• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Ireland: Day 5

Also known as, my favorite day of vacation. We woke up to clear sunny skies, and trek up the western coast ahead of us. On the agenda? The Cliffs of Moher and a medieval feast in an actual castle. We left Killarney at 8:30 am, and headed north eventually reaching the Shannon Estuary which we had to cross on a ferry.

Western Ireland coastline

Lighthouse we passed while on the ferry

just a little windy out there on the water

Once we cross the river, it was back on the bus for more driving through County Shannon. We FINALLY made it to the Cliffs of Moher around noon and I was immediately in awe. They are legitimately the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. I took nearly 100 photos of just these alone. I’m so happy that of all days to have perfect clear weather, it was this day.

panoramic view

panoramic view

I really don't think words can do them justice

I really don’t think words can do them justice

so pretty

so pretty

sister and I trying to ignore our apparent fear of heights and plunging to our deaths

sister and I trying to ignore our apparent fear of heights and plunging to our deaths

hiking the trail

hiking the trail

death grip

death grip

the prettiest

the prettiest

I could continue to post pictures, but I think you get the idea. It was gorgeous and terrifying, especially when the giant gusts of wind would nearly knock you off your feet. After leaving the cliffs, we continued on to a town called Bunratty. Which from what I could tell, consisted of our hotel, a castle, some shopping and Durty Nelly’s. It was the cutest. We checked in and had some time to kill before dinner, so we did some shopping and then took advantage of the awesome weather with some beers outside.

Durty Nelly's!

Durty Nelly’s!

drinking a Kilkenny

drinking a Kilkenny

oh ya know, just hanging out next to a castle

oh ya know, just hanging out next to a castle

Bunratty Castle Hotel

Bunratty Castle Hotel

After our drinks it was time for our medieval feast! It was tons of fun and the food was really delicious, the wine was not, but I still drank a gallon of it. We weren’t allowed to use any utensils, so there was a lot of soup drinking and finger licking. It was interesting.

drinking our soups

drinking our soups

After dinner a bunch of people in our group ventured back over to Durty Nelly’s where I proceeded to get the drunkest I had been the entire trip. It was delightful, at the time. I met the man of my dreams and was completely embarrassing and inappropriate, but I was on vacation and tequila makes me nuttso. Oh yeah, the man of my dreams and I did tequila shots together, after I had already taken Jameson shots.

ya know what I didn't need. Jameson and tequila shots

ya know what I didn’t need. Jameson and tequila shots

Anyway, after I was finally done falling in love and repeatedly telling this guy how much he looked like Tom Hardy and how much I liked his tattoos, I drug myself to bed (we’ll say it was 2 am) and proceeded to die. When my alarm went off at 7 am the next morning I was most definitely still drunk, and would have appreciated death. Unfortunately we had to head back to Dublin, so I had to pull it together.

FYI this is what pulling it together looked like. In the hotel lobby.

FYI this is what pulling it together looked like. In the hotel lobby.

Up next, our final day in Ireland. Or as I like to call it; “The Day I Wandered Around Galway Wondering if I Could Vomit in the Street if Necessary.”

2 Responses

  1. Yeah! Durty Nelly’s! Bunratty was an awesome castle to bumble about…they also had the best vanilla latte. 😀

  2. hahahahahaha… that’s all I have to say.

    Gotta love that bar…

Leave a Reply

