Magic Mike… and Crafts

First up today is this, which I think pretty much speaks for itself:

Those moves! I love them, and him, and all his terrible movies, especially She’s the Man.  However, any movie in which Channing Tatum dances, automatically get’s an “A” from me.  I won’t even disclose how many times I’ve seen Step Up.  Anywho, my roommate Dani was working from her parent’s house in MD yesterday so she met me after work and we had a lovely lady date.  We started with dinner and drinks at Bonefish, dessert at 16 Handles, and then the highlight of the evening, Magic Mike.

The movie was terrible and wonderful all at the same time.  I laughed a lot, enjoyed the stripping and dancing, but could have done without the “romance” aspect of it.  So yeah, there’s not much more beyond what you see in the previews, but still enjoyable.

Alright moving on from half naked sexy dancing.  Despite the power outage over the weekend, (OUR POWER CAME BACK LAST NIGHT!) I still managed to complete the crafts I wanted to.  First on the agenda was a key rack to hang next to the door out to our garage.  I had an idea in my head of what I wanted to do, and after an hour in the craft store I had the supplies I needed.

paint, wood glue, paint brushes, hooks, pieces of wood

I didn’t know really where to start, so I figured painting the letters was the best place.  Each one got two coats of white paint, which actually was more of a pain in the ass than I thought because of their curly, cursive nature.

Next I painted the larger piece of wood that will serve as the anchor for the key hooks.  I ended up buying two colors of paint for this because I couldn’t decide between a bright green or purple.  I ended up going with the green because I thought it had a better chance of eventually matching what we do in our kitchen (since the garage door is technically in the kitchen area).

Looks dark here, but it’s really very bright

I wanted to buy cute metal hooks to screw into the wood backing, but I couldn’t find any and didn’t want to go to another store so I settled on those white plastic wall hooks and just painted them green also.  I let everything dry overnight and assembled it the next day.

I’m happy with how it turned out, and I hope Darren likes it too.  Although he claims he’ll like it because I made it.  We’ll see though, I’m sure he’ll be critical of my painting job.  Also, because the power was still out, I tackled another craft I’d seen floating around Pinterest.  Well a slightly altered version of it anyway because that original was a little too cutesy for my liking.   It was really simple too.  All I did was find the states I needed in an atlas, and make copies of them in the size I needed.  Cutting them out was probably the most tedious part.

So you’ve got where we met in PA, where I live in VA, and where our house is in WI.  I might try to make PA and VA a little bit bigger, but we’ll see.  Now I just need to box everything up and ship it out there!

So even though it’s weird that the 4th of July isn’t a long weekend this year, it will be nice to have a random Wednesday off.  Then I work from home on Thursday and just have to come back to the office for Friday.  Not too shabby. Anyone got any fun plans?

4 Responses

  1. Ah love the framed states, what a cute idea!

  2. Those look great. I especially like the framed states. I saw that on Pinterest and thought it was such a cute idea.
    Also – I really need to see Magic Mike. I don’t even care about the storyline – I will still love it.

  3. Nothing too exciting, although I don’t have to go back into the office until next Tuesday or Wednesday due to working from home, so that’s pretty fun.
    Love the crafts!

Leave a Reply

