• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

In Which, I Put Everything off Until Monday Night

In an effort to save money and be relatively health conscious, I bring a giant bag of food to work every week.  This bag of food typically includes, breakfast, snacks, and lunch all prepared at home and ready to eat throughout the work week.  This means I spend a substantial amount of time in my kitchen doing food prep at the beginning of the week.  That night was last night.  So for fun, here’s a list of things I should do on Sunday, but never get to until Monday.

  1. Decide what I want to eat for dinner every night that week.  Lately this is alternating between stuffed peppers, shepherds pie, and meatloaf.  I decided on meatloaf for this week.
  2. Make a mental grocery list, and think about what main ingredients I might be missing for the dinner I decided upon.  This week, a can of tomato soup.
  3. Head to the grocery store after work and stock up on the usual things:
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Peaches or Apples
  • R0tissiere Chicken (last night they had just a breast available, score!)
  • Ground Beef or Turkey
  • Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Coffee Creamer (side note, Pumpkin Spice creamer is way better than Starbs PSL, and cheaper)
  • Frozen veggie
  1. Go home, unpack, make dinner. Luckily last night, throwing the meatloaf together was relatively quick and I had it in the oven in about 15 minutes.  While it cooked away for the next hour I prepared the rest of my food.
  2. Chopped up onion and peppers for the egg bake, saute.  Cut up 8 pieces of bacon, scrambled 8 eggs (10 if eating for all 5 days).
  3. Once everything was cooked (peppers,onion, bacon) I transferred it all to a large casserole dish and put it in the oven once the meatloaf was done.
  4. Ground coffee beans to make a giant pitcher of iced coffee for the week.
  5. Tore apart the Rotisierre Chicken breast and put the pieces into Tupperware.
  6. Microwaved some frozen green beans to go with my meatloaf.
  7. Ate dinner at 8 pm exhausted and sweaty.

So, now I’m set for the week, although this typically means I’m coffeeless and mealless on Monday’s at work.  Thankfully I had a lunchtime meeting yesterday where food was provided.  I really need to work on getting my act together and having all this done on Sundays.  I feel as though the beginning of my week would feel much less stressful.  Maybe someday.

I watched Fox’s new show, Terra Nova, while eating last night and I *think* I like it?  I definitely sat there easily enough for two hours watching.  Maybe it will fill the void LOST ending left in my TV schedule.  We’ll see.  Anywho, happy Tuesday.  What does your food prep for a week look like?

 

15 Responses

  1. I like to make a bigger recipe on Sunday that can make for quick dinners and I do a grocery trip either Sunday or Monday night to get lunch stuff, snacks, etc. I’m not nearly as organized as you though!

  2. I’m impressed. I never prep my breakfasts or lunches for work on Sundays. I usually throw it together the night before everyday. I would really like to get everything prepped on Sunday. It would probably give me more variety in the items I’m eating for breakfast and lunch. Also, it would make getting dinner together during the week a lot quicker. I need to plan ahead.

  3. Wow, that’s a lot of work. I just pack my lunches daily, I’m way too lazy to put in that amount of effort, actually, some nights just making one lunch seems like the hardest job ever. I do sometimes bake muffins or bars of some sort to bring as snacks all week, so that’s something I guess. 🙂

  4. Hi! Long-time reader here. I love your matter-of-fact writing style and thought I’d finally comment. I really like reading how other people prep for the week. I more so do day-by-day prep though. I just make sure that each night, I make my lunch and breakfast and snacks for the next day and have them all set out and ready to go. The only weekly thing I do is make sure all the components of my meals (aka groceries) are stocked in the house for me to use each day.

  5. Especially in fall I like to make 2 different big pots of soup on sundays while I watch football and eat them for lunch all week. Otherwise I usually make dinner each night depending on what we feel like eating.
    Sweet score on the breast, I love when Giant has them. More meat, less work, TWSS.

  6. That’s sort of how I am after traveling weeks. Luckily, I usually have *something* in the freezer to grab for lunch on Mondays. Whether it be a lean cuisine or frozen chili/soup I had made at some point. The lean cuisine is never ideal, though, because it usually means a cookie attack or something similar will be going down by early afternoon.

  7. Hi, I found you over at Kelly’s blog. LOVE your blog, now marked as a favorite. I do the same thing…procrastinate on Sunday (reading trashy romance novels) and cramming it all in on Mondays. 🙂

  8. Your pre-planning organizational skills astound me! I need to do more of this. I’m such a grab-and-go person these days and it’s totally having a negative effect of my wallet and my waisteline.

    Darn! I’m mad I missed “Terra Nova” – I was planning to watch it. There’s been a huge void in my life since the departure of “Lost” as well…Though I saw no one nearly as good looking as Matthew Fox in the previews.

  9. I always just make my lunch/breakfast the night before. Im bad with dinners..if I dont cook on Sunday then i tend to eat omlettes and pasta all week

  10. I make a big batch of something for lunches every week. Sometimes soup, but this week it was chicken salad. Delicious. Gonna stick with this for a while! It makes the week so much easier.

  11. How long do you cook that breakfast casserole? Are you really scrambling the eggs ahead of time before the oven?

Leave a Reply

