• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Coping

Hey everyone, wanted to check in and let ya all know I’m still alive and kicking over here.  Slowly but surely, every day I start to feel a little better, and I officially haven’t cried since Thursday.  Three days is a major accomplishment when you take into consideration that for those two weeks I was crying every day.  We still have no resolution in terms of the mortgage, and getting my name off of it, so that is just hovering in a cloud of dread over me, but hey that’s life.

Instead of sitting in my house with a straw in a wine bottle, I’ve been out doing things to keep myself occupied.  On Thursday night, my lovely sister-wife Kacy was kind enough to meet me for happy hour at the new Buffalo Wild Wings that just opening in Ballston.

Photo shamelessly stolen from Kacy

Fiver hours, and about 6 of those giant beers later, we called it a night.  I woke up on Friday morning feeling less than stellar, probably more to blame on the two glasses of wine I indulged in when I got home than the beers, but still made it through a terrible and busy work day.  I’m too old to party hard two nights in a row, so despite a post-work nap I couldn’t pull myself together for Friday night and instead spent it in my glasses on the couch watching the Opening Ceremonies.

I had some errands to run on Saturday, and actually put some effort into my appearance instead of running out in workout clothes with my hair in a ponytail.  Hey ya never know, right?

Please excuse my dirty mirror, I have since windexed it

My errands included a trip to the Apple store to see why my iPod won’t stay charged and a trip to Barnes and  Noble to see why my NOOK won’t turn on.  Come on electronics, get it together.  I am now the owner of a new (but exactly the same) iPod and a NOOK that is charged for now.  I then spent a few hours on the couch with an ice cold beer and the Olympics before cleaning up a bit to head out for a night on the town.

Saturday night was a lot of fun, despite a broken Tory Burch flip flop and blister the size of Montana.  It started out with dinner and drinks with my roommate, Adrienne, at the Green Turtle and ended at a co-workers birthday celebration at Union Jacks.  I did some dancing, a lot of drinking, and a lot of sarcastic mocking to people too drunk to realize it.  Also, it’s really funny when a 21 year-old hits on you, and then his eyes bug out of his head when you tell him you’re 27.  I thought he was literally going to fall over.  Kids.

Anyway, so that was my week/weekend.  Now to get through another week.  If people would stop getting engaged and posting it on Facebook that would be great.  I saw four engagement announcements over the weekend.  Four!  Cool it people, don’t you know I just got dumped?

11 Responses

  1. I feel like the older I get, the more “babies” hit on me when I go out. Cougars are totally in, I guess.

  2. You look SO cute!!! 🙂 (Sometimes it’s worth it to get it together for errands because it’s true, you never know. I met an actor in a grocery store once, which turned into a solid 1 and a half dates. Yep.)

    It sounds like things are on the up and up 🙂 Keep up that momentum!!

  3. Everyone is so young at real bars now. It’s depressing. That’s another reason I mainly stick to happy hours and dinner drinking.
    I had so much fun Thursday! And I love that blue shirt. So cute.

  4. I’m glad you’re starting to feel a bit better. Getting hit on by youngins never hurts either. A couple months ago, some kid from my high school thought I was my brothers YOUNGER sister. I loved him. 🙂

    Also, that blue shirt is adorable. I love it!

  5. I like that you brought the ladies out for a night on the town. No wonder the youngins’ came a-calling 🙂 RAWR!

  6. I don’t mind when the kiddos think I am as old as them. The day that stops is the day I cry. A lot. 🙂 Being 29 and mistaken for 21/22 is a huge ego boost. And you looked hella fab this weekend, miss!

  7. You look AMAZING 🙂 so happy that you are feeling better, and there is nothing wrong with getting hit on my a much younger man, I married a man 8 years younger then me and it’s the best 🙂

  8. Hottie.

  9. Glad you are getting out there and enjoying life. 🙂

  10. Glad you’re getting out and not sitting at home! I think the only way to move on is to keep living life, so good for you 🙂 btw, all the places in your pics are in my neighborhood, so hopefully Arlington will keep you distracted!

Leave a Reply

