• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Crock Pot Barbecue Chicken

After taking a few weeks off, I decided to bring back Crock Pot Sunday’s yesterday, and Pulled Barbecue Chicken was on the menu.  I stumbled across the recipe in the February issue of Fitness Magazine and couldn’t wait to give it a shot (tried to find a link to it online, but couldn’t).

Chop a medium onion and dice 3 cloves of garlic and add them to your crock pot with 14 oz of tomato sauce.

Add 1 Tbsp of Red Pepper flakes

Add 1/3 cup of Apple Cider Vinegar and Molasses each

And 3 Tbsp of Tomato Paste

Stir everything to combine it

Season your chicken with salt and pepper before adding it to the sauce mixture.  Cover evenly with the sauce and cook on low for about 8 hours.  Once finished, remove the chicken from your crock pot, shred, return to sauce and stir.  Serve on a toasted roll with a slice of mozzarella and piece of lettuce.

So, the recipe says it makes 4 sandwiches, but that’s bs because I can see myself getting like 10 out of this.  They must make really big sandwiches at Fitness Magazine.  The sauce is sweet, and thinner than most barbecue sauces which is cool with me because that’s the kind of sauce I like anyway.  I had this for dinner last night, and have it packed to enjoy for lunch every day this week.  I predict by Friday I will be amazingly sick of BBQ chicken.

Crock Pot Barbecue Chicken
2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts
14 oz can of Tomato Sauce
3 Tbsp of Tomato Paste
1/3 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
1/3 cup Molasses
1 Tbsp Red Pepper Flakes
1 Medium Onion
3 cloves Garlic
Salt and Pepper

Chop your onion and dice the garlic, add to your crock pot with the can of sauce and tomato paste.  Add in the red pepper along with the vinegar and molasses, stir to combine.  Season the chicken with salt and pepper and add to the sauce mixture, covering evenly.  Cook on low for 8 hours.

7 Responses

  1. My man-friend would LOVE this. The good girlfriend in me is bookmarking this 😉

  2. love this, looks super easy too! And I know some people thing chicken tastes weird in the crockpot but I don’t think so at all. Plus then it’s so easy to shred.

  3. The crock pot is an amazing thing. This chicken sounds SO good.

  4. My roommate and I walked around for a while yesterday and could smell bbq. I was craving it so badly by the end of the day I went back out to whole foods to get the food bar. Solely for the reason that I wanted pulled pork as part of my dinner. BBQ is just a serious addiction of mine.

  5. Perfect! I wish I had some of that right now!

  6. That sounds great! I had my first crock pot success this weekend with pulled pork and now I’m ready for more.

  7. Hi! Thanks for this recipe! You can never have too many crock pot recipes, in my opinion. I’ve heard my friends talk about this crock pot recipe book if you’re interested: “Slow Cooker: The Best Cookbook Ever”

Leave a Reply

