• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

26

Happy Birthday to me, today I turn the ripe old age of 26, waaah, haha.  For some reason, 26 has always been my “scary” age.  That age when you’re officially in your late 20s, and it’s time to start acting like a real adult.  Maybe that’s because when I was younger I had all these thoughts on where I’d be at 26, thoughts that certainly didn’t include living with two roommates.  I thought I’d for sure be married by 26, maybe even thinking about kids, and now that I actually am 26 I’m nowhere near either of those things.

While my life hasn’t taken the path I thought it would when I was 13, I’m pretty happy with where I am now.  I’m not married, and I definitely don’t have any kids, and I’m more than ok with that.  The closer I got to age 26, I started to realize how just not old it is, and that maybe 30 should be my new “scary” age.  This weekend definitely wasn’t the weekend of someone who is old and washed up, that’s for sure.

My sister arrived on Friday night bearing gifts from her and both my parents, that I immediately tore into like a 5  year-old on Christmas morning, and after an emotional viewing of the series finale of Friday Night Lights we all ventured out.  Whitlows Rooftop in Clarendon was our destination where we enjoyed the brief break from 100+ degree temps, and stood outside enjoying cold beers until they kicked us out as close.

Saturday I was lucky enough to wake up without a massive hangover, and my sister and I ventured out to Tyson’s for a day of shopping.  My mama’s birthday is Wednesday and we needed to buy her a present, plus I’m a big fan of birthday shopping.  My sis and I both scored some new shirts at J. Crew for a ridiculously low price, and then I splurged on some new shoes.

My favorite pair of wedges are on their last legs, and kind of stinky if I’m being completely honest, so I decided to treat myself to a new pair.  I love these because they’re just high enough without making me look like the Jolly Green Giant.  I’m still not convinced the ankle strap doesn’t give me cankles, but that’s just my neurosis.  After hours of shopping, my sis and I enjoyed a fantastic lunch at Seasons 52, making it back to Arlington just in time for the BBQ at my house.

My best friend, and original college roommate, was back in town this weekend so we had her and her fiance over for a bbq.  We extended the invite to any other JMUers who wanted to stop by and see her.

There was wine, burgers, hot dogs, potato and macaroni salad, beer, and good friends.  The party eventually moved from inside out to the shed for drinking games.

Needless to say, everyone was moving a little slowly yesterday morning.  Late in the day yesterday I was really hit with the pre-birthday blues.  I’m blaming it on the fact that Monday birthdays are lame and my boyfriend is really far away and can’t be here to help me celebrate.  Although he did send me a beautiful pair of pearl earrings to make up for it.  At least I get cake at work today :).  Have a great day everyone!

26 Responses

  1. Happy birthday! 27 was my scary age. I’m 29 now. heh.

  2. Happy birthday! And you’re still mid 20s : ) 20-23 – early 20s, 24-26 – mid twenties, 27-29 – late twenties (I unfortunately now fall into this group, haha). Enjoy your day!

  3. Happy birthday! Love you!

  4. The closer I got to age 26, I started to realize how just not old it is, and that maybe 30 should be my new “scary” age.

    We’re not friends anymore.

  5. Happy birthday! I’m in agreement with Kace, 26 is still mid-20s! No need to be scared. 🙂

  6. Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday!! 26 was an awesome year for me (I wasn’t where I thought I’d be at 26 either)…I had all kinds of things lined out at the age of 13- not ONE of them happened…except for getting thru college. So there’s that.

  7. I think it’s adorable you guys all wear cute dresses to play beer games in the shed.

  8. Happy Birthday!!! 26 is a great age! Trust me…30 is definitely the scary age! haha!

  9. Happy Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day! You are lucky that you turned 26. My next bday I’m turning 28..that is scary because it’s so much closer to 30! Ahh! 😉

    Love the wedges! They are so cute!

  10. Happy Birthday! 30 isn’t scary either. Now 35…I think that’s the scary age.

  11. Happy Birthday!! Sounds like a great time celebrating!
    Yeah, 26 used to kind of freak me out, but now I already kind of think of myself as 26 even though I still have half a year before my birthday. You have to round up from 25.5 right?

  12. Happy Birthday Kelly!! 26 wasn’t as scary as I expected it to be either. But the whole mid/late 20s thing does freak me out a bit.
    I’m glad you had such a good weekend, and I hope you have a fabulous day today too. 🙂

  13. Happy Birthday!! I’m only 22 sooo 25 is my scary age right now. haha

  14. Happy birthday!! I always get a little mopey around my birthday too, but mostly because it’s the day after Christmas and I know I won’t have an excuse to open presents again for 364 days…
    But I hope you have a great day and I love the new shoes, very cute!

  15. Happy Birthday!!! Looks like you had a fun bday celebration. Love the shoes!

  16. Happy Birthday! 26 is not old. I’m 5 years older than you and I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to see a 26 year old woman living her life and not obsessed with getting married and having a baby. Keep your doing your thing and living a full, fun life!

  17. Happy birthday!!! I’m older than you. I hear the 30s are amazing. Work it, girl.

  18. My boyfriend is 26 and if that’s how an adult is supposed to behave then well, my dear, you are doing QUITE well!!

Leave a Reply

