• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

No Good, Horrible, Very Bad Day

My vet called to let me know that Pumpkin’s blood work came back and things were not good.

She’s not in kidney failure yet, but it’s close, and we really need to do a lot to turn things around.  Pumpkin gets to go on a special kidney diet food, and I need to figure out how to get her to drink more water.  A suggestion was to mix tuna juice with water, and freeze it in cubes to give her.  I shed a few tears at my desk yesterday afternoon and then just couldn’t wait to get out of there.  We just got back from another trip to the vet where she had a urine sample taken, and the results of that will give us more of an indication of how bad her condition is.

Days like yesterday only help to point out how sucky it is to be in a LDR.  All I wanted at the end of the day was to be able to come home and stumble into a hug and be able to sob openly, but that’s not possible when your love lives 13 hours away.  Instead I settled for meeting my roommates out for half price burgers and $2 beers, and it helped to cheer me up some.

I’m working from home today so that I could take Pumpkin to the vet again, and so far she seems to like the special food.  She ate more of it than anything else I’ve tried to give her lately so I guess that’s good.  She’s only 8, and still so playful, I hope we can figure out how to get her better so she can be around for many more years.  She’s my baby!

boo boo!

9 Responses

  1. One of my cats has UTI issues and I have started feeding her this wet food that is really just shredded chicken with some other stuff. I cover it in water though so she is forced to drink the water to get the chicken.
    I hope Pumpkin gets better!

  2. I hope Pumpkin’s ok. I know how terrified I was when Lexie was having health problems. Its so scary, pets are family. Good luck at the vet today.

  3. I’m so sorry girl, that really is a bunch of terrible stuff at once. But it can only go up from there, right? I’m glad Pumpkin is liking the food, hopefully she’ll get better soon!

  4. I’m still very glad you dont’ have to operate! Pumpkin will be good as new in no time! 🙂

  5. Hang in there love! I will send good vibes to you and the Pumpkinator!

  6. Sorry that your kitty is sick. Have you ever tried a gravity pet bowl? It’s the only way my cat will drink enough water and it’s also not very expensive: http://priceforay.com/product/Petmate-Cafe-Gravity-Pet-Feeder.html

  7. I’m so sorry to hear the news about Pumpkin! I hope the vet can help you get her on a regimen that makes her feel much better. 🙂 Hope today was a better day!

  8. I’m so sorry. Poor little Pumpkin! I hope she’s feeling better soon and I hope you guys figure out something with the house.

  9. I am so sorry about the house and Miss Pumpkin! Like you, I am in a LDR, and I know that feeling of just wanting to cry and be home with that person. Hang in there, and being with girl friends are the next best thing! Pets are truly family, and I know that worry. I’ve had two Golden Retrievers, and it’s so hard to see them sick– they’re so stoic. I know Pumpkin will be ok! Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

