• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Fun (Messes) in the Kitchen

Heyoooo!  Happy Thursday friends! I was too lazy to post yesterday, I’m on vacation after all, so today’s will probably be extra long.  First though, I have a HUGE favor to ask y’all.  My friend Molly and her fiance have entered a contest to win a lighting package for their wedding and she needs votes.  It’s super easy, just click here  click on the photo of Molly and Matt (the third one) and like the photo.  Do it.  Pretty please.

Hokay moving on.  Thanks to boredom and my mom’s awesome kitchen, I spent a lot of time cooking and baking on Monday.  First up was the delicious looking Mexican Lasagna Jess posted about twice so far.  She was tempting me to do it, my sister begged, and I complied.  You know what, it was freaking awesome.  I’m not quite sure how many people the recipe was supposed to feed, but on Monday it fed three.  I followed her recipe pretty close, except I skipped the cilantro and mixed some sour cream in with the ground turkey mixture.  Ya know, cause it needed some more calories :).

Then, because I was still bored, I tackled homemade Cinnamon Rolls.  From scratch, including the dough.  It was my first time with dough.  It was interesting.

They are nowhere near all the same size, but you can’t really tell that when topped with the cream cheese glaze and they all taste good, so whatevs.

While Monday was kind of low-key and boring, Tuesday was the complete opposite.  My sis, Dar, and myself were up and out the door running errands before noon and didn’t wrap up until almost 4 pm.  We hit the mall, Dick’s, the liquor store, the beer distributor, and a local restaurant to pick up a gift card.  We celebrated the end of the long day with dinner at our favorite BYOB, Duck Sauce.  We ate enough food to feed a large country, and ended our evening with some adult beverages with Darren’s family.  I finally managed to drag myself into bed around 1 am.

I love the holidays, but damn are they exhausting.  That’s all for today.  Peace out, and don’t forget to vote!

10 Responses

  1. Glad you liked it 🙂 And it usually only feeds 3 for us too. Meaning I eat 1 slice and Brandon eats the rest in 2 parts. In the same night. But it’s actually not a huge portion, whatevs.
    Enjoy your vacation with your lova and family!

  2. I love cinnamon rolls…I tackled them last year on Christmas morning and now Keith wants them again this year! So on second thought…what was I thinking last year?! haha!

  3. I am intimidated by homemade dough because of working with yeast. True story. You are a better woman than I…

  4. Yes!!! Thanks so much for posting the link Kel! We really appreciate it and to all of Kelly’s friends on here- please please vote! We have the lead right now but this goes until Saturday at midnight and the other couples keep sneakily gaining ground :). Thank you!!!

  5. Your cinnamon rolls look great, even despite the creepy convo we had about them. I voted!

  6. I need to make that Mexican lasagna. It looks so freaking good.

    And now I also want cinnamon rolls. Except for I’m not as inspired as you, I’ll probably ask my Grandma to make some. 🙂

  7. You just gave me a serious craving for cinnamon rolls. Damn that s*!t looks good!

  8. I’ve never been on polyvore either. I’ll have to check it out! Thanks.

  9. oh wow you big baker! The rolls & lasagna look awesome – I’ve been cooking today – it’s so oddly relaxing!

Leave a Reply

