• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Ireland: Days 1-2

Holy moly, the past 12 days have been absolutely insane! Amazing, but insane. I’m back in the office today for the first time since April 9, and I’m not really feeling it. I’ve been trying to think about the best way to go about recapping Ireland and my mom’s wedding and I think the best way is just a day or two at a time. There are sooooooooo many pictures, and we saw so much. Sorry if you find multiple recap posts about one vacation annoying. I just really want to do it justice so when I’m old and senile I can remember it.

Since my sister and I were flying out of Newark, NJ on Thursday evening, I made my way up to PA on Wednesday afternoon and had my mom drop me off at her apartment in Philly. Having a late flight is weird, and we kind of just sat around on Thursday waiting until it was time to go. We ended up getting to the airport like 4 hours early, so we had plenty of time to relax (drink) and hopefully make ourselves sleepy for our red-eye flight to Dublin. Unfortunately, neither my sister nor I could sleep and when we landed in Dublin at 7 am were not as well rested as we were hoping for.

Our room wasn’t ready yet when we got to our hotel, so we checked our luggage with the concierge and decided to try to make the most of our first day in Ireland. Sleep deprived or not.

In St. Stephen’s Green

bridge in Dublin constructed to look like the Harp

We made it to the Guinness factory and had some beers in the Gravity Bar at the top

After the Guinness factory tour, we rode around on an open air bus seeing some more of Dublin, before Col and I both ended up passing out. On the bus. It was then we decided we needed an early dinner and bedtime to get our sleep back on track. 17 hours later, we woke up at 11:30 am ready and raring to go for day two of exploring Dublin.

Finally look awake

 

Christ Church Cathedral

Irish Famine statues

we went to dinner and a show here. They had live Irish music and Irish Stepdancing

I personally loved the cup holders on their mic stands

Col and I at dinner

We spent two nights in Dublin, and then started our journey to the southern part of the country, but more tomorrow!

3 Responses

  1. I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland. It looks so beautiful. I can’t wait to read about the rest of your trip.

  2. Hold the phone… you slept 17 hours? How does that happen?!?!

    Oh yeah… your pics are pretty, too… lol

  3. Sooo awesome! And you two look super cute for being sleep deprived. I’d look like a raging mess! 😀

Leave a Reply

