• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Story Time

So this morning as I was driving to work listening to the country station as I do every morning, Zac Brown Band Colder Weather came on.  I love this song, have since the first time I heard it, mostly because it reminds me of my relationship, but probably not for the reason you might think.  Anyway, more on that in a minute.

Yesterday was a typical day, lunch time workout of 33 minutes on the elliptical and the core workout I’ve done every Thursday for the past few weeks.  And is it just me, or did Thursday afternoon just draaaaaaaaag on.  I remember looking at the clock at one point and being completely amazed that it was only 2 pm.  Either way, the day eventually ended and I made it home and tried to think of things to stuff in my face for dinner.

As you remember I made Black Bean and Corn Salsa for the Crab Fest on Sunday, and I made a shit ton of it.  Sadly I forgot that once people start to drink a lot, they tend to forget about all things that aren’t liquid and booze based, so I still have a shit ton of it.  That means I’m trying to eat it all before it goes bad, (twss?) so far it’s been the insides of a quesadilla and last night the fillings of an omelet.

With ketchup, because there’s not much I don’t eat without ketchup.  I also had a side of Alexia Sweet Potato Fries, because they’re delicious and addicting.

Things that take as little time to cook as possible the better, because even after I managed to hoist our air conditioner into the window yesterday, it was still 81 degrees in the kitchen.  Blech.  Anyway, I’ve decided I’m going shopping tonight, because I have zero cute summertime tops appropriate for work and weekends.  I’m wearing a green tank from JCrew today, the favorite tank, I need some new shit.

Anyway, back to what I was saying at the beginning of my post.  For whatever reason, some people in my life seem to think that Dar and I had this huge plan to get together at Christmas time, and had been trying to work that out for a while.  Not the case at all.  In fact, even as I was driving home to PA he was telling me he didn’t want to see me.  That he liked his life the way it was, only worrying and thinking about himself, and didn’t want seeing me to change that.  Nice right?

Still, I was persistent in my attempts that we could hang out and be friends and it would all be fine (ha!), which it was at first.  Then we actually got in a fight about something stupid, which left me crying and him talking loudly into the phone that this was exactly what he wanted to avoid, and why he didn’t want to see me in the first place.  Obviously we got over that fight, and my incredible irresistibleness (ha! again) won him over eventually, but lyrics from Colder Weather still hit home for me, especially since Dar has actually said that he doesn’t want to love me or want me, that life was much simpler before I came back into it, haha.

“You’re a lover I’m a runner”
“I love ya but I leave ya, I don’t want you but I need ya.”

Just a fun little story for your Friday morning.  And I’ll leave you with this, because really, how did bird shit get into the back seat of my car without also hitting me?

5 Responses

  1. It’s funny because when I’m drinking… the more I want to eat. As in, I’d have demolished that salsa the night of. Whereas you and your friends seem to be the opposite. Teach me your ways!

  2. Like he could have resisted you for long! Men always think they know whats best, but theyre pretty much always wrong. The sooner they accept that and start listening to us, the better. 🙂

  3. I love that song! I love all of ZBB songs actually, his voice is just so damn good.
    I like the story. I’m glad things worked out for you guys!

  4. Gah! I want a man to want me! I hate you.

  5. In love with that ZBB song. ❤

Leave a Reply

