• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Lots of Lounging

Monday’s after a relaxing weekend at home are a lot more tolerable than Monday’s following a weekend of travel.  I almost feel like a human being today, and that’s probably because I barely left the house all weekend.  Sadly for you all, that means I don’t have much to say today, but I think you’ll get over it.

Friday night involved a lot of lounging around on the couch and finishing up Mad Men.  I’m all caught up and ready for season 5 to start, and I was kind of surprised how season 4 ended.  I’m super excited to see what happens when it starts again!

Saturday I left the house, but only to hang out on my back porch and get some sun.  I lasted for about 2 hours before I realized just how effing hot out it was, and that I’d much rather be inside where it was nice and cool.  There was a lot more lounging, I finally finished up the book I was reading (Sing Me Home by Jodi Piccoult, I didn’t really like it) and lots of movie watching once my roommate Adrienne returned from the bridal shower she had to go to.

We watched a bizarre movie called Wedding Daze, The Graduate, and finally You Again, which we both agreed the previews did not do justice.  The movie was really cute and pretty hilarious.  I also eventually ordered a pizza for dinner… see I told you, no leaving the house.

After a Saturday spent lounging around doing nothing, I decided I couldn’t spend my whole Sunday the same way.  After breakfast and coffee, and a viewing of The Roommate, Adrienne and I decided to go on a nice walk.  Well a Sunday afternoon walk turned into an 8 mile adventure, and over 2 hours later we finally returned home.  A stop a Smoothie King around mile 6 helped to fuel us for the rest of the way home, but didn’t really do much to diminish the hunger pangs for a delicious dinner.

A quick call to our other roommate to see if she was in for dinner, and one trip to the grocery store later, we were home again with steaks and the makings for some amazing mashed potatoes.  It’s not often I crave a juicy steak, so when I do I tend to give into it and go all out.

Broiled steak, chive and sour cream mashed potatoes, and broccoli.  The steak was broiled to perfection (thanks Dani) and the mashed potatoes were creamy and delicious.  I cleaned my entire plate and washed it down with a glass of red wine.  A great Sunday dinner to wind down the weekend.  I have one steak left to cook tonight, and will probably eat some of it, and leave the rest to top my salads at lunch during the week.

I hope you all had a lovely weekend as well and are surviving the Moday.

17 Responses

  1. Wedding Daze is one of two movies that I’ve stopped watching half way through. The other was the Lindsey Lohan movie “I Know Who Killed Me”.

    Both times I decided I had way better things to do. Like watch paint dry or something.

  2. Sounds like you had a nice relaxing weekend! 🙂 Your dinner looks so good! I love a good recipe for mashed potatoes..please post!

  3. I love lazy weekends and can’t wait for the next one I get to enjoy. And I’m glad you liked You Again bc I kind of wanted to see it but didn’t really hear anything about it. Also I am really craving a steak now…which I realize is odd for 9:45am, but what can I say.

  4. That sounds like a good way to end the weekend! Have a great Monday! Oh and I just saw your tweet..yay for 59 days!

  5. Oh yeah I remember the end of season four..and being like, “wtf???” Still so pissed season 5 was pushed back 6 months! I’ve been waiting since October!

  6. I watched You Again a couple of weeks ago too and actually really enjoyed it. Plus that guy who played Kristen Bell’s brother was really cute.

    I love steak. I could never be a vegetarian.

  7. Wedding Daze was just weird. I watched it a few months ago, and I’m not sure how I feel about it.
    Your weekend sounds pretty perfect if you ask me. I love when I don’t have to leave the house.

  8. I did not appreciate the ending of Season 4. Get it together Don! I still can’t wait for Season 5 though!
    Sounds like an awesome weekend. I’m barely human today.

  9. I liked Wedding Daze. It was dumb and silly, which I like. Plus, Michael Ian Black is involved and I want to bone his balls off so there’s that 🙂

  10. That dinner looks amazing! I cannot make steak look that fricken good. 😉 I also was interesting in seeing You Again but never heard anything about it. Good to know it’s not horrendous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

