• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Decoratingggg

You guys, it’s happened.  Hell has frozen over.  For that can be the only explanation as to how my super sexy, but oh so stubborn and lover of all things plain and manly, boyfriend and I have agreed on bedroom furniture.  Don’t get me wrong,  by no means did we easily reach an agreement, but sometime around 10:30 pm last night, it happened!  Let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

You see, I have BEAUTIFUL bedroom furniture currently that I love and splurged on when I moved to VA 1.5 short years ago.  It’s this set from Pottery Barn, and you would have to pry my cold dead fingers off of it before I’d willingly give it up.

bed

dresser

Isn’t it fabulous?  Well Darren hates it.  He thinks it looks like it belongs in a beach house or something, and repeatedly tells me how stupid it was to spend that much money on furniture to put in a house I rent.  I retaliate with something cunning like “No, you’re stupid.” Sigh.  Anyway, the real problem lies in the fact that my gorgeous bed is queen sized, and Darren and I are rather large people who like our space when we sleep.  Throw in the fact that he was gifted an almost brand new king sized mattress and box spring, and we were in the market for king sized furniture.  Insert compromise here;  my furniture will be guest room furniture and I will forever be jealous of our guests.  Alright let’s be serious, any guests will most likely just my sister.

Anyway, so we started looking for nice furniture that wouldn’t break the bank since we have an entire house to furnish, and some remodeling to do.  At this point it became apparent that I am clueless when it comes to knowing how much furniture should cost, and consulted my dear friends who pointed me in the direction of Value City.  Also, a trip to Kacy’s apartment solidified that decision.  I picked out three different bedroom sets on Sunday, and yesterday Darren went to look at them in person.  We immediately nixed one of them, and were left to decide between a plain masculine looking set and a more detailed elegant one.  After much deliberation and pointing out that the one dresser would barely fit in the room, we came to an agreement.

ta da!

Paired with this bedding, that I did purchase from Pottery Barn (on sale!) and the two shade of gray paint we’ve selected (a dark for below the chair rail and a lighter for above) and I think our master is going to look awesome.

Don’t hurt my feelings and tell me it’s going to look awful, please?  And for shits and giggles, here’s the kitchen table we’re getting.  It’s bar height, and then eventually we’ll get a nice dining room set for our formal dining room.

There you have it.  One room done, and an entire house left to go.  Although, the rest won’t get done until much later, once my bank account has recovered.  Oh, and just because I think he looks really cute here :);

the paint stained clothes are another story

10 Responses

  1. love love love that bedroom furniture, value city is always a great bang for the buck! & a two tone wall with that bedding & furniture is going to look ahhh-mazing, your house is going to come together so cute!

  2. I always thing Brandon looks cute in his painty clothes, even though he would disagree. And I love all of it! So glad you narrowed it down 🙂

  3. Yay for picking out furniture!!! I’m sure it’s 10X harder finding furniture when a boy opinion is involved, haha. But I’m glad you guys agreed on some! And I love it!

  4. I love it!! And even though it was probably a giant pain in the ass, I think it’s adorable that he wanted to have a part in picking out furniture. A man that actually gets involved is pretty awesome.

  5. Shut up. I’m totally going to fight your sister for that room. Totally.

    And you know me. Testicle in the brain. I like the darker one better probably, however, I still appreciate the other one. Very under the tuscan sun and looks extremely relaxing…

  6. I think all your new furniture is FABULOUS! Can’t wait to see what else you guys get!

  7. You know, I really love that table. I really dig your taste 😉
    I adore the Pottery Barn furniture set too. I will definitely visit so I can sleep on it.

  8. I love your new bedroom furniture and the bedding! 🙂 I can’t wait to see how you decorate the rest of your house. It’s going to look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

