• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

A weekend of normalcy

It’s Sunday night, and I’m sitting here with a glass of Malbec, Smartfood popcorn, and wedding Sunday on We, pretty perfect by my standards.  This weekend was relatively low-key, I wasn’t traveling and didn’t have any visitors so I apologize if you all find this post boring.  Friday night my sister arrived with her boyfriend, whom she went to Pittsburgh to pick up and then bring back here to head back to school (they are both  Juniors at Villanova).  My sister gave me the Hungry Girl cookbook for Christmas, so I decided to cook us all dinner with one of the recipes.  I ended up choosing the Chicken Quesadillas, and they were pretty fantastic.  The recipe calls for 1 medium low-fat flour tortilla with about 110 calories and at least 6 grams of fiber, 2 ounces cooked boneless skinless chicken breast (when cooking the chicken I added my own seasoning mix of chili pepper, oregano, garlic powder, salt, and cumin), 1/3 cup shredded fat-free cheese of any flavor, 1 tablespoon diced scallions, and any optional toppings like sour cream and salsa.  I also added red peppers.  I tripled these ingredients since there were three of us, and we had a delicious dinner.  Cooking is always something I enjoy, so it’s fun to finally cook for more than just one person.

Saturday I had every intention of getting a nice long run in at the gym, but on Wednesday in an effort to get my training back on track I pulled a muscle in my right lat and extending my arm or any movement of it at all was extremely painful so I struggled through 5.5 miles.  15.5 miles for the week isn’t so bad I suppose.  Today I can almost extend my arm fully above my head, so hopefully my runs this week will feel better.  For my sisters last night home, we celebrated by going to our favorite BYOB restaurant, Duck Sauce.  It’s local and has some of the best Chinese food around, and Colleen and I had tried to find time to go for weeks.  After dinner we went over to a local sports bar to watch the Eagles playoff game.  We left at halftime because, well, it was that awful.  I’d rather not discuss it beyond that.  I still get so excited about drinking with my sister in a bar.  I can finally go out with my best friend!  And she’s such a light weight that getting her drunk is always amusing.

I recently finished reading the book Julie and Julia, by Julie Powell, and for those of you that don’t know, it is her book and cooking blog that the movie with Meryl Streep and Amy Adams is based on; which I watched this morning, so that is where this tangent is coming from.  Julie Powell was just a normal 29 year-old living in Queens with her husband, unhappy at her job as a temp, and looking for something more.  She decided to spend the next year of her life cooking all the recipes in Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume 1, and the hilarity and chaos the ensues is enthralling.  I couldn’t put the book down, and then couldn’t wait to watch the movie.  One of the things I could relate to the most, was how excited Julie is when she sees she has a new comment on her blog, and then even more excited when it is a comment from someone she doesn’t know.  At one point she makes a remark about wondering if her blog as any purpose, if anyone is actually reading it, and sometimes I feel the same way.  But hey, I guess this really is for me to write about me.  Either way, I recommend both the book and the movie, but read the book first.

Tonight I tried another recipe from Hungry Girl, the Cheesesteak.  Three ounces raw lean filet beefsteak (I used flank steak), 1 hot dog bun (I used half of a wheat pita), 1 slice of fat-free American cheese, and 1/3 cup of onions.  Brown the onions in a pan with non-stick spray for about five minutes, remove them, re-spray the pan and add the meat.  Cook for 1-2 minutes, turning over about half way through.  Then add the cheese to the meat while still in the pan.  Transfer to bun (or pita in my case), and top with onions. Voilà!  You’re done!  The onions really add a lot of flavor to the beef, and you have a delicious low-fat dinner.   Guys, I would suggest using a little more beef since this is a recipe for us hungry girls.

I hope everyone had a great weekend, and if you are as lucky as me next weekend is a three-day one!  Woo!

One Response

  1. How funny! I just rented that movie from Red Box and watched it while I ate dinner! I don’t think my chili is quite up to Julia’s standards- but I pretended like I was a fantastic chef in my teeny tiny kitchen while making it…

Leave a Reply

