• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

My Favorite Time of the Year

One of the very few times I miss high school, and Catholic school in general, is the day after Halloween.  It being a holy day of obligation and all, we ALWAYS had it off from school.  Well, unless you were the “brother” school down the street from my school.  They had the day off taken away from them because too many were caught drinking, suckers.  Anyway, it meant you could go out trick or treating, have sleepovers with your friends, and watch scary movies well into the wee hours of the morning without worrying about waking up the next day.  It was great.  We should bring that day off into the adult world, I am still Catholic after all, even if I haven’t been to church in a while.

So, happy first day of November!  I suppose that means it’s officially the holiday season, although Starbucks did roll out their holiday cups over the weekend and that is my real basis of things.  Just kidding.  Sort of.  No gingerbread syrup yet though.  Gingerbread lattes ruled my life last year, so good.  Don’t tell me calorie count, I don’t want to know.

The trick or treaters last night were adorable and aggressive, and we ran out of candy before we ran out of kids to give it to.  I felt bad turning off the porch lights, blowing out the candles in the pumpkins and hiding inside, who knew three giant bags wouldn’t be enough.  My favorite was when the kids would just pull open our door without knocking and scream “TRICK OR TREAT” at us, haha.  I think they wanted to come inside and hang out.  Favorite costumes were a little baby dressed as a unicorn and the kid dressed as poop.  Well done kid, well done.  I’m actually kind of glad all our candy went, because now there are no leftovers for me to hoard and make my thighs fat.  39 days until vacation after all.

I hope you all had a lovely Halloween filled with cute trick or treaters and fun costumes.  Time to start saving up for holiday shopping!

 

8 Responses

  1. Haha, poop costume. That is awesome. I bet that kid does great with the ladies.
    Ugh, Christmas shopping. I’m so not ready. But I love me some holiday cups at Starbucks.

  2. I missed the trick or treaters because I was at school. So disappointing, they’re the best part.
    Ummm . . . and a kid actually dressed as poop? How does someone come up with that?

  3. I love the holiday cups at Starbucks! I’m glad to hear they are back. I never had the gingerbread syrup from there. I’m going to have to try it. 🙂

    Sadly, we had no trick or treaters again this year! What is it with our area? It sucks!

  4. I always bitch about not getting off work on holy days of obligation. Granted I too no longer regularly attend mass (I think the last time I went was my little brother’s wedding 2 years ago…) but still. God wants us to, rest people!!

  5. I didn’t get any trick or treaters again 😦 Now we have 5 pounds of candy sitting on our counter. Not cool.

    Wish I could have seen the poop. Did you get a picture? That would be awesome.

  6. I was sort of happy not having to worry about buying candy (and eating it) this year. We’re in a coach house, so we’re sorta hidden from the main drag. It was nice and I didn’t feel guilty about it… lol

  7. Halloween was so fun last night. I live in a really kid friendly neighborhood and most of my neighbors just sit in their driveways to hand out candy. We always have a blast. (I live in a cul-de-sac and we pretty much all know one another business and pop in and our of each other’s houses…it is like a classy version of Desperate Housewives…haha) My favorite costume was this little kid dressed up as a trashcan. It was awesome. I had honestly thought last night would have been super hard for me (in light of recent events) but it wasn’t. I coudln’t help but to smile at all the kids. It was really a fun night.

  8. I only went to catholic school for 4 years, but still I bitch about not getting holy days off. Although I heard that Philly catholic schools don’t give off any more – can you imagine? Regardless…. at least I got Jewish holidays back.

Leave a Reply

