• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

So. Damn. Good.

Holler friends!  It’s been a while since this happened around these parts, but today I have a new (well to me) recipe for ya’ll!  I know I’ve mentioned this a few times before, but lately I’ve made some dietary changes; for no other reason than I wanted to see if it would help me drop some weight.

Here’s the dealio, Monday through Friday I pretty much eat the exact same thing for breakfast and lunch.  Breakfast is an egg bake with bacon, peppers, and onions, and for 4 days of breakfast I use 8 eggs and 8 pieces of bacon.  During my weekly grocery shopping trip, I purchase one rotissiere chicken which I pull apart once cooled and throw on my boring salad of spinach, cucumber, and mixed bag of lettuce for lunch.  Along with my salad I eat a piece of fruit, now it’s an apple, prior to this a peach.

Dinner is what’s been the struggle for me.  Despite my Irish heritage, I am a huge fan of Italian food.  Cooking it, eating it, smelling it, etc, so trying to eliminate carbs and dairy from dinner time has been interesting.  I’m also not a huge fan of red meat not in the form of ground beef, and would rather starve than eat a piece of fish… so there’s that.  That’s why there’s been a lot of meatloaf, stuffed peppers, and shepherds pie lately.

Last night, I ventured out of my ground beef/turkey rut and cooked an absolutely amazing dinner involving chicken sausages, onions, and peppers.  I initially found this recipe online, glanced at it to get an approximate idea and went to town in my kitchen.  I used a package of Al Fresco Sweet Italian Chicken Sausages, and I’m a big fan.

brown the sausages on all sides in a pan with a little bit of olive oil

While the sausages are browning, chop your onion, garlic, and peppers

Once the sausages have browned on all sides, remove them from the pan, add some butter and swirl it around to make it melt.

I think heaven will smell like melted butter

Toss in your onions and garlic and let them cook for 2-3 minutes

Add all your peppers and some wine, season with oregano and basil

So the original recipe called for 1/4 cup of white wine, but I have transitioned to the fall/winter staple of red wine so that was all I had in the house.  It works JUST fine.

Slice up your sausages while everything in the pan cooks together

Side note, if you plan on serving this on a bun or with some crusty bread, there’s no need to slice that shit up.  I ate it in a bowl, so it was easier this way.

Bam, back all in the pan together

Cover and cook like this on low for about 15 minutes.  Pour yourself a glass of the wine you were cooking with, because you should never cook with wine without having a glass.  Anxiously watch the timer count down, and then stuff your face!

Yo, seriously, so effing good. I had to keep myself to just one bowl because this needs to be dinner for the rest of the week also.  You can bet this dish has officially made its rotation into my new, boring diet.  Maybe next time I’ll cut out the butter, that kind of defeats the purpose.

In terms of the goal of dropping some weight… I think it’s working.  I’ve definitely noticed some more muscle definition in my arms and stomach, and my face looks less puffy on any given day.  Granted, I do give myself permission to eat whatever I want on the weekends, be it cheese or carbs so that is probably detrimental, but I like the changes I think I’ve seen.  Although, it could all just be in my mind.

Chicken Sausage, Onions, and Peppers
1 package of Chicken Sausage (4)
1/2 of a large Yellow Onion
1 Green Bell Pepper
1.5 Red Bell Peppers
3 Cloves of Garlic
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Oregano
Basil
1/4 cup of wine

Heat the olive oil in a large pan, and brown your sausages on all sides.  While the sausages are browning, prepare your onion and peppers by slicing them into thin strips; dice your garlic.  Once brown, remove the sausages from the heat and set aside.  Add the butter to the pan, and swirl it around to melt it and coat the bottom.  Add the onion and garlic to the melted butter and cook for 2-3 minutes; add the peppers.  Once all of the vegetables are in the pan, season with basil and oregano and add your wine.  Cook until all the vegetables are tender.  Return the sausages to the pan (sliced or whole) turn the heat to low, and cover and simmer for 15 minutes.  Serve!

11 Responses

  1. I always forget about how easy & delicious sausage and peppers are. And adding wine just took it up a notch.
    I think I’m going to follow suit and make the egg-bake thing this weekend for my breakfasts next week. PB toast is getting old and I really need to cut back on carbs these days. Soup is my go to for lunch though, especially in the colder months.

  2. I think you just inspired me to revisit my obsession with Trader Joe chicken sausage.

    Sometimes (not recently for some reason, but whatev) I go for a wrap of just seasoned peppers. So freakin’ good.

    Nicely done!

  3. I need to start doing something like this. Namely the salads for lunch. When I finally have time to grocery shop, I’m doing it.
    Also, I’m obsessed with chicken sausages. They’re so versatile and good.

  4. I’ve been in love with chicken sausage as of lately. This looks delicious! I’m going to have to try it for sure 🙂

  5. I’m a fan of turkey sausage, but rarely find chicken sausage at my grocery store. Looks amazing! I’ll have to try that once I find some chicken sausage.

  6. This looks SO good. I love chicken sausage – its just good.

  7. This sounds amazing!!! I love the Al Fresca chicken sausages! I seriously think I am going to make this tonight if I can motivate myself to stop at the store…if not then for sure in the very near future!!

  8. I eat the same thing for breakfast and lunch every day too. It gets a little old, but it beats standing in the kitchen every day staring at the pantry while running late for work.

  9. […] Time of the YearAll About ITB SyndromeHappy Halloween! AboutHalloween FlashbackMy StoryMy Love StorySo. Damn. Good. Pass the Vodka and Hand me a StrawThe […]

  10. […] week at the store, so that’s what was on the menu.  I made it the exact same way as I posted here, except I kept the chicken sausages whole and ate a nice crusty sandwich. […]

Leave a Reply

