• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Perfection

Last night was kind of perfect.  I didn’t have time to work out during they day, so I hit the gym after work  putting me home a little later than usual, but that ended up working out nicely.  I parked my car at the curb in front of my house, and the second I stepped out I was hit with the smell of charcoal burning away.  That’s a great smell.

Inside the roommates were preparing peppers and onions, and met me simply with a “sausage and peppers?”  I grabbed my book, a glass of wine, and sat my ass on the back porch with the two of them for the rest of the night.  The three of us were so engrossed in our books, me the second Hunger Games book, Adrienne the first, and Dani with the Anthony Kiedis autobiography.  It was so quiet that you could hear the peppers sizzling in their tin foil.

We stayed out there until the mosquitoes staged an attack and it was too dark to see the words on the pages of our books.  Everyone relocated to the living room where we all continued to read until separating to our various bedrooms to sleep.  I finished the second book of the Hunger Games trilogy last night, and am officially addicted.  I started on the third while laying in bed, and will probably finish it soon.  I’m very excited to see how these movies end up.

Yesterday’s workout was 33 minutes on the elliptical followed by chest and triceps, and ouch I am feeling it today.

Chest Press Incline dumbbell Chest Press with Twist Tricep Kickbacks Dips (assisted pull up machine) Tricep Pushdowns
10 x 40lb 12 x 10lb 12 x 10lb 8 x 100lb 12 x 17.5lb
10 x 40lb 12 x 10lb 12 x 10lb 8 x 90lb 12 x 17.5lb
10 x 40lb 12 x 10lb 12 x 10lb 8 x 90lb 12 x 17.5lb

For the incline dumbbell chest press, they have you twist your arms together at the top so that your pinkies are touching.  It’s not easy.  Also, I almost fell off the dip machine because my arms were shaking so much, that would have been embarrassing.

Today is like my Thursday, which is excellent, because I’m so excited to see Darren.  I’m on a 5:30 flight out of DC on Thursday, but I kind of want to see if I can get on an earlier one.  Originally I thought I would have to come in to work that day, but now that I don’t I want to get to Chicago sooner rather than later.  I know United has a policy where you can check into an earlier flight on the same day for $75, and I’m trying to figure out if it’s worth it.  I guess we’ll see on Thursday.

Happy Flag Day!

21 Responses

  1. Sorry, all I can think of right now is: “On second thought, gum would be perfection!”

  2. I want to read that series! Unfortunately, I have summer classes for grad school right now and don’t really have time. Hopefully when I have a three week break in August, I will be able to get in some serious leisure reading.

  3. What a perfect evening with your roomies.

  4. I love nights like that. It sounds wonderful, and you almost make me want to have roommates.

  5. oh man, can’t wait til your done reading the series so I have someone to talk to about it!

  6. When moving stuff on Sunday, Annie and I kept smelling BBQ. After we were done, we did the next best thing and found a tavern that offered BBQ pulled pork. Lovely.

  7. Get to the airport early enough for the flight you want to take and see if you can fly stand by for FREE! Especially if you don’t have to check luggage! If you don’t want to take the chance $75 isn’t too much for a flight change (unless they make you pay the difference for the flight). Good luck!!

  8. Sounds like a great, relaxing night! I really need to pick up that series and read it. I’ve heard so many good things about it!

  9. Sounds awesome! I just got into a new book but never read during the week. I’m too addicted to TV I guess.

  10. I need a new book to read, but I just can’t get into this Hunger Games thing. I don’t know why!

  11. The Hunger Games are next on my list to read – i have them all ready to go. Can’t wait, I heard they’re amazing!

  12. I’ve heard of the Hunger Games but nooo idea what they’re about. Need to check that out..

  13. That does sound like a pretty perfect night!!! Only one more day until you get to see Dar! YAY!!!

Leave a Reply

