• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

More Birthday Fun

Thank you all for the birthday wishes yesterday!  You totally helped to make my day and snap me out of my birthday blues!  My day was actually going very well until about 3 pm, when shit got crazy, and three different groups of people needed their crap back by COB.  Yeah, you’re dreaming, but I’ll do my best.  I ended up staying late to finish one of the projects, and then hightailing it home.  I had a dinner date with two lovely ladies after all.

Prior to the work drama, I got in an awesome workout, especially for being tired on a Monday.  I completed two circuits (20 exercises) of the Spartacus workout and followed it up with 15 minutes on the elliptical.  This was my third time doing the workout, and I’m still loving it and the ass kicking it gives me.  It’s also nice that I’m starting to remember the order of exercises and what comes next instead of having to check my phone each time.  I’m also muuuuuuuuuch less sore today than I was last week, so I may actually be able to get a decent run or two in this week also.

My group at work got me my favorite, Carvel ice cream cake, for my work celebration and I ate a giant slice and then had over half a cake left to deal with.  Have you ever driven an hour in 95 degree heat with an ice cream cake in your car?  I can now say I have, it was starting to get ugly just as I pulled up in front of my house.  I tried as best I could to keep it frozen, turned the AC as low as it would go, sat the cake on the car floor, and turned the feet vents on only.  There was still some meltage though… oh well it still tasted good later that night :).

For my birthday dinner, the roommates and I ventured into Georgetown to J. Pauls for some delicious seafood.  I started with a glass of champagne, because hey it was my birthday, and then we pretty much ordered everything on the menu.  Dani and Adrienne started with the shrimp cocktail, oysters, and clams, while I had some amazing chicken nachos.  For my main course I ordered the crab cake sandwich, and ate about half minus the bun.  It was one of the best crab cakes I ever had, and I can’t wait to eat the rest of it for dinner tonight.  Dani and Dre both went with the surf and turf and couldn’t have been happier.  Delicious and a perfect way to end my birthday.

Three days until I leave for a long weekend at the beach!

21 Responses

  1. carvel ice cream cake is my favorite too – i love those little chocolate crunchy things in the middle. happy birthday!

  2. My favorite treat for my birthday is a cookie cake! YUM!! Glad you had a good birthday!

  3. I love carvel ice cream cakes! I haven’t had one in so many years! 🙂 Your birthday dinner celebration sounds delicious! I love a good crab cake. So jealous of your long beach weekend.

  4. The best thing about being at work during your birthday is the break room treats. Yessss….

    Even if I had to set up reminders for my boss to order and pick it up.

    Fail.

    Really, I should just pretend my birthday isn’t happening at all. It seems like it would be less of a hassle for everyone around me. Geez.

    Speaking of birthday blues… lol. And I’m SO jealous of your beach trip.

    • Yes, except I’m going to the beach this weekend and now I have a whole ice cream cake, chips and queso, and salsa sitting in my fridge. Not cool. Oh Amy, wah, wah, haha snap out of it.

  5. Transporting ice cream cake is probably the reason I don’t ever buy it / care for it too much. I like it just fine but it’s far from my first choice. Then again, I have a december birthday.

  6. Ice cream cake is pretty much the best thing ever. I’m glad you had a good birthday. I usually book mine off work because I refuse to do anything on my birthday. You’re a better employee than I am. 🙂

  7. Mmmm…cake! I am so glad you had a great birthday (minus the work drama). The food sounds amazing!

  8. Sounds like an awesome b-day dinner! So lame you had to stay late on your birthday though!

  9. It should be mandatory to go to dinner on your birthday, it just makes the day feel more special. Glad you had such a nice bday, have fun at the beach and get a tan for me please. I think I blinded a guy on my run this weekend…

    • I agree… a birthday isn’t complete without a dinner out. I’m hoping to get the best tan ever this weekend, it needs to last until a wedding in two weeks.

  10. Ice cream cake is the best. I’m glad the evening worked out for you 🙂

  11. I’m sorry that I missed your birthday!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I’m glad that it was a good one! I’m still doing Spartacus at your recommendation.. loving it!

  12. Glad you had a great birthday love! And holy crap ice cream cake, I die. LOVE them.

Leave a Reply

