• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Phew!

Thanks for all the compliments regarding my new blog header and my wedding outfit!  One of the best things about living with two other ladies, is your wardrobe doubles in size.  At any given time you can most likely find me wearing something belonging to either Danielle or Adrienne, and that wedding was no exception.  That dress is Dani’s, so a big thanks to her for letting me borrow it!

My weekend in PA was exhausting to say the least.  I felt like I barely sat down, and was constantly in my car.  After arriving home on Thursday night, after a 4 hour drive, I collapsed on the couch with a glass of wine and some pizza.  My sister and I hung out watching TV, drinking our wine, and relaxing.  Friday I was up relatively early, grabbed some coffee, went to the Hallmark store, and then was off to the hair salon to get my hair done.  I was dressed and ready to leave for my friend Michelle’s wedding by 3:45, and made it out the door and to the church with about 4 minutes to spare.

From church, to hotel, to reception, was pretty go, go, go, so by the time I arrived at cocktail hour at 7 I was more than ready for a drink and some food.  Luckily, Michelle is Italian and knows how to throw a party so I filled a plate up at the pasta station and camped out at a table with that and a glass of wine.  Butlered hors d’oeuvres are pretty nice too, then I only have to worry about going to the bar.

The wedding was awesome, and once dinner was finished I spent all evening on the dance floor.  When I woke up the next morning my feet were still swollen and walking was painful.  I suppose that’s what I get for keeping my 4.5 inch heels on all night in an effort to not look like a drunken mess.  I pulled myself together on Saturday morning, and left the hotel to go meet up with my mom for some shopping.  My sister’s birthday is next month and we were on a mission to buy her some things on her list.

Neither my mom nor I can avoid a good shoe sale, so when we noticed the one going on at Lord and Taylor we couldn’t help but stop.  I ended up with a fabulous pair of riding boots that fit the exact bill of what I was searching for this year, and way under what I was expecting to have to spend.

Aren’t they awesome?  They ended up being like 25% off, and I am itching for it to get cool again so I can wear them.  We also accomplished our main goal and purchased a present for my sister.  It’s currently in my possession so my mom wasn’t tempted to give it to her early.  Now I’m tempted to steal it.

I hustled home from shopping, pulled a quick outfit change, and hopped back in the car to head out to Conshohoken for a dinner date with my college roommate from Senior year and bff Jill.  She moved out of DC about one minute after I moved down last year, and the last time I saw her was her “goodbye” happy hour.  Not cool.  We had a delicious dinner at Pepperoncini before heading back to her new apartment to continue the evening.  Two bottles of wine, and one vodka and tonic later,  I realized I was not driving back to Yardley, and got comfortable for the night.  It was great getting to hang out with Jill and her boyfriend again.  We have plans to get together again when I’m home in December, and I can’t wait!

Sunday I hit the road back to VA around 2:30 and was home settled on my couch with food by 6 pm.  No traffic, just how I like it.  The weekend was exhausting, cost me a shitload in gas, wedding gifts, and dining out, but so worth it even if I did have to charge my groceries and gas yesterday, and even if I was so tired I very nearly filled my car up with diesel.  Thank god they make sure the pumps don’t fit in regular gas tanks, that’s all I have to say about that.

Happy Tuesday everyone, try not to hate it.

9 Responses

  1. Sounds like an exhausting weekend. I feel ya. I’m still not back to normal yet. Hoping one more night of sleep will do it.
    Love the boots!

  2. Sigh… I wish I could wear more of my roommate’s stuff. But when she’s like a size 2, there’s only so much I can squeeze into without looking like a stuffed sausage.

    I am packing flats this weekend for later on at the wedding reception. I don’t care what anyone thinks- if I’m really going to be spending the night out on the dance floor, it’s necessary!

  3. Love the boots! Sounds like a good weekend, but definitely exhausting.

  4. I’ve been to Pepperoncini. They have some delicious stuff, but the weekday waitress they had for a while was… weird. I think she’s gone now, though.

  5. excellent find on the boots! Love them.
    My feet are finally back to normal after last weekend’s dance-athon in AC. I could hardly walk the next day.
    We should start a new trend that like, only losers go dancing in heels… It will totally catch on…

  6. Sounds like a fun weekend! 🙂 Those boots are really cute! I totally need to go shopping for some new boots. Mine are not cutting it.

  7. Sounds like a great weekend. I totally remember in college always having 2 other wardrobes to shop it…totally awesome. Someone now if I wear Keith’s sweatshirts it doesn’t have that same oh la la effect.

  8. I do the same thing at weddings- I need to stop wearing shoes that are pretty and wear shoes that are functional. Of course, that would probably seal my fate as an old lady a little prematurely. Love the dress you wore!

  9. “so as to not look like a drunken mess…” funny, that’s why I take my shoes OFF, ha.

Leave a Reply

