• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

A general theme

As far as Monday’s go, yesterday was pretty typical.  I had physical therapy from 6-8 last night, which was exhausting as usual.  I told my PT guy that after my run on Saturday morning my knee was feeling awful all day, and that walking up the stairs was painful, so we did the ultrasound treatment again last night.  He also recommended that maybe I should schedule another doctors appointment, and maybe get some Cortisone shots.  So we’ll see about that.

I was pretty negative going into last nights appointment, and didn’t really expect to run for more than a few minutes without pain, but I did 15 and only felt the beginning twinges the last 10 seconds or so.  The one thing I’m hating about PT, is how it has the ability to dictate my mood.  A good session and I’m usually pretty happy and excited, but after a bad one I’m so depressed and feel like I’m never going to get better and that I’m not healing at all.  Very frustrating.  Yesterday was the beginning of week 7 of treatments, and there is still no end in sight :(.

There was a general theme to my meals yesterday, so I took pictures of both lunch and dinner.

A leftover piece of grilled chicken, marinated in Italian dressing, with lettuce on a whole wheat wrap.

Yummy green bean casserole

And cheesy potato casserole.  All leftover from Sunday’s Mother’s Day BBQ.  By the time I showered after PT, it was almost 8:30 and I was hungry.  Cooking wasn’t going to happen, so dinner was more leftovers, haha.

This piece of chicken was marinated in BBQ sauce, and there was an addition of pasta salad for dinner.  My mom ate the same thing, so I think that about takes care of the leftovers.  Now I don’t know what I’ll eat for the rest of the week, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

I loved Dancing With the Stars last night, everyone did so good!  I especially loved Nichole and Derek’s 50’s Paso, they are so good.  It’s getting to the point now where I’m going to be sad to see anyone go.  I think it should be either Niecy or Chad, but for some reason my girl EA was in the bottom two last week.  So who knows what will happen.

The boyfriend is supposedly coming to visit this weekend, but I won’t believe it until he is actually in my house.  Especially since he is currently in Virginia with no travel plans scheduled yet.  So uh yeah, we’ll see about that.  And because this picture cracks me up, I’m leaving ya’ll with that today.

Look how much children love me, haha.  I maintain that he was just trying to get down to crawl after the cat, and really didn’t hate being in my arms that much, but whatevs.

Happy Tuesday!! Who’s excited for LOST tonight????!!!

19 Responses

  1. What a cute picture! I am sorry about your knee! Truly. I feel like such a dope for asking this but what originally sparked the injury? You didn’t tear anything, right? Do they know exactly what the problem is. Again, so sorry I don’t know this Kelly…I am almost embarrased because I have been following your blog for so long! 😦

    • Don’t feel bad! I probably never really explained it. They say I have Illiotibial Band Syndrome, so as far as I know it’s just the IT Band. I’ve never gotten an MRI or anything and neither the docs nor the pt guys seem to think it’s necessary, but that this will just take awhile to heal.

  2. Just think that a year from now this injury will be in the past. You’ll get through it, but right now that you’re smack in the middle of it, and it seems neverending.

    Green bean casserole sounds amazing right now!

  3. Running for fifteen minutes if you were only expecting a few is great, right? I know how frustrating it must be.

    That picture is too cute 🙂 It looks like you’re playing helicopter!

    • Yes 15 min is better than no minutes! Hmm maybe i’ll go with that helicopter thing instead of him trying to get away from me 😉

  4. Ahahaha…. I think I have the same effect on children. I assume it’s because I’m so far from the nurturing phase of my life that they’re aware of it and go running… sigh.

    I love green bean casserole. I’m pretty sure it’s my favorite side dish at any BBQ. I try to convey these feelings to my mom for when I go home to visit, but it doesn’t seem to get across… Maybe I should just suck it up and make them myself. But then they don’t seem nearly as special…

    • Yeah, that’s what I’m thinking too haha they know I’m just not ready. I remember one holiday my aunt didn’t make the gbc and my sister and I were so upset that it never happened again, haha.

  5. Aw, stay strong, woman! Injuries have good days and bad days, and you’ve just got to roll with it. Bright side – at least you get to go to PT, where you get help and feedback, and are not stuck questioning things on your own.

    I am terrible with kids. Really. Last night I was at a meeting, and a little boy was squirming in the seat next to me. He dropped this cracker on the floor near me, and looked at me. I gave him the evil eye and he picked it up and ran to his mom. Mary freakin’ Poppins over here.

    • That’s true, I think if I wasn’t in PT I would have driven myself absolutely crazy by now. Haha i’m constantly giving children evil eyes. Like this little boy with a mullet in the hair salon on Saturday. Kid would not sit still, so I started at him evily until he ran away.

  6. Running 15 minutes is 15 times better than running no minutes!! 🙂
    Thats about all I can do at this point too, so Im trying to see the positive – can you tell?

    That green bean casserole sounds really good. I like anything that has casserole in the name – is it just me or are they always good?

  7. I’m on team EA also!! I love her.

  8. I had a meniscus tear in March and just had the surgery on the 30. its been 10 days now since surgery and I can’t wait to get back to full speed. Have you had your knee checked? I had a MRI and it was clear that I had a complete tear.. you should see a sprots med.

    • I haven’t had an MRI because both my doctor and my two physical therapists said it wasn’t necessary and that I just have IT band syndrome.

  9. i’m sorry that it seems like “there’s no end in sight” but you are doing the right thing by caring for your body. 🙂 when you’re healed i’m sure it’ll be the best feeling in the world.

  10. I’m so sorry you’re having to go through all of these knee problems. Hang in there. I know it must be terribly frustrating. My IT band gives me trouble too and getting really into yoga is what helped me out the most.

    All of your food looks so good, especially that chicken wrap, yum!!

  11. Awww that’s such a cute pic!!! My take on it – kids are just super wiggly 😉
    I’m so sorry about your PT struggles. I feel like mine are doing ZERO good too. I’m not sure what to think. But you’re doing GOOD girl! You’re making progress, which is the important thing!

  12. Lol, I love the last picture. Too cute. 😀

    That’s not good about your knee and I hope things start going well for you. Maybe right now you’ve just hit a PT wall but once you get past the wall, things will just speed up.

Leave a Reply

