forget to give me some good beach reading suggestions!

31 Responses

  1. I read Pet Sematary on our Europe trip, and liked it a lot. Random, I know. I’m also a big fan of Elin Hilderbrand books for the beach…nothing heavy, but perfect for relaxing!

    • Oooh Steven King, nice. I don’t know if I’ve ever actually read one of his books, just watched the movies. I may have to change that!

  2. I just finished “The Art of Racing in the Rain” which was SO good!! If you are a dog lover/liker its totally a great book and it reads so fast that you will finish it before you know it! I also loved the book “The Average American Male” freaking hilarious and I read it one night (im not a fast reader I was up till 2am). Thats how good it was!
    The Carrie Diaries is a prequel to Sex and the City and I just listened to it on tape and it was a good summer beach read that doesn’t require a lot of thinking. Or basically anything by Jen Lancaster.
    Am I being a dork right now by going on and on about books? Okay I’ll stop! 🙂

    • Totally a dog lover, i’ll check that one out! Haha thanks for all the suggestions definitely not dorky! Keep em coming!

  3. I’m always afraid to read her books because I know they’ll depress me!

  4. I need to find some beach reads too for my vacation in July. Would you recommend any of Jodi Picoult’s books for my vacation? Which one is your favorite? I’d recommend any Nicholas Sparks books.

    • I recommend all of them! They aren’t really light subject matter, but they are all so interesting that you just want to keep reading and reading which is perfect for at the beach. My favorite is My Sister’s Keeper (so much better than the movie) and so far I really like the one I’m reading now, but we’ll see how it ends.

  5. THe only Jodi book I’ve read is My Sister’s Keeper and I’m scared to read anything else because nothing could be better than that one!!

  6. i like jodi picoult’s books too! i always get REALLY into them!

  7. Have you read Prep or the Nanny Diaries? Those are fun. I like any David Sedaris, too.

  8. I keep hearing she’s an amazing author but I have yet to read any of her books. Which one did you like the best? Maybe I’ll start there 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    • The first one of hers that I read was My Sister’s Keeper and I was in love. They really are all so good though. The Pact, 19 Minutes, Perfect Match, ooh and Harvesting the Heart. Those are some of my favorites.

  9. I am waiting for my vacation to start Sizzling Sixteen, the latest Stephanie Plum book from Janet Evanovich. It is a TOTAL beach read and she always comes out with new ones in late June and I end up waiting until I am on the beach to crack one. It’s like Ben And Jerry’s Ice Cream to me or a bag of peanut M&M’s not so much nutritious for the brain but so enjoyable. 🙂

    • Ooooh I read a bunch of those books, I forget where I left off though 11, 12? Maybe I should figure it out and pick it back up. My ex’s mom actually got me reading those.

  10. Stupid and Contagious by Caprice Crane. It is my all time favorite book and its hilarious!! Its a great summer book!

  11. I KNOW this sounds awful but I ordered:
    I Just Want You to Know
    by Kate Gosselin

    Now don’t make fun! I think it will be very entertaining for me on the beach!

  12. Nora Roberts- The Bride Quaret books….OMG amazing. I finished all three in one week!!

  13. My favorite beach read ever was I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell. Extremely raunchy and sexist, and yet I laughed out loud sooo many times. If you think less of me now I’ll totally understand 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon!

    • Hahaha my ex and his roommate had that book in their apartment and I read it last year. It was hilarious. Totally don’t think less of you don’t worry.

  14. Have you ever read Summer Sisters by Judy Blume? AWESOME beach read!!!

  15. My boyfriend has They Serve Beer in Hell! It is funny! But PLEASE don’t ever rent the movie! Yes – they made a movie out of that and it’s nothing like the book..just plain awful!

  16. We randomly had a BBQ at our office building once. They tried to serve ice cream. In 90-degree weather. Worst idea ever…

  17. I love Jodi picoults books! I recently finished house rules and it was one of my favorites, especially because of how relevant the issues are.
    I’m actually reading one of her older books right now – Plain Truth, and I’m hooked!

Leave a comment