• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Crushed Dreams

You know those people who get dressed up for work on a daily basis, do their hair and makeup, and well just generally look presentable?  Yeah, I’m not one of them.  In the summer, it’s even worse.  At least 3 out of 5 days of the week I wear flip flops to work, and I don’t even think that’s technically allowed, not that anyone’s ever said anything to me.  I never have makeup on, and my hair is always in a ponytail, unless I happened to sleep on it wet and my curls somehow dry themselves into something that doesn’t resemble a rat’s nest.  Let’s not forget that I work out at lunch and shower… that wet hair typically is piled into a bun on the top of my head.  If any of my co-workers saw me outside of the office, I doubt they’d recognize me.

This morning however, I realize I only have a short amount of time left to wear my favorite summer dresses and wedge heels.  And the hair, actually dried itself in a presentable manner.  Probably for the last time this year, I’m wearing my favorite coral and white J. Crew dress and wedges that I’ll refuse to put away until the first frost. I’m still not wearing any makeup, but I’m definitely more presentable than usual.  Go me.

My day of meetings went well yesterday, and helped Tuesday go by quickly.  My afternoon workout wasn’t too shabby either.  After three months of using the treadmills here at work, I finally realized you can customize the “walk” “jog” and “run” speeds on the machine to make it easier when doing intervals.  I took advantage of that yesterday during my warm-up and did 1.5 miles alternating between 6.5 and 7.5.  I followed the run up with a full body weights workout.

So yesterday I worked myself all into a tizzy and super cranky mood, because I found plane tickets from Milwaukee to DC for this weekend for $211, non-stop.  That’s a fantastic deal, if you ask me, especially when you consider that I extended the offer to split the price.  I texted Darren the information, and he said “still that cheap, huh?  Nice.”  I was like, yeah you really should come! October 20 is soooo far away.  He’s all, nah I can’t I already scheduled work for this weekend.  Then I’m all, well you’re the boss, reschedule!  He shot me down, I was annoyed.  I still haven’t decided if I was unreasonably annoyed or not.

Last night he called and said the work he had scheduled on Thursday got cancelled, and so he could move Sunday’s up, and maybe make it for the weekend.  Then he was like, but don’t get excited, because I looked at the flights and tried to figure out how to make it work, and it would just be too difficult.  Major sad face on my part. Sigh.  That’s twice now I’ve gotten excited about the prospect of a visit only to have my dreams crushed. (Slight exaggeration).  I guess I’ll just continue my 50 day countdown.

 

 

11 Responses

  1. I get overly excited about any trips my friends make. Because, inevitably, something will go wrong.

    My friend Adam has already rescheduled his visit to see all of us college kids twice now. I’m really hoping his set date for next week sticks.

    But to be fair, I’ve had to drop scheduled trips, too. Damnit…

  2. I start off the work day with the best intentions (and honestly if I don’t wear makeup I feel like I could be a contestant on the Swan- if you remember that show) but by the end of the day I’m a hot mess. I usually either straighten my hair super quick or braid it to keep it out of my face and I generally wear heels in the summer months, but come winter… flat boots on the reg. My feet are so much happier…
    Hang in there girl, he’ll be here before you know it 🙂

  3. : ( sad for you. And I think it’s reasonably annoyed, but I don’t want to fuel your fire, ha.

  4. No one may say anything but they notice…and then it bites you in the ass in some form or another. Unless you’re blowing the boss and then you can get away with anything. Try it!

  5. I do wear makeup to work, but only because hot boys come in sometimes. My hair and clothing get very little effort. I basically show up looking just presentable enough to not get sent home. 🙂

  6. Ugh, I would have been so disappointed to. I hate when I plan something that I think is awesome and someone disagrees with me, haha.
    Hopefully the 50 days go by fast!

  7. Oh man! I hate finding cheap airfare and then it doesn’t work out 😦 And your first paragraph is me too. Minus the flip-flops, but everything else…I fixed my hair one day last month and EVERYONE in the office had something to say about it. Gah….

  8. It sucks, but look at it from his point of view, if he doesn’t work, he loses that money. Money he uses to visit you and save for your future together. Not taking sides, just trying to look at it differently 🙂

  9. I would have been mildly annoyed about the plane ticket stuff too. It’s nice to feel like somebody wants to see you and is willing to go a little bit out of their way to make it happen.

    I’m also currently very much in a “I’m really sick of being the only one to make an effort” mode, so don’t mind me. 😉

  10. Aw, I’m sorry that he won’t come in for the weekend but at least he is saving on money for when you both live together. You could look at it as a positive even though I know it sucks. Trust me girl, those 50 days are going to fly! September starts tomorrow already! This summer flew by so fast! Stay strong 🙂

  11. I am sorry you won’t see one another this weekend! That’s hard. I think that long distance magnifies how you feel by like 1000. So if you are feeling sad you are REALLY sad; if you feel annoyed then you are REALLY annoyed. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

