• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

What a Nightmare

So, remember that time I said all I wanted to do all weekend was hang out in my house, in the AC watching the Olympic Trials and crafting? Ha! HA!  Well, then this happened:

I saw all the warnings floating across the TV screen, “This is a very dangerous storm”, “You will lose power”, “Seek cover now”, blah, blah, blah.  I figured, “Hey, we made through Irene without losing power, and ice storms, and snow storms, this can’t be worse than any of those.”  I heard the wind start to blow, and the lights started flickering, and then with one huge gust we were in the dark.  That was 10:30 pm on Friday night.  It’s now Monday morning, we still don’t have power.  That’s 2.5 100 degree days so far without power and AC.  Supposedly 80% of us will have it back by tomorrow. I’m keeping my fingers crossed  because our neighborhood?  Still looks like this:

Yeah, I was probably a little too close to those downed power lines, but I lived so it’s all ok.  I got about maybe an hour of sleep on Friday night because of the damn heat. Trying to find food on Saturday was a disaster because most places also had no power, and if they did have power, they were only taking cash.  If you know me at all, you know I never carry cash, so I was about 10 minutes from a heat stroke and passing out from hunger when I finally found a Corner Bakery Cafe that was accepting credit cards.  Unfortunately everyone else in the Arlington area was there as well, so it took like an hour to get a turkey sandwich.

After my third ice-cold shower of the day, I decided there was no way I’d ever be able to sleep in the house that night, so I packed a bag and headed into DC, where my bff Meghan and her husband took pity on me.  They fed me, and more importantly gave me access to power to charge my electronics and the comfort of AC.  After sleeping like a baby in the ice-cold apartment, and realizing there would still be no power on Sunday, Meghan and I made ourselves comfortable at her rooftop pool for the day.

I spent Sunday night on their couch as well, because I mean, I needed to watch the Olympic Trials to see who would make the women’s gymnastics team.  So happy with that, btw, although so sad for Nastia.  I’m doubting flat on her face is the way she wanted to go out.  Anyway, I headed back home this morning to get ready for work, and to check on Pumpkin.  She’s doing good, I think, although I’m guessing she’s pretty hot because she drank from the sink faucet for a good 5 minutes when I turned it on for her.  (Yes she also has numerous water bowls/cups lying around but she likes running water).  I also finally bit the bullet and threw out a giant garbage bag full of spoiled food.  It was so sad to just toss money away like that, but the house was starting to smell.  Sigh.

Anyway, so that was my exciting weekend, here’s to hoping we get our power back soon, because there is no relief from this heat in sight.

7 Responses

  1. Aww that’s awful! 😦 fingers crossed your power returns soon!!

  2. Holy crap! Your area got it even worse than Richmond! (Well, I got outta there before the second storm on Saturday, but Friday night was pretty ugly)

    I hope you get power back soon!

  3. I’m so sorry girl. You guys really did get hit bad. Hope it’s back on when you get home tonight!

  4. I was so pissed last year when we lost power for a day and lost pretty much the entire refrigerator of food. Not my favorite birthday…

    I’m crossing my fingers for you to come home soon to a cool and relaxing house very very soon! With this lack of rain and all that, I’m nervous for the dry and hot summer we have ahead…

  5. OMG- I would have died. That sucks about the no A/C (especially since you planned on relaxing!!). At least you got to see your BFF though!!

  6. You are such a trooper! I would have died! What abotu everything in your fridge and freezer…ruined I’m sure…how frusterating. So sorry!

  7. I hope your power is on today! Thank god for friends with pools.

Leave a Reply

