• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Oh, we met on the Internet

Way back in the day, when it was 2009 and I was still in my early 20s, I started this blog because I was pretty damn bored living at home, and it seemed like fun. No one read for a while, but then I started getting comments, and Amy was one of the first to comment. Maybe even the first? Who can remember that far back. Anyway, it was an instant soul-mate connection and I’ve since been to Chicago three times to play, she’s come to DC, we’ve been each other’s wedding dates, and traveled to Boston together. Prior to our first IRL meeting, my then boyfriend was convinced she was a serial killer, and I’m really glad she turned out not to be… even if our story of how we met is “prison pen pals”.

I had the most fabulous time in Chicago over the weekend, despite the cold I think March is an awesome time to go because no one does St. Patty’s like Chicago. Sorry, Boston I’ve never been for your festivities but I think I’m still partial to Chi-town. Yes I’m aware the actual holiday isn’t until Monday, but the city was getting itself ready anyway. My flight arrived at noon on Friday, and Amy and I had grand plans to tackle a lake-front run together. However, I am old and brittle and after running 4 miles on Tuesday evening and 5.5 on Wednesday I was feeling a somewhat scary pain in my hip that hurt to stand, walk, and move. The run was put on hold in favor of window shopping on Michigan Ave, and we still managed to squeeze in about 9,000 steps in a few hours.

Eventually we decided it was a socially acceptable hour to have a cocktail, so up to the top of the Hancock Building we went for a $15 glass of wine with complimentary views of the city.

Since this winter has been absolute frigid, the Great Lakes are like 90% ice-covered and flying into the city over Lake Michigan looked like you were actually about to touch down in Antarctica somewhere. After our drink, we headed back to our hotel for the night (the Hyatt off Michigan Ave) where we drank more wine and got ready for dinner. I had one request food wise while in Chicago and it was deep dish. Now, I’m traditionally a New York style pizza girl, but man I do love some deep dish every once in a while.

because pizza that pretty deserves a photograph

I ate three pieces, because I am disgusting and have no self-control, but it was worth the stomach ache I had after. Predictably we were both ready for non-restricting pants and our comfy beds after this, and after traveling all morning plus the time change I had no complaints about calling it a somewhat early night.

Amy and I both early risers, so we were up and ready to go on Saturday laughably early. Like we were at Millennium Park at 9 am early. Fine by me, beat the crowds and got some fun pictures in. You should try dragging your suitcase through the city as it’s snowing, it adds some resistance training to your walk.

Chicago River

Our weekend of un-healthy living continued with a pre- St. Patrick’s Day pub crawl which involved a lot of $3 Miller Lites and fried appetizers (I’m on a serious detox right now, lol jk I had wine last night). It was a perfect weekend, and if anything just not long enough. I can’t wait to go back when it’s warm and drag Amy on the architecture tour with me.

sister wives ❤

Oh, and I arrived home in DC to sunny skies and 55 degree temperatures. Madison was kind enough to pick me up from the airport.

Workouts this week? Three miles on Monday to test out my achy hip, felt a little off still but no pain so fingers crossed it was just a strained muscle. Elliptical and core work yesterday, interval run tonight.

6 Responses

  1. I so want to eat three slices of cheesy deep dish pizza right now. Glad you lovelies had a fun weekend! ❤

  2. SO fun. I loved Chicago. And you two look adorable!

  3. 1. Love reading your blog and I’m really glad you started blogging again. 2. When I first moved to Chicago from the east coast I would always eat 3 slices. I blamed it on being from the east coast and eating multiple slices of NY/New Haven style pizza.

  4. I think it’s hilarious that we elected to call it early and change into comfies both nights says a lot about how we’re meant to be.

    Also, the mark my belt left after the pizza binge just went away… seriously…

Leave a Reply

