• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

My Sister, the Beard?

So my sister told me a hilarious story on Saturday, and I’m going to share it with you all, because what is this blog for if not to share things that I find funny.  I don’t really care how anyone else feels about it ;).  Just kidding, you know I strive for your acceptance and love.

As a recent college graduate, my sister has reached the point in her life when her close friends are moving away, she’s depressed about not meeting her soul mate in college, and just generally freaking out.  A lot.  I’m thinking all of this, along with a few cocktails, is what spurred her to leave her phone number for her waiter while out with a girl friend on Friday night.  Hey, I’ve been known to do that once or twice myself, so good for her.

Said gentlemen actually used that phone number and texted her later on that evening with the following:

“Got your note, but I just wanted to be real with you, I have a BOYFRIEND.  If you wanna get drinks and go dancing though, that’d be awesome.”

My sister said she was laughing so hard she was crying, and that in retrospect his pants were a little tight.  Poor girl, she’ll never leave her phone number for a stranger again.  I obviously told her to promptly make him her gay bff and go dancing immediately.  I guess her gaydar was just reallllllly off that night :).

Anyway, my day was not nearly as exciting as that yesterday.  The craziness of last week seems to have slowed down for the moment, and I enjoyed a relatively relaxing day at work.  No workout because I have a nasty ass blister from my 8 mile walk on Sunday, and I was just feeling lazy.  What I did accomplish, was allotting time off for the rest of my vacation days before the year is up.

We’re given time off in hours each pay period, which confuses me, so I really had no idea how many I’d used/had left.  After figuring it out, I realized I had used 4, 2 scheduled in October, and 5 scheduled in December.  That left me with a whopping 7 (counting 3 floating holidays) to make use of.  I now officially have off from work from December 12-26 (we’re closed the 23 and 26).  I personally can’t think of a better way to follow up my week long Caribbean vacation, than with a week off at home for Christmas.  Bonus?  Darren will be home for Christmas also, so we’ll get to spend like 18 days straight with each other.  That’s more than I’ve seen of him all year.  Don’t hate me.

Also, it is absolutely gorgeous this morning, and my car actually told me it was in the 50s during my drive in.  Fall is definitely on the horizon and I can’t wait.  Happy Tuesday!

20 Responses

  1. YAY!! More time with Darren is always a bonus! So excited for you!!

  2. Haha! I love that story about your sister! I remember those days of leaving your number with a cute waiter! 😉

    So awesome that you will be spending 18 days with Dar!! That is great! 🙂

  3. Tell your little sis she’s lucky not to meet her “soulmate” in college because the reality is that you change so drastically after leaving college, you’re not likely to stay together anyway. She needs to figure out who SHE is before tying herself down to some guy.

  4. That is too funny about your sister! I need to figure out my vacation days. We shut down between Christmas and New Years (full week this year) and I still have 9.5 to use or lose. Oops!

  5. Your poor sister… lol.

    He could have been a good clubbing partner, though… just sayin’.

  6. OMG too funny! This is totally off topic but just a tidbit I wanna share – I heard on the radio that studies show women’s gaydar is at its highest when we’re ovulating. The women tested could identify gay men just by looking at pictures. Apparently it’s some evolutionary trick that helps out find the best mates possible. Fascinating.

    And 18 days in Dec? I think by then I’ll be over my fear of meeting bloggers ha. We’ll have to arrange a Bucks County meet up.

  7. Haha oh your poor sister! At least now she has an awesome story to tell for the rest of her life. 🙂

  8. Haha, I think I’ve definitely hit on a few gay guys in my day. Oops…

  9. That is amazing and if she doesn’t jump on making him her gay boyfriend, I will be so sad for her. I actually got to see my long-long gay bf in Philly last weekend which was just another added bonus.
    I am so jealous of your Sandals trip, you guys are going to have an amazing time. Just don’t forget to hit up my man Syggy at the beach bar- give him $20 and he’ll have your drinks waiting for you no less than 10 seconds after he sees you. <3'ed him.

  10. Your poor sis- that is hilarious though! And hey- at least now she has a new buddy for shopping and dancing 🙂

  11. Um…I’m 31 and still haven’t met my soulmate. Tell your sister she has plenty of time and enjoy living life. The first couple of years after college are the best years for building your career, meeting new friends and just enjoying life.

  12. hahahah what a great story, thanks for sharing – always nice to have a nice a laugh.

    Hope you survived the earthquake with no damage!

Leave a Reply

