• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

The League

So, I’ll admit, I was pretty excited to flip my calendar over to September this morning.  That could have more to do with my love of a fresh new clean month of the calendar to look at than the fact that it’s September though.  Yup, one of my favorite things to do is colorfully add weekend plans to the month as they come up.  I’m a freak.

Despite the still 80 and 90 degree days, September means the start of fall, and with talks of winery trips, zoo visits, joining of a flag football team, and actual football starting I am a happy girl. The beginning of football season is nearly upon us, and last night my house was the location of a yearly tradition I first became a part of back in 2008.  The Fantasy Football Draft!  This was the scene in my living room at 8 pm last night:

geeks with computers

There were two more of us out of view sitting at the table in the corner.  This was the first year I was able to participate in the “live” draft, since for all the previous ones I was alone in PA.  It’s much more fun with other people around.  The draft started at 8:30 and things wrapped up about 2 hours later.  I think I’m happy with my team, but only time will tell!  Somewhat related, I am sporting a wine headache today.  Ugh.

Moving on to things that don’t involve drinking a whole bottle of wine and baked potato flavored potato chips.  Yesterday I managed to squeak out 45 minutes on the elliptical during lunch, and have I mentioned my abs are still sore from Monday?  Well, they are.  Uh today’s plan was to run, but aforementioned wine headache may derail those plans.  Woof.

Anyway, the last official weekend of summer is almost here, and I have no plans, haha.  What a loser.  So tell me what you guys are up to, anyone got anything good going on?  I’m just hoping to get out of here a little early tomorrow and maybe hit the pool one last time.

 

9 Responses

  1. Woo hoo…yay for fantasty football!

  2. August went by too fast. I’m not ready for it to be September yet.

  3. I like to be alone when I draft bc I get super stressed out! Everyone else participates in the whole “chat room” thing to talk shit and the last time I did that I almost missed my turn. I should probably chill out, but there are all sorts of things on the line here, most importantly me winning.
    Good luck with your season!

  4. I can’t believe summer is over. I’m sad, it’s my favorite. But I’m definitely excited about football and fun Fall plans!
    I’m going home this weekend, pretty excited about it!

  5. I’m just not into the fantasy leagues… I think I’d lose interest half way through. (TWSS)

    My, um, male friend is coming tomorrow. Weeee!

  6. Scott and I just drafted at our place since all of us in the two leagues we are in don’t live near each other. I enjoy fantasy drafts though, especially when people do dumb things (my 2nd league was full of stupid picks). 🙂

  7. Kacy’s coming home to Okie-land this weekend and she’s going to sprout me rainbows and butterflies out of her ass to make me happy!!

  8. We had our draft last week. I’m okay with my picks. I have Ochocinco AND Tom Brady. Yeah, my team is gonna rock.

  9. I don’t have the patience for fantasy, plus I could see it overtaking my life, so I shy away! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

