• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Socially Awkward

Happy Labor Day all! I hope you are taking advantage by at least sleeping in this morning.  I slept in until 10 and it was glorious.  The weekend weather, however?  Not so much.  Sadly, the only thing I’ve done this holiday weekend was on Friday night when I went out for dinner and drinks with some of my lady friends.  Lame, I know.  Ya’ll, I am in a socializing funk.

Here’s my problem right now.  I enjoy going out, for a little while.  I don’t enjoy going out until 1:30-2 in the morning, and I don’t really care about meeting new people.  Maybe that sounds weird, but I don’t care.  I feel like I have enough friends in the area, I’m not going to be here for that many more years, and I don’t feel like putting forth the effort to make new friends.  The roommates are the opposite, they’ll stay out until bars close, and lately have been hanging out with people I don’t know and don’t really feel like getting to know.

I hate going out, spending money at a bar, to then have to spend money on a cab to come home alone.  So instead, lately, I’ve just been staying home, and well it’s getting kind of depressing.  So yeah, I don’t know what to do, but sitting home on my couch on Saturday and Sunday night this weekend was not really what I wanted to do, but whatever.

Anyway, Friday night the roommates and I drove down to Alexandria to meet another friend at Il Porto on King Street.  It was a really cute Italian place, and the food was amazing.  I ordered the Manicotti alla Fiorentina which was stuffed with spinach and ricotta and served with tomato sauce.  When the plate came out, the portion size was perfect and not too big, which is unusual for an Italian restaurant.  I cleaned my plate and was perfectly full.

The four of us enjoyed a nice long dinner, two bottle of wine (plus three glasses), before heading back to Clarendon to continue our evening.  I had two more beers at Whitlows before calling it a night and hitching a ride home with a friend when she left.  The roommates stayed out until last call and came home together sometime after that.

I hope you all had a much more fabulous weekend than I did, maybe today I’ll venture out and do something.  Although, for some reason the urge to clean my room is pretty strong today, so we’ll see what happens.  Happy Labor Day!

12 Responses

  1. I am the exact same way, which is why I struggled with the same issues in college. My roommates wanted to go out and party every night/weekend and I had a boyfriend at home so I wasn’t really into it. Plus most nights I’d rather watch Sex & the City and drink wine and chill anyways. It created a weird sense of ostracism between all of us, mostly on their end bc they took it personally that I didn’t want to go out all the time and started kind of rubbing it in my face. You gotta do you though, and try not to take it personally. Hang in there girl 😉

  2. I hear you, I’ve been like that for years now, and thank GOD my friends are getting to that same homebody place. I like going out – like, once a month, tops. Otherwise everyone seems content to just hang at someone’s house in sweats and gossip about people we used to be friends with.

    If you still lived close we could have had a SOA marathon this weekend, and that would have been just fab by me! (I finished season 3…..email me when you do!)

  3. I hate staying out late. I like going to happy hour and being home before midnight. I get grumpy if I have to stay out any later than that.

  4. Awwww…you’re turning into an adult 😉

  5. I would far rather stay home most of the time too, and staying out late doesn’t interest me. I feel like I already did that, and now I’d rather people just leave me alone.

  6. I totally know what you mean. I would rather stay home than stay out late. It seems like as soon as 11pm rolls around I’m ready for bed anyway. I feel old. Haha.

  7. I had the scariest weekend of my life.

  8. I go through phases like that. I am a total homebody for like a month, and then BAM- I’m out every night of the weekend.

    But I’m with you on the late night thing. No good decisions are made if you’re out past 1:30 or 2. None whatsoever.

  9. I feel the exact same way about going out.. Im not trying to hook up w anyone or meet everyone at the bar so why do I need to stay past 1?

  10. You can NEVER have too much wine! I slept in yesterday and it was glorious!

  11. I completely understand! Spending money on booze for hours upon hours on Sat night only to hate myself the next morning just isn’t my idea of a good time. And after you spend all that money on booze & cabs, what do you have to show for it? A giant effing hangover. Not worth it.

    Amy said it well: “No good decisions are made if you’re out past 1:30 or 2. None whatsoever.” NONE!!

  12. I totally get it. I love just drinking wine and chilling on my couch on weekend nights. And I feel for you having your bf far away because a lot of times I feel like my boyfriend is the only one who wants to do chill stuff with me. A lot of my friends are still into parying and it’s kind of made us gro apart. I do like meeting new people but not at bars, I feel like that’s so fake. I’d rather meet new peeps at the yoga studio or new running buddies.

Leave a Reply

