• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

This Spring Just May Kill Me

So I mentioned it briefly a few weeks ago, but in a mere 49 days my sister and I are embarking on the trip of a lifetime to Ireland.  The two of us began tossing around the idea of a “sister trip” back in the fall, throwing out ideas like California, Chicago, etc. Then in a moment of pure brilliance on my part, I may have also been drunk, I texted her “WE SHOULD GO TO IRELAND!” Thus, an idea was born, and no offense to Cali but it just didn’t seem as exciting. For awhile we’d go back and forth, “So are we doing this? We should probably start planning…” Neither of us have ever traveled abroad before, so we had no idea where to start, and every time I tried to look online at crap I got overwhelmed and gave up. Then my sister officially had her week of vacation at work scheduled, and it was time to make some moves. Over Christmas I popped into a travel agency, grabbed some brochures about Ireland, and two weeks later our trip was booked.

Trying to decide what to see and how to see the most of Ireland in the 7 days we had was completely ridiculous, so we ended up booking a group tour through CIE Tours. All of our hotels, transportation, and majority of meals were taken care of with one click of the mouse, and we just have to make sure we’re on our bus every day. There’s no risk in me accidentally driving us off a cliff after one too many Guinness’ , or getting lost in the middle of the country somewhere, and it made my mom a shit ton more comfortable with the idea of her two children gallivanting about Ireland. This is what our Itinerary looks like:

7 Day Dublin-Dublin Tour

If ya want to read more about the itinerary and tour highlights, you can click here. Or you can just look at my planner for a brief glimpse.

photo (2)

Oh, did I mention my mom’s wedding is the day after we get home? If things go smoothly, we land at 11:35 am on the 18th and the wedding is at 5:30 pm on the 19th. Wedding prep begins at 11 am on the 19th with us all getting our hair done. I foresee a lot of Red Bull/vodka and coffee in my future for that day. Poor planning on our part? Maybe, but my mom and her fiance booked their honeymoon before their wedding (priorities right?) and pretty much had one weekend they could get married on and we only had one week we could go on vacation. Wish me luck. Oh and yeah, you’re reading that correctly. I have ANOTHER wedding the following weekend just south of Charlottesville, VA.

That, is why this spring and definitely April, just may kill me. Hold me.

 

5 Responses

  1. I’m so jealous! Ireland is one of my top travel spots. We were going to go there for our honeymoon but couldn’t commit so we settled on less excited Cali, haha.
    It will be worth the slight jet lag at the wedding 🙂

  2. *less exciting

  3. That sounds like a blast!! So glad to see you blogging and excited about life again!!

  4. That is going to be such an amazing trip. I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland. Apparently I can’t actually consider myself Irish until I’ve been there.

  5. I am excited to hear about your trip! Ireland is the next spot for my family’s big trip – you’ll have to post your advice.

Leave a Reply

