• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

…crickets…

Oh, hey. This is awkward. I really meant to tell you things were over instead of just disappearing for 7 months, but I  just needed some time for me. It wasn’t you, it was me, I swear. I’m back though, for now, so do you think we can be friends? Maybe with benefits?

So last I left you, it was June, and life is prettttttty much the same since then. I’ve mostly come back here, because I’m once again training for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler in April, and I want a place to keep track of it all. I’m old, and I’ll forget if I don’t write it down. If any of you have a better memory than me, you’ll recall I ran it back in 2011 right after moving to Virginia. Let’s see if I can catch you up in bullet point form. The Cliffs Notes, if you will.

  • We got a dog. She’s the best, and also the worst, but mostly the best. About 2 months after Madison arrived in our lives, my littlest fur ball love went into kidney failure and couldn’t pull out of it. I was so, so, so thankful to have a furry puppy to cuddle (and cry) with. RIP Pumpkin face.
  • Summer and fall were a blur of bachelorette parties and weddings. Literally. I went to 4 weddings in a 5 week period of time. It was awesome, and exhausting.
  • Probably the most interesting thing in my life was when I almost lost my right leg back in October, not kidding. I took a routine fall during my social sports football game and wound up with a flesh-eating bacterial infection. If you follow me on Instagram you probably saw some of the gross pictures I posted, and you probably yelled at me for them. I went through 3 rounds of antibiotics, was on crutches, and have a gnarly scar that takes up about half of my shin. I’d post some pictures, because now that I’ve gotten to keep my leg I find it fascinating, but a lot of you found it realllllly gross. So instead I’ll just link to some. You’ve been warned.
  • I took a couple trips to JMU, once in October for a football game and once two weeks ago for some basketball. That place never fails to make me happy, even when I’m hopped up on pain killers and hobbling around on crutches.

  • As previously mentioned, I’m signed up for a 10 mile race and in the beginning of training. So my legs are sore, a lot.
  • I play words with friends a lot. I might even win a game some day, but that only seems likely if I make a rule that we can only play dirty words or something. You would think someone with a journalism degree would be better at that damn game, but nope.

That’s really about it. Life is good, really good, and I’m happy. I’m going to try to attempt to keep this place less crazy, because well I’m less crazy (at the moment). I don’t know, we’ll see how this goes!

What’s new with you all?!

I probably already know, because I’m still creeping around reading blogs.

5 Responses

  1. Welcome back. Enjoyed your post. As a doc, I found your leg pictures fascinating! So glad you didn’t lose it – would’ve made the 10 miler more challenging, eh? In all seriousness, glad it worked out! That would’ve been awful if it hadn’t. All the best!

  2. Yay! Glad to see you happy!

  3. Welcome back! Glad things are going better (seemingly). And I don’t think you were every crazy, just honest about emotions some people try to hide

  4. Yay you’re back!! Not that I already don’t keep up via twitter/fb/ig, haha. I’m training for spring races, too!

  5. Wait is this 2010? You, Amy, and Jess all back at it at the same time. I like it. But as Krissie said it’s not like I don’t stalk you guys on social media already…. no shame.

Leave a Reply

