• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

I Can Still Appreciate Love

Happy Valentine’s Day Friends!

(I recently started watching LOST again from the beginning and the Penny/Desmond story line remains my favorite.) So yeah, I woke up this morning expecting to feel at least a little bitter and sad, but surprisingly I’m pretty OK. Just because I’m not in a relationship currently, doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of people in my life that I can celebrate loving on this day. Sure if I take the time to think about the fact that I spent the V-Day holiday/President’s Day weekend out in WI last year looking at houses and putting offers on houses with my ex, it fucking sucks but that’s life. Life sometimes sucks.

Instead of dwelling on what I don’t have today, I’m choosing to focus on what I do have. I have awesome friends and family, which has really been made clear to me over the last 7 months, fun trips and vacations to look forward to, and the awesome possibility of falling in love again. Despite all the malfunctioning relationships in my life, the one’s I’ve been in and the one’s I’ve seen fail, I still believe in love, and can hope that it’s out there for me again.

Despite having no significant other, I do have a lovely date planned with my roommate. We’re going for manis/pedis tonight, and maybe stopping for an adult beverage or two. I’m also currently sitting in running clothes, so I may even take advantage of the warm temps today and hit the pavement for a bit.

So single or not, I hope you all take the time today to appreciate who you have in your life to love and who loves you!

(I’ve been debating what to do about this blog lately, my URL is up for renewal soon and I can’t decide whether to keep it or not. We’ll see what happens.)

7 Responses

  1. Your outlook is so refreshing and you sound truly happy. I’ve been reading your blog for years (I don’t comment all that much, but I always follow) so I’d be reallllly sad to see you go! I hope you do what’s best for you and what makes you happy. Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

  2. Hi! I just discovered your blog yesterday when I was hopping from one random runner blog to another, and have been reading (/creepin’) on your old entries about running, and love, and all the in-between. I totally relate, in so many ways, to your experiences of love and heartbreak, and I love your writing! It’s so honest and funny, and real. It’s nice to hear that people I otherwise would probably never meet have emotional experiences so similar to my own. I think in terms of heartbreak, I’ve found two things that have made life generally so much better: 1) treating yourself really, really well–which seems to be what you’re doing. I went through the lowest of the lows of my life 2 years ago after a breakup (thought I was dying, literally….dramatic, I know, but true!) and discovering the things that you love independently of anyone else is most possible when you’re single. My music/food/hobby choices were all so much more “me” after a 4 year relationship with Poison (nickname for ex) ended. And 2) knowing, as you do, that falling in love again is the BEST THING EVER, and sooo worth looking forward to. I fell in love again a year and a half ago, and I swear, it felt like I was doing crack. Not that I’ve done crack, but if I did, I’d imagine it to feel like this.

    Ok, sorry for the long comment, but I figured I’d share my thoughts!

    Lina

    PS- I hardly ever comment on peoples’ blogs, so consider yoself special! And don’t leave the blogosphere!

  3. Love this, Kel 🙂

  4. I think it’s important to still believe in love. It’s easy to lose that, I did for awhile, and it sucks. It is out there, and it will happen. Until then, life should be all about you.
    Happy Valentines Day. 🙂

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day, sweets! I have a feeling 2013 is going to be a good year for both of us. I still believe in love, too, and am happy to let it happen when it happens. No need to rush. 🙂 Enjoy your roomie date, later!

  6. Keep the blog! I love your honest outlook on life 🙂

  7. whatever you choose…just wanted to let you know I love reading your blog! your no bs attitude and humor is refreshing!

Leave a Reply

