• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Thanksgiving 2011

(Taps microphone) Ahem, is this thing on? Is anyone still out there?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.  I’d say sorry for the disappearing act since Wednesday, but I’m not.  Sometimes a real vacation means a blog vacation also, and I fully enjoyed the last 4 days in PA with my family.  I also seem to have gained about 12 lbs since Wednesday, but that’s neither here nor there.

We were set free from work at noon on Wednesday, and I immediately hit the road for home.  A little over 3.5 hours later, I was parking in front of my friend Alexis’s house for a get together with my friends from home.  A bottle of wine and half a container of buffalo chicken dip later, I rolled myself out the door and finally made it home to my mom and sister.  Well, sort of, my sister almost immediately peaced out for night before Thanksgiving bar activities, and I made mini pumpkin cheesecakes.  Well I tried to anyway, apparently I was more drunk and tired than I thought, because I lost about half of them when trying to get them out of the container the next day.

cup cake holders to cover up the damage

Actual Thanksgiving day was lovely.  I managed to drag my sister out of bed and over to the gym for a “pre stuff your face” workout, and took her through my lifting routine.  I still think she’s having trouble lifting her arms over her head.  We ran into my ex (the one who dumped me at Applebees) and that was sufficiently awkward, and it was even more fun to run into him again on Saturday!  Twice in one weekend after going more than a year, haha, perhaps Dar and I will be frequenting a different gym when we’re home next month.  Although that could be entertaining to watch…

Anyway, my sis and I dressed in our Thanksgiving best (fall themed colors) and made it to my Aunt Pat’s house by about 3 pm just as the turkey was coming out of the oven.

 Soon, it was time to feast, and feast I did.  I also brought sweatpants to put on after dinner because pencil skirts were not made for eating.  Or sitting for that matter, mostly they were made for standing and making your butt look good.

corn, stuffing, turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole and a roll I never touched

cousins at the dinner table

My sister and I were home and passing out on the couch by 9 pm, and after 12 hours of sleep, were up and ready to tackle decorating the house for Christmas.  By the end of it, my forearms looked like they had been mauled by a bear (damn fake trees) but the house looked festive!

window stickers

After our decorating duties were complete, my sister and I had a nice little movie date and went to see Breaking Dawn.  We’ve pretty much seen every Twilight movie in theaters together since they started coming out as part of her birthday celebrations, so we couldn’t break the tradition now.  We both loved it, and I called exactly how they would end the movie.  One year to go until part 2! Also, if my admitting to loving Twilight makes you hate me, I understand.  I realize the ridiculous message the books send, but I can’t help it.

Wow this is getting to be a long post, so to summarize the rest of the weekend; wine, winter white cosmos, Crazy Stupid Love (twice), wine, traffic.  The end!

I hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving weekend as well, unless you’re from Canada, then I just hope you had a lovely weekend!

10 Responses

  1. I love your sister’s dress 🙂

    You don’t need Dar getting arrested for assault so I would suggest a different gym 😉

  2. I firmly believe that since we are right by the border here, that we should get to celebrate Canadian and American Thanksgivings. Its only fair.
    I’m glad you had a good trip home. Sounds like a pretty perfect Thanksgiving. Wine, food, sweat pants. All the best things about the holiday. 🙂

  3. Nice effort on the pencil skirt, you looked fab, even if the skirt only lasted a short while. I wore a maxi dress to the first one and immediately came home and switched to jeggings/aka dressed-up sweatpants, because really, who am I trying to kid.
    Hope your monday isn’t too evil…

  4. That’s a great picture of you and your sis!

  5. I missed you!
    Nevertheless, it sounds like a fantastic Thanksgiving and I, as well, feel like a cow now. BUT, it was so worth it. I also participated in night before Thanksgiving bar activities and THAT is a tradition that must be repeated.
    I also love Twilight! I haven’t seen the movie yet 😦

  6. Damn, you are working that pencil skirt. Excuse me while I go tell myself how disgusting I am for the next hour…
    Glad you had a good Thanksgiving!

  7. Love your outfit! Glad you had a good Thanksgiving with the fam!

  8. Pretty sure I’ll have to enlist your or your sister as a stylist one of these days. I’m hopeless.

    I’m also not ready to step on a scale to face the Thanksgiving music. Nope. Can’t make me.

  9. I gained at least 10. At least you did a workout before hand – I took off entirely.

    I called the end of BD too; such an obvious place to stop it. The movie was painful to start but did get actually decent.

  10. You looked smokin! That pencil skirt is awesome!

Leave a Reply

