• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Sucker Punched

So yesterday I broke down in tears in the car dealership after being told I’d need to shell out $1600 for new brakes, and $210 for a new tire.  Talk about feeling like you got punched in the gut.  At least I had my credit card all paid off before putting $1740 on it yesterday, right?  Sigh.  Also, when I text you telling you I just cried in the car dealership, that’s probably not the time to yell at me for not getting a second opinion.  Dear.

Prior to my emotional breakdown and forking over all of my money, my weekend was going pretty well.  Friday morning in our monthly department meeting I received an award thanking me for my work on a project that went out earlier this year.  An award in the form of an American Express gift card.  I don’t think I need to tell you how thrilled I was that I could now justify purchasing some new fall/winter clothes.  I stopped at the mall on the way home from work and did some damage in J. Crew and Nine West.

J. Crew skinny jeans, toothpick cords in champagne, Besty sweater in Decadent Red (not that maroon color), red and grey striped sweater.  Black leather booties courtesy of Nine West (couldn’t find them on the website).  I love everything, I just need to get the waist of the jeans taken in some, since my large thighs require a larger size pant.  Thanks work for helping me replenish my wardrobe!

After I stopped being depressed about my car yesterday, the roommates and I all went over to a friend’s house to help celebrate some September birthdays.  We grilled, drank some booze, and played with puppies, including an 11 week old bulldog.  So adorable.  I was home by 10:30 and ready to go to bed.

Today is football Sunday, wooo, and a big game between my Eagles and the Giants at 1 pm.  It’s also an important week for my fantasy team, because I don’t want to start out 1-2.  I’m currently waiting around for the roommates to get up and enjoy the bacon and eggs I made and tell me how the rest of their nights went.  Happy Sunday!

10 Responses

  1. oh no – I hate that. Car trouble/costs are just miserable. 😦 I’m glad that, with the exception of it, you had fun with friends and football to look forward to!

  2. Eep. What kind of car do you have? Mine has been kind of a money pit but 1600 for new brakes is highway robbery!

    I like the sweaters though I agree with the twitterati, you don’t look like you’re wearing pants. (Iolz) You also look super skinny so…there is that, yes?

    • I have a 3 series BMW, which I never should have bought, damn that expensive German crap, but I love it. I need to stop going to the dealership. I think J Crew has magic mirrors that make you think thin, because that is not what I look like in real life haha.

  3. Ouch. I had to replace the brakes in my old car and it cost $900 – I was probably 19 and had $50 to my name. It sucks. I totally feel your pain.
    I do love those booties though. They’re adorable.

  4. Yikes! So I guess it wasn’t just low air. At least you got it fixed before your tire fell off or something!

  5. I’m sorry about the car! 😦 I definitely how it feels to shell out a ton of money on a car. At least you like your car though. That’s a good thing. I hope you’re weekend got better!

    Love those booties!

  6. Oh you found some booties! I want them! And I like the toothpick pants, I’m going to have to check them out!

  7. Girl I hear you, I have spent almost $2K on my car over the last 2 months and it’s a Ford- aren’t American made supposed to be cheaper to fix?? Grr.

Leave a Reply

