• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Mind Your Own Business

So, about a month ago I started wearing my old engagement ring from Darren on a chain around my neck.  I wanted to just wear it on my right hand, but that finger is a little to fat for it (ok sometimes I wear it on my left for fun, don’t tell anyone).  What’s funny about this is it always elicits comments and questions from strangers.  For example, yesterday in the booze store:

Cashier Dude: “Engaged, used to be engaged, mothers?”
Me: Inward sigh because there is no short explanation “Used to be engaged from 18-20, broke up and now we’re dating again but not engaged.”
Cashier Dude: “Oh, wow, that’s interesting.  Just remember things always happen for a reason.”
Me: “Ha, yup.” Give me my wine now please

As I was walking out the door he was still trying to talk to me, something about how he’s still a bartender at heart.  Whatever dude, do I really look that friendly?  I don’t think so.

Yesterday’s workout was 2 miles on the treadmill, 8:46 pace, followed by back, biceps, and legs.  I was sore by late afternoon, which means I’m extremely sore this morning.

Leg Press Calf Raise Dumbbell Curl Incline Dumbbell Curl Standing Lat Pull Down Cable Row
10 x 135lb 12 x 135lb 10 x 10lb 10 x 15lb 10 x 65lb 10 x 35lb
10 x 135lb 12 x 135lb 10 x 10lb 10 x 15lb 10 x 65lb 10 x 35lb
10 x 135lb 12 x 135lb 10 x 10lb 10 x 15lb 10 x 65lb 10 x 35lb

I finished the third Hunger Games book last night, yes I majored in speed reading, and pretty much agree with what everyone told me about it.  While still really good, not as good as the first two.  I loved the trilogy as a whole, but I did have one problem with it.  The majority of the book is so detailed and everything is explained, you really become engrossed in the story.  Then at the end, it’s like the author decided she was over writing or an editor told her to wrap it up, because the end of all three books is squished into like three pages.

I found myself having to go back and read something three times last night, because I was trying to figure out what the hell was going on.  All of a sudden weeks of time were smashed into three paragraphs, and I didn’t like it.  You just get the feeling the book is trying to end quickly.  It was the same for all three, did anyone else feel like this?  Maybe it was just me.

Anyway, tomorrow is the day I leave for Chicagoooo, and I’m pumped.  Although I’m kind of sad no one will be there to meet me at the airport, that’s always my favorite part, big airport hugs.  Hopefully Darren makes it from Wisconsin to Chicago before too late tomorrow!

16 Responses

  1. People always start random conversations with me too. Maybe you need to try and start looking meaner.

    Have a good trip! I’m excited to hear about it.

  2. I hate ring questions. I’m Greek Orthodox and we wear our wedding rings on the right hand (I put my engagement ring is on right so people at church know I’m married, and my wedding ring is on left so everyone else knows I’m married)…drunk idiots at bars always think I’m lying when I say I’m married. “Why is your diamond on your right hand then?” Idiots. Not everyone has a diamond for their wedding ring!! I have pearls.

  3. My right finger is totally like a size bigger than my left. Weird. And eventho we already discussed, I agree completely with your HG’s review 🙂
    Have fun in Chicago!

  4. Funny how something so small can open such a big can of worms! Enjoy Chi-town!

  5. “Whatever dude, do I really look that friendly? I don’t think so.” LOL

    so funny – what an annoying dude. sounds like he just thought you were cute! 🙂

    I felt the same way about those books – loved the first two then kind of meh.

  6. Um can I discuss The Hunger Games on here? Ok, good…
    I hated how there was no wrap up of the whole Katniss, Peeta, Gale story. There had been so much tension during the first two books and I wanted a lot more of that in the third. I had no idea who she would choose and I wish the author had gone into more depth, instead of just jumping ahead 15 years. Ugh.

  7. Really wish I could meet you at the airport with booze in hand. Instead of getting teeth drilled… ew…

  8. Hahaha, “do you think I look that friendly?” Hilarious.
    I hate when authors end books abruptly like that. Then again, I’m very rarely happy with a book’s ending.

  9. Some people are so annoying like that. I hate getting asked random questions like that when trying to check out at a store. Have fun in Chicago! 🙂

  10. Totes agree with the HG assessment. I felt like the end was a cop-out, although I feel that way with a lot of books. I don’t regret reading them at all, though, and I think she picked the right guy.

    As for the liquor store question, that is when I lie. Long stories are not meant for the retail guy.

  11. hahaha, well people don’t say things like that to me, cause i actually DON’T look that friendly! i hate chitchat with strangers.

  12. I know you’ve told us before, but I can’t find it. Where are you getting the weight workouts?

  13. HAHA! That’s funny. If you guys DO end up married, you’ll have one heck of a story!
    Have fun!

  14. What an ass. I hate people that work places. Wait, that’s everyone.

  15. Have fun in Chicago!! I have the “Hunger Games” sitting here and waiting to be read. It’s my next read!

  16. My right hand is almost an entire size bigger than my left. I think that is natural if you are right handed. Don’t worry about what strangers say…the only thing that matters is what is in your heart. I know, I know…that sounds SO cheesy but it’s true!

Leave a Reply

