• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

The weekend summarized

Happy Monday all, is it just me or did this weekend fly by way too quickly?  Friday night was a pretty uneventful one for me, I stayed home watching Friday Night Lights, which is by far one of the most underrated shows on TV in my opinion.  I love it, and am so happy it is back for another season.

I had a hair appointment down in the city at 11 am on Saturday, so I was up bright and early to go for a jog.  Yup you read that right, I went out for a nice 2 mile run/walk on Saturday morning.  It actually went pretty well until about 18 minutes in, when my knee started to hurt so I walked the rest of the way home.  Definitely frustrating because I feel like after 6 weeks of physical therapy I should be making more progress than I am.  I can’t run without pain for any longer than I could 3 months ago, and I don’t know why I’m not getting better.

My afternoon in the city was fun, I love my new haircut.  It’s finally growing out from when I chopped it off into a bob, so I asked my hairdresser to add some long layers, and angles so that it had more shape and wasn’t all one length.  It looks much healthier now.  I also did a little shopping and got my mom a dress from Ann Taylor, and a cute dress for myself.  Any time I’m in the city for a hair cut, I always go to the same restaurant for lunch.  Pietro’s on 17th and Walnut, it has the best brick oven pizza ever!  I almost didn’t go because I was alone and don’t like eating alone, but there were tables open outside so I sat down and sucked it up.  I’m glad I did because the pizza as usual, did not disappoint.

Plus a delicious Hoegarden to accompany my pizza.  When I got home from the city, I had the delightful surprise of discovering that my cat was missing.  The windows in my sister’s room are skylights and have no screens, and Pumpkin likes to climb out onto the roof  if they are open.  Well my mom opened them on Saturday not thinking about the cat, and off she went.  I noticed that our neighbors had their sky lights open also, so I figured Pumpkin had probably crossed the roof and climbed into their house (she has done this before).  Luckily, she was there very confused and wandering around their third floor.  Silly cat.

Saturday night my sister and I hung out at home and had a few drinks, nothing too exciting, we didn’t want to feel awful for the Mother’s Day bbq at our house the next day.  The bbq was a lot of fun, I love when we have holidays at our house and I don’t have to travel.  We had tons of good food, and lots and lots of alcohol.  I made sangria and it was a huge hit!

1 lemon; 1 apple; 1 orange; 1 lime; 1 pear (all or any combination)

2 cups Capt. Morgan spiced Rum; 1/2 cup white sugar; 1/3 cup peach schnapps; 1 bottle Blackberry Merlot -chilled (I used the Arbor Mist brand but whatever you can find will work); 1 cup orange juice

Cut all fruit into pieces and put into a large pitcher.  Then add 1/2 cup sugar and 2 cups rum.  Chill for 2 hours.  Before adding the rest of the ingredients, lightly crush all fruit to release the flavors.  Then add merlot, orange juice and peach schnapps.

Look how fancy I am in my apron so that I didn’t ruin my white pants while making the Sangria.

Haha total geek.

There was so much food that I didn’t get pics of everything, but here are some of my favorites.

A roast for sandwiches

Pigs in a Blanket

Some yummy dip

And here’s a picture of me and my family on Mother’s Day.

Family

Yes, I am freakishly tall compared to my mom and sister.  I don’t know where i came from.  It was a lovely weekend filled with lots of yummy food, and fun times!  I hope you all have a great Monday, and had a nice weekend as well.

25 Responses

  1. Awwww– such a cute picture! Y’all are all so pretty!

    That pizza looks phenomenal.

  2. I got my haircut this weekend, too! Well… actually I just hacked at my bangs in a last minute effort to make them look good before I went out Saturday night… so I’ll be going to a professional to get that evened out and a trim. :p

    And yea for being taller! I learned from my cousin Joanne (who is near 6-foot) a few years ago that you just need to OWN it. Holla’…

  3. Aw girl, you’re so gorgeous!!! And aside from the height, you look SO MUCH like your mom and sister! I’m taller than my mom too and look pretty much nothing like her. Or anyone else in my family. Not sure where I came from either…
    Sounds like a fun brunch!
    That’s so crazy about your cat.. at least she wasn’t gone for good!
    That pizza looks SERIOUSLY amazing!! But really, pizza+beer+shopping+cute haircut.. what more could you ask for? Except for maybe someone to eat with haha
    Have a great Monday!

  4. what a pretty family! i often feel freakishly tall compared to others! i am 5’7” & love to wear heels so i look like a yeti.

  5. You look awesoem! love hte hair, it does look healthy.

    Height aside, I can definitely see the resemblance.

    and pigs in a blanket–so good! Yes, I like the finer things in life 🙂

  6. You ARE adorable! I wish wish I was that tall!!! Not that I am short…5″6 but you make it look so GOOD!!! haha!

  7. Turn that picture upside down, and you’ve got me looking like an oompa loompa next to my 5’4″ parents. Your hair looks awesome, too! And I love sangria. The more fruit in it, the better.

  8. Haha I love that your cat was in your neighbors house!! I probably would have freaked out if I found some random animal wandering around my place 🙂

    PS: That pizza looks awesome–good thing it’s almost lunchtime for me!

    • Haha she’s done it before, that’s the only reason I thought to look there for her. THe last time, the neighbor came over and was liek um I think this is yours?

  9. Your cat is so funny sneaking into the neighbors house!

    Im the opposite height wise. My parents and brother are all really tall. My moms like 5’8 or something, my dads 6 foot and my brother is a giant. Then theres me – Im 5’4 and I have no idea where that came from. Maybe the tall genes were all wasted on my brother.

  10. haha, i am a bit “freakishly tall” too. luckily my dad and brother are 6’3 so as long as it’s a whole family shot my 5’11 looks somewhat normal.

    looks like a delicious mothers day feast!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    • Oh wow, you’re even taller than I am! I like to embrace my height, it just looks silly when I’m standing next to my sis.

  11. Cute hair!! And you must have been freezing in that outfit, unless it was 20 degrees warmer in Yardley than it was here!!

  12. The sangria sounds like a fun make for a party! I’m going to have to remember that! That’s hilarous your cat was in your neighbor’s place. I’m sure it was a relief, but too funny!

  13. That sangria looks good. I’ve never put rum in it before. Yum.

  14. pigs in a blanket and sangria are two of my favorite things!

  15. […] what’s a bbq without a delicious summertime cocktail?  This Sangria is always a crowd pleaser with both those who like red and white wines, plus it has rum, which is […]

Leave a Reply

